We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live upto the name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembridge Palace Hotel
Ranked #947 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't live upto the name”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Finding the place was the start of all, the postcode given didn't take us to the hotel and we had to check every hotel nearby. The rooms are very small and congested.There is hardly any space to keep your bags or to move around.I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone atleast for the price I paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scalometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    165
    336
    210
    386
See reviews for
278
277
117
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in London, this is probably the best value for money and a really good location! The staff were nice, the room wasn't big but good enough. Breakfast is basic but really all you need with eggs, jam, bread, butter and cereals. The hotel is ideally located to visit a lot of the tourist sites in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Found the hotel through Lastminute.com paid £65 for a triple which was an excellent price for Christmas Eve.

Arrived at hotel good location. Asked to look at the room first triple was so small there was barely space between the beds. They offered us another which was slightly bigger.

Room 214.

Bathroom had an odd odour and was very tiny; towels were old, frayed and thin. The air extractor sounded like a jet engine test centre!

Beds hard, cheap mattresses and only one pillow each. Carpets had iron burn mark on it. TV old but worked.

Now for BREAKFAST!
We were told that breakfast wouldn't be until 8pm due to the staff finding transport difficult on Christmas Day. We went down for breakfast at 8.30am; you've never seen anything like it! The whole hotel was in the tiny breakfast room located in the basement. Nowhere to sit at all and people queuing right out the room and up
the stairs. My partner decided that we should fill our plates and take it back up
To reception where there was a couple of tables. Out of politeness I asked the receptionist if it was ok to eat there. At first he wasn't happy but I told him that it was caps downstairs and he then agreed. We then had a tranquil breakfast thanks to my Smoothie. Food was basic but a good selection.

This hotel is average no more, it is clean but the breakfast room is a nightmare! I would stay again unless there wasn't anything else available.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RulesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The rooms are clean, comfortable and work. Shower was good power and hot. For the money, totally brilliant in central London. I've paid more in Wolves for much worse hotels. Includes an OK buffet breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Location is excellent for London. It was surprisingly quiet as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Sanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSB, Brunei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Small but Comfortable room. Continental breakfast fantastic. Great hotel staff. Know what they are doing. Good location for bus and underground. Close to Sainsbury and Tesco and restaurant and fast food...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is placed ideally! we visited from Poole for the weekend and the price was ridiculously cheap for the weekend. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. Would recommend if you want to see London for a cheap price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First of all, the location of this hotel is great. Both Bayswater and Queensway stations are near so it's easy to get pretty much anywhere in London. There's also many restaurants, grocery stores and a mall on Queensway. The hotel street itself is very quiet and peaceful.
I was travelling with a group of friends and we had booked two triple-rooms. The rooms were quite small. When our suitcases were open on the floor almost the whole floorspace was covered. But the rooms were still clean and everything worked (no problems with tv, hot water etc).
The breakfast wasn't anything special, just toast and cereals, but it was still nice to eat something in the morning (some other hotels of the same price range we considered didn't include breakfast). The breakfast room was a bit crowded though around 9 o'clock.
All in all, Pembridge Palace was a perfect hotel for us since we wanted to explore the city with a rather low budget. We didn't spend that time at the hotel, it was just a place to go to sleep at the end of the day. So if your looking for a cheap place with a good location, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#721 of 1,067 in London
447 reviews
Hotel 65
#752 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#569 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#754 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#615 of 1,067 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembridge Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembridge Palace Hotel

Property: Pembridge Palace Hotel
Address: 55 Prince's Square, London W2 4PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #947 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembridge Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembridge Palace Hotel is ideally located in the heart of tourist attractions, to the north of Kensington Palace and Hyde Park.It is centrally situated and well connected. Close to Paddington Station which is just 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and only few minutes from the underground stations of Queensway and Bayswater. Walking distance to fashionable Notting Hill and antique Portobello Market! Next to the famous Whiteley's shopping center located near Baywater tube station and Queensway underground. Walk, take the tube or a short bus trip to the shopping centers of Oxford Street and Regent Street. Walk amongst the famous shops of Bond Street where the likes of Burberrys, Armani, Louis Vitton etc are found. Why not go to the local London museums and theaters, clubs and pubs, outdoor markets. There's plenty to see and plenty to do in the vibrant city as well as unwind away from the hustle and bustle in our garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembridge Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembridge Palace London
Hotel Pembridge Palace
Pembridge Palace Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing