We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a decent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry VIII Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henry VIII Hotel
Ranked #824 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value in a decent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We got a deal on this hotel which made it approximately two thirds of the usual price. We might have been a bit disapointed otherwise. However for what we paid it was a great deal. Good choice at breakfast. The medieval decor was a bit patchy and naff in the public areas and you get the impression it was done for the foreigners, but the rooms were clean and tidy with all the amenities you might need. Although it states it is four star there were few toiletries and no bath robes as I would have expected. Also the TV had about 5 random channels, which is not a major issue but not expected of a four star hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the luggage could be left without problem when we wanted to look around town before we left London. Reasonably near the tube (five minute walk) and plenty of taxis available to flag down outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batearedfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    307
    300
    189
    134
See reviews for
189
397
65
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pros: great location, helpful staff, very good free breakfast, free wifi
Cons: very small rooms, noisy (other guests/thin walls), wifi didn't always work

My sister and I stayed here a week. This is a very basic, absolute no luxury/frills hotel. We tried the pool and sauna once. It was ok.

Room Tip: Don't take one near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is situated in Bayswater, and a short distance to the Subway and to the restaurants in Queensway. We have stayed several times in this hotel and will stay there also in the future.

The rooms have a decent size and a descent bathroom, with a bathtub. The rooms has always been clean and the service from the staff have always been good.

There is a decent breakfast in the dining room and free internet to use in the lobby.

If you hear the sound of a train, you can find out that the next door house house is only a shell and behind the Shell there is a open space down to the train tunel!

There is a swimming pool in the basement.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for one week.

I will start with the pro's which are actually the things that made me choose this hotel:

1. good location
2. excellent presentation on their website
3. pool and sauna
4. free wi-fi
5. friendly staff

Unfortunatelly, the reality is:

1. the hotel looks like a 2 star, maximum
2. very tiny rooms
3. dated furniture, TV and coffemaker
4. The floor squeaks when you walk
5. The windows are old. You can hear the tubes and all the noizes in the street. One night, my window opened because of the wind.
6. You can hear your neighbours walking and talking. First I thought that somebody is in my room and I was really scared, I couldn't believe that something like that is possible.
7. My shower didn't work properly. It had a really slow flow.
8. The air conditioner didn't work
9. No plug adaptor
10. My room card had to be replaced 2 times because I couldn't open the door with it. Imagine going up at the latest floor with lots of shopping bags and stuff and then having to return because the door doesn't open...
11. Breakfast is horrible. Vey poor quality, I ended up eating just fruits because everything else was bad.
12. I had really bad sleep. Had to go to massage when I returned home.

I would not return and not recommend it for anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

3 nights is London turned out almost like "living in little Spain". The worst part in that was the fact, that the hotel staff concentrated mainly only on serving all the Spanish speaking persons and all other guests were almost forgotten. And as the staff was also of Spanish origin, there was a slight language barrier between us. (I am a Finn, but thinking my English is quite fluent and have had no problems for example in NYC.)
Will not prepare any long list of all "problems" we had, but one example is the lighting in our room. 2 lamps of 3 were broken and even though I mentioned about it on day 1, no one came to repair those. Asking about that on day 2 a.m., the answer was "we have informed a repairman". Well, no one repairman was seen in that hotel...
Another negative point was the lack of other lift. Had been broken probably for a long time already, One small lift in a hotel with such large capacity is simply not enough! (Btw, the only one in use sounded like it could be broken in any day.)
Two positive surprises were the location and quite good breakfast buffet! First time in London and no idea of the location, so did not know what to wait. What comes to breakfast, had not very high expectations and the versatility of it was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: In a double room, two separate beds would perhaps be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay. Best location. walkable distance from Paddington station. London Heathrow express operate every 15 mins from Paddington. Queens way is next street where you find will lot of good restaurant to eat. Big bus tour pick point is about 500 meters from hotel. ..

Best part of this hotel is location. .location. .location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank janakivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent almost one week at the Henry VIII in London. Quiet and safe neighborhood, a good five minutes walk from the nearest tub station (Queensway Station - Red Line), good breakfast and helpful staff. The room was very small, dirty carpet and not good toiletries (make sure to bring your soap and shampoo!). At the end I recommend Henry VIII because of one thing: location. This is Kensington area! If you find something better in London… go ahead. London is still one of the most expensive places in the world.

Room Tip: Avoid the room 402… the tiniest of my life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#896 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#540 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duke of Leinster Hotel
Duke of Leinster Hotel
#695 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#867 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#501 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#499 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry VIII Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry VIII Hotel

Property: Henry VIII Hotel
Address: 23 Leinster Gardens, London W2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #824 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Henry VIII Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in quiet location, a few yards from Hyde Park, convenient to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Henry VIII Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Viii London
Hotel Henry Viii
Henry VIII Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing