We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Henry viii hotel, London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry VIII Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henry VIII Hotel
Ranked #817 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Boston,USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Henry viii hotel, London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is in a relatively good location. It's about .4 mile from the Paddington railroad/underground station. It's also a short walk from Hyde park. Several restaurants and pubs are a couple of blocks away. It's easy to find. Leaving the railroad station (underground station is across the street), you take a right and just go straight until that road ends and it's right there on your right.

Rooms are clean. Staff is freindly. You can book tours through the front desk and the tour bus will pick you up about 100 feet up the street in front of the hotel next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scruffydog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    305
    300
    187
    134
See reviews for
189
394
65
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gonderange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am just back from a 3 day trip to London. I stayed at this hotel and I was overall satisfied. Do not have too many expectations as it is in my opinion not a 4* but it was reasonably satisfactory for the price I paid. It is located in Bayswater just a few walking steps from Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. There are 2 Underground stations nearby (Queensway and Lancaster Gate). The rooms are tidy and a bit small. Tee and coffee in the room is a plus. Just try to avoid rooms at the back (for example 200 or 201), they are a bit noisy because of a close Underground passage. Breakfast in the morning is OK and included. There is an indoor pool too. The staff is friendly and most of them are Spanish speakers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portofan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked a late deal through a 3rd party website and was advised this was a 4-Star hotel. The room was tiny. So small in fact that I was unable to pull the chair out from under the desk as the bed was too close to it. I had to literally climb over the bed to get to the wardrobe to hang my clothes up.

The free Wifi worked OK in the hotel lobby, but did not work at all in my room, which was right next to the lobby.

Breakfast was OK, I only had a coffee and a croissant due to lack of appetite.

The room and hotel in general was clean and service was professional. I was just very disappointed at the size of bedroom for the price I paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've stayed recently in this hotel and I chose it again when I needed to stay in London a couple of weeks after. For the price you pay you get a decent size room (first time was smaller and the second time I asked for a bigger one which I got), free wi-fi in the room (doesnt work amazingly but is nice to have it for free) and a good breakfast. Staff is polite and caring, always helping with whatever you may need, hotel related, sightseeing and tourism and transport as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
323 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I wanted a good value hotel in central London and booked this one. On reading reviews I was a little sceptical but thought for a base for one night we would put up with it. Our room, a double, was just a few steps up from reception and in all honesty was absolutely fine and had everything we expected. Although we only had two pillows on the bed I did find a spare in the wardrobe so rang reception for another one and within 5mins this was brought to us. he room was clean and the tea/coffee tray was fully stocked (although it would have been nice to have more milk) and even the bathroom had toiletries to use. My partner and I used the swimming pool and had it to ourselves and the water was lovely and warm so spent a pleasant half an hour there relaxing before venturing out for the evening. The disappointment was that the sauna was broken - which I understand happens a lot. Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the kitchen, but that said it was lovely and quiet so we had a good nights sleep. In the morning at breakfast we were a little concerned as the buffet was more continental but then we found there was a cooked option near the toaster and although not the usual variety there was a choice of scrambled eggs, sausages and hash browns the latter being the best we have ever tasted. All in all excellent value in an excellent central location. The staff were friendly and obliging and we said we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am agreeing with previous reviews of this hotel, there is no way this is a four star hotel! To be a four star hotel there is much wanting. The room I got was of an OK size to be a single, it had enough space for my luggage and I could move about without bumping into things. The bed was of the hard kind, but it did not bother me. What did bother me was the very flat pillow. There were a second pillow available, but it had no pillow case. The bathroom was small, but functional, with OK water pressure. On my second day the maid removed my hand-towel, and did not preplace it, and it had no floor mat available. Once I notified the reception that my hand-towel was missing, I got both a floor mat and an extra towel as well as the hand-towel. Another day, I noticed that the towels I had used, and put on the floor to be replaced, had been rehung on the towel rack. Highly unprofessional! The room an bathroom was cleanish. The corners in the room had residue of dust (or mould?!), some of the laminate floor boards were loose, an so were some of the bathroom tiles. The room seem to need a proper scouring and some repairs and re-grouting. If someone is walking in the corridor and entering the neighbouring room, it sounds like they are coming into your room. The breakfast is definitely not four star. Few selections, chewy croissants, luke-warm bacon and watery juice (more water with a hint of orange flavour, really). And the breakfast room had this slightly mouldy basement scent, which did not help the appetite. One plus though, the hotel has a swimming pool. The only reason I would stay here again, is if all the other Bayswater hotels were fully booked. Others might like this hotel, due to its location for shopping and sightseeing, since you won't stay in the room so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel may be named for Henry VIII and located in London, but it's best if you speak Spanish!

As we booked this hotel way back in early MAR of 2012 for our pre-Christmas stay from 13 - 20DEC12, our Londoner friend noted that we got a pretty good price...for LON. While the hotel does not look as great as in the picture...it's not too bad. Everything about it was "Average". Front desk staff not too friendly nor helpful...one was borderline rude when we inquired about left messages. Most were from the Canary Islands and spoke only some English. Fortunately, one of us speaks Spanish. The put upon staff in the breakfast room were much more approachable, but overwhelmed. One gets the impression they are all "trainees"?!

Location is quite conveniet with nearby tube and bus stops (though while we were there, Bayswater Road was partially torn up and the nearest bus stop was not in service.) There is a very small bar area turned "business center" with two free computers for e-mails and such.

Also, the new corrected address is 23 Leinster Gardens I/O Number 19.

Room Tip: Away from the 2 elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjt520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#896 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#547 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duke of Leinster Hotel
Duke of Leinster Hotel
#698 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#863 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#498 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry VIII Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry VIII Hotel

Property: Henry VIII Hotel
Address: 23 Leinster Gardens, London W2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #817 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Henry VIII Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in quiet location, a few yards from Hyde Park, convenient to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henry VIII Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Viii London
Hotel Henry Viii
Henry VIII Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing