We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Botique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Botique Hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The hotel is wonderful in all regards, from the location near Hyde Park to the nice rooms and food service. If you like small hotels with excellent service, this should be a top choice for you.

Also, the hotel is off the main street and very quiet.

Room Tip: We always book a suite and have not been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review!
We hope you will bring the LA sunshine back to London soon!
Kind regards,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    352
    90
    37
    18
See reviews for
245
564
89
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Royal Park Hotel to celebrate our wedding. We had a small wedding, 13 of us in total and thanks to all the hotel staff our day was perfect. No request was too much and everyone worked so hard to make our day special. From the beautifully traditional interior down to the amazing food throughout the day, we couldn't have wished for more. The hotel was perfectly located for our Chelsea Old Town Hall ceremony, being just a few minutes drive, and a two minute walk to Hyde Park made for some lovely photos. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisieGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your comments, I hope you both are thoroughly enjoying your new married life!
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent a night at the Royal Park Hotel, and unfortunately, the hotel did not live up to expectations based on TripAdvisor reviews.
The good:
- Location, location, location.
The hotel is a short walk from Paddington station, with its high speed transfer to Heathrow, as well as a stone's throw from Hyde Park and a pleasant stroll to Oxford Street.
- Housekeeping.
The room was clean as was the bathroom. The common areas seemed to be clean as well.
The bad:
- Room
We had booked an executive double, and were promised 'a view over leafy Westbourne Terrace'. Unfortunately, the view of our ground floor room was of a brick wall. Not particularly pleasant.
Our room turned out to be right next to the breakfast room, which meant incessant noise and activity right outside our door from very early on. Sleep was basically impossible from approximately 6 am onwards, as we could hear staff setting up and clearing plates RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR DOOR.
- Bathroom
The bathroom, while clean, had no window nor any ventilation, which meant that our entire room was boiling after our morning showers.
- Front desk
While we were greeted pleasantly by the staff as we arrived, we were not particularly impressed by their call at 6:30 am to inquire into whether we had booked a taxi, when we had not. If we had been asleep (ie. if we hadn't already been woken by the breakfast mess), this would have caused much more consternation than it did.
Surely they can keep track of their taxi reservations? I do not understand how they thought it acceptable to call a room on the off chance that they have booked a taxi at that time of the morning. Furthermore, the staff did not follow up with a sincere apology later, which one might have expected considering the error.

In fact, I was prepared to discuss my concerns upon check-out to give the hotel a chance to improve, but no one asked me how our stay had been. It seems that either the staff does not really care, or they know that the room we were given (for which we paid a premium) is sub-par, and they therefore don't really want to hear the truth.

In short, while we will definitely use Paddington as our London base again in the future, we will not be visiting the Royal Park any time soon.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your very valuable comments.
I completely understand that our ground floor rooms are not to the taste of everyone and I am really sorry that, as this was not convenient to you, we could not offer you an alternative of a higher floor.
The reception team is always very good in making sure our guests' requests are granted, as much as possible. I am sorry this was not the case on this occasion.
As I know you are a frequent traveller to our area, please do contact me directly when you are next in London and I will personally handle your reservation.
Kind regards,

Laurent lboutonne@theroyalpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The overall service was very friendly, accomodated and professional. The room was a bit small but very nicely decorated and comfortable. The only minor thing that bother me was there was no ventilation in the bathroom while showering so you had to open a window to get some air. Prime location - it was close to everything we needed - public transit (2 underground/tube stations) several restaurants, souvenir and coffee shops within walking distance. There are also several banks (ATM machines) and small fruit markets to pick up water and fresh fruit or groceries if needed. I found this location to be relatively safe. It's just on the north side of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. Breakfast at the hotel is NOT included and very expensive so I recommend taking a walk to get a cheaper breakfast. Free champagne every evening from 7-8pm (nice touch). Afternoon Tea is also served everyday for an extra fee, of course. Would I stay there again - YES!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucketList416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review!
Please watch out for our special rate which include breakfast, such as, at the moment, our winter promotion. Please note this is only available from our own website: www.theroyalpark.com
We look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind regards,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

have stayed a few times and with each stay I am always treated very well which shows great consistency in service. The hotel rooms are very nicely designed with nice decor. The beds are very comfortable. And the bathrooms are very spacious. I will continue to visit for business and possibly for pleasure some day too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review,
I can see you travelled on business, please let us know should you require a corporate rate for your future stays.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Royal Park Hotel,
Kind regards,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Dont be mislead by the hotel site. It is not a large hotel, but a very small, hole in the wall hotel. Our driver could not even find the hotel, it is that small.

Also, that is why they only show you the beds in the site photos, not the actual rooms.

We paid $315 for the room and could not believe it was a 8 x 8 room looking at a dirty wall. We and our luggage could not fit int he room at the same time. We could barely walk around the bed.

After asking about another room, they gave us another 8 x 8 room looking at some dirty roof tops.

Holiday Inn would have been a better choice.

They offered us to upgrade to a four poster room for $80, which we did. It was a better room.

WE PAID $400 FOR A OK ROOM IN A HOLE IN WALL HOTEL..

What a bargain.

Room Tip: Pay at least $400 a day and you might not get a 8 x 8 that you and your luggage cannot fit into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
I am not sure whether you saw advertised somewhere that we are a large hotel, but it is definitely not the case. We are a boutique hotel and only have 48 bedrooms. The building is made up of three townhouses which were put together to create a hotel.
We don't only show pictures of the beds on the website, we actually even have a link which gives you a 360 tour of the rooms, see the link: http://www.theroyalpark.com/360suite
I do appreciate that some of our classic rooms are not very large and I am glad you decided to upgrade to a more convenient size and category.
Please contact me directly when you next choose to stay in London and I will personally handle your reservation.
Kind regards,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Royal Park is not cheap. With the price comes a fantastic quiet location a 5 minute walk from the Healthrow Express train, a lovely very comfortable room, nice flat screen HDTV, and free Wifi that works well. Best of all the Reception and Bell staff are friendly, helpful, and caring. Special requests are handled with charm and understanding and there's a welcome tea or coffee service and a complimentary reception each evening. Unfortunately the breakfast area is so small that booking for breakfast need be made the night before and waits for service there can be long. We didn't try the alternative for room service. So that might be the solution. The other negative is that the Royal Park is not immune from what seems to be a Paddington area's consequences of being housed in a very old building. The water faucets screech, the walls between rooms are quite thin, and the lovely and large bathroom shows some age. The lack of a tea/coffee maker in the room makes early getaways a bit more difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#110 of 1,069 in London
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
970 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#223 of 1,069 in London
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel

Property: The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Address: - a Roseate House Hotel Lancaster Gate, Hyde 3 Westbourne Terrace, London W2 3UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
#178 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classical in its 19th-century elegance, The Royal Park is like a grand hotel in miniature. The hotel is ideally located for the visitor wishing to combine the cultural and commercial destinations of the big city with a tranquil and welcoming London residence. The Royal Park is centrally located in the quiet tree-lined area of Westbourne Terrace, bordering Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Hyde Park is to its south and Piccadilly lies east of the hotel. Heathrow airport is a 45 minute car journey, or 15 minutes by train to Paddington, also very The Royal Park is close to the property. Gatwick operates from Victoria station a 10-minute taxi drive away. Great for access to Central and West London. 15 minutes from Heathrow airport on the Heathrow Express. Nearest London underground stations: Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington Station (Circle, District and Hammersmith and City Lines), both 5 minutes walk.High speed internet access available, 24 hour room service and Concierge, DVD/CD player, two dual line telephones with voice mail, UK and US shaver outlets, LCD TV, Satellite channels, Italian cotton linen sheets, Hair dryer, Electronic safe, Mini bar, Luxury bathroom amenities, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park London
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel London
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing