We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good value in Bayswater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembridge Palace Hotel
Ranked #946 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Compared to London standards, rooms at the Pembridge Palace Hotel are quite inexpensive. The location is perfect - the underground stations Bayswater and Notting Hill Gate are both within ten minutes walking distance, and Portobello Road in Notting Hill is only 500 meters away. The rooms are small and there is very little room for luggage, hardly any at all.
The TV has a digital receiver - but the screen is an old 17 inch CRT television. The bathroom is okay - but everything in this hotel has a worn down look. Breakfast is free and is served in a surprisingly large - but still crowded - restaurant room in the basement. The selection at the buffet is basic but otherwise okay.
If you are looking for anything more than a basic room with a private bath - you will need to dig deeper in your pocket and look for more expensive alternatives in the area. If you like the location and all you need is a good place to sleep for a couple of days, the Pembridge Palace Hotel is an okay choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niels-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is by far the worst and dirtiest hotel I have stayed in. The rooms are tiny and do not look like the ones shown on the website. The walls in our room were covered in dirty marks and there was a blood stain above the bed on the wall.
The window was surrounded by damp which had just been painted over.
The sheets and duvet cover were stained.
WORST of all there were hairs on the pillows and hairs from where someone had shaved in the sink.
We were so disgusted we didn't even stay. We complained to hotel who REFUSED to issue a refund with no explanation.

Save your money. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

sorry taken a while to write, was dubious about staying after reading reviews but was so happy we did, 1st the location is fantastic, felt very safe as you can see with the title we was walking back to the hotel at 1.30am new years eve/morning from the tube, no problem.
our room was in the basement but had windows and there was enough space for the 4 of us, we found it quiet and didn't hear noise from the other rooms, there was paint peeling on the ceiling but was only cosmetic faults like that, it was very clean, tea/coffee facitlies was plenty and the showerroom was clean and comfortable to use too.
overall the hotel is old and not modern but we thought it was really good value for money, staff was friendly & helpfull and the breakfast was more than enough.
would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I'm not sure what / where these other people stayed to give this place a bad review, we enjoyed our stay there immensely. For the location in London, a major factor in finding a place to stay, this place was everything we wanted it to be.

When staying in London the first criteria for a hotel must be location, it must be safe, and how far out do you want to be? If you get a zone 1&2 subway (tube) day pass 7.5L per person, you can access the entire downtown very easily. This place is a short walk to the bayswater underground station. The room was clean and comfortable. The first couple of nights there we stayed in a 3 bed room (WiFi in the room as it is on the main floor <room G02). Then we switched to a double room for the last 2 nights.

The price of the room includes breakfast. Cereal, eggs, toast, fruit cocktail, Cheese, and all the topping you might want for toast (e.g. homemade peanut butter, nutela, butter, jelly's, etc. ) Coffee, tea, and milk.

Although I don't usually attach pics, I read of reviews of broken down furnishings. We stayed in 2 different rooms and the furniture was fine in both. (The bed was more comfortable in the 3 bed room)

There is an extra charge for WIFI. It's 7L per 24 hour period.

************************
*************************
If you stay here and need a taxi to take you and your luggage someplace either don't let them call the cab or ask ahead of time what the price will be for the fare. When we left, they called a cab for us for a 2 1/2 mile ride and the driver charged us 26L. OUTRAGEOUS.

If you use a non metered cab in London (The black cabs have the meters and certifications) make sure you ask what the cost will be up front).

*********************************
********************************

Room Tip: For the people who complain of the rooms being small and no WIFI in the room perhaps you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Good location with easy access to central london , the hotel felt very cosy althoughth the rooms are a little bit on the small side but it was a three beded room , a little noisey if staying on the first floor as u can hear everyone above you
Overall a good hotel with a warm feel about it

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the location is really good, you can achieve two metro stations within 5 minutes walk, silenzione hotel and the room clean. the breakfast is plentiful with a good choice to eat. quiet and safe even late at night

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cap_Mastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

In reading some of the reviews I had been doubting if I should really take this hotel - but I am GLAD I DID. It was nice - friendly staff - small room but OK - price /quality was really GOOD -
Clean. GREAT locatiion. Parks in the neighbourhoodI ...also saw this men working (scaffolding) but why should I be bothered about THAT? GOOD that they work - and good these works are being done!
I enjoyed and would choose the same again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#768 of 1,078 in London
462 reviews
Caring Hotel
#547 of 1,078 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#723 of 1,078 in London
142 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#656 of 1,078 in London
874 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#979 of 1,078 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembridge Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembridge Palace Hotel

Address: 55 Prince's Square, London W2 4PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #946 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $48 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembridge Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembridge Palace Hotel is ideally located in the heart of tourist attractions, to the north of Kensington Palace and Hyde Park.It is centrally situated and well connected. Close to Paddington Station which is just 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and only few minutes from the underground stations of Queensway and Bayswater. Walking distance to fashionable Notting Hill and antique Portobello Market! Next to the famous Whiteley's shopping center located near Baywater tube station and Queensway underground. Walk, take the tube or a short bus trip to the shopping centers of Oxford Street and Regent Street. Walk amongst the famous shops of Bond Street where the likes of Burberrys, Armani, Louis Vitton etc are found. Why not go to the local London museums and theaters, clubs and pubs, outdoor markets. There's plenty to see and plenty to do in the vibrant city as well as unwind away from the hustle and bustle in our garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembridge Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembridge Palace London
Hotel Pembridge Palace
Pembridge Palace Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing