We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place... but could be improved!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location: Good, less than 5 minutes to walk to Lancaster Gate, or less than 10 minute walk to paddington. Nice area, safe and quiet.

Hotel Amenities: Parking expensive - £30 per night and £25 per day. The staff were friendly enough, although a few were a little odd ;). The decor is classic in style but very old school London - which we really liked!

We had the executive double room, which was nice although the views that were advertised were absolutely rubbish. The room itself was small, but nicely furnished with a few nice extras. The bathroom was nice and clean although there were issues with the hot water one morning and the toilet made a horrible noise every time it was flushed.
The walls were also extremely thin and you could hear when the neighbours flushed their toilet, had a shower or moved around the room. On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable! Best night sleep in a hotel in a long time. Also free internet (but had trouble accessing it in the evening as everyone was online).

To conclude the location was great, all round it was a lovely place, but could be improved in areas to make it perfect.

Room Tip: try not to be on the bottom floor - awful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your very valuable comments.
I am sorry the incident with our water boiler affected you on this sunday morning. It was promptly fixed by our maintenance team however I am very much aware that some of our guests were affected. I am also sorry that you were disappointed with the view from your room window. Being a townhouse hotel in the center of London, it is difficult for the surrounding not to affect the views. We always try to keep fresh and well presented flowers for the rooms with less better views.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Park Hotel.
Please do contact me directly when you next choose to stay with us and I will personally handle your reservation.

Kind regards,

Laurent Boutonne
lboutonne@theroyalpark.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. I picked it for its proximity to travel hubs and for its reasonable price. I was very happy with my choice. The hotel is small and the Victorian decor help to make it feel quite intimate.

The hotel is very well situated for the London visitor. It is three minutes from Paddington Tube & Train station, Lancaster Gate Tube Station, and Hyde Park. The hotel is also set back from the street helping to keep it quiet.

I only had breakfast by room service, but it showed correctly up when requested. The front desk staff were quick and helpful.

Overall, it was a great experience. The Royal Park is a great alternative to other nearby hotels that are much more expensive. I would certainly stay there next time I am in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am sure your comments will be helpful to other future visitors.
We look forward to having you back at the Royal Park soon!

Kind regards,

Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel right from just after it opened, only missing a couple of years - I couldn't get a room and for last year, was not in London.
I have always felt it's my home away from home - I know pretty much most of the front-line staff, and have always been made really comfortable.
I booked through Aurelie, and my main contact on this stay was Marketa. It is always a treat to see Rani - and took advantage of the champagne and hor d'oevres in the eveing in the lovely garden! A must! Chris the doorman when I was there was always helpful as was Mark - the front office manager.
This time, I came off a long flight, got in a bit early, and they found me a room so I could have a couple of hours sleep before I had to head out. The air conditioning was so welcome, as London was really hot it was in the middle of a heatwave.
St Mary's is just up the road, so we were all awaiting news of the birth of William and Kate's baby. I went up to have a look and soak up the atmosphere.
This time, I actually had 2 separate stays - the second time, I stayed in the 4 poster bed suite - glorious - I could stay there for most of my stay.
What did I get? Awesome space, bathrobes and comfy slippers, welcome biscuits (cookies), flat screen TV's (2!) luxurious sheets, covers and towels, iPod dock/alarm. The bathroom and toiletries are super nice. The suite had a balcony too - nice feature.
When my sister and kids came to visit me, we arranged parking through Marketa - super easy!
Another great thing about the hotel is it's location - really quiet area, even with Paddington nearby, so you have access to all kinds of things within a 5 min walk. And Lancaster Gate station is close by too.
I just love staying there, and it keeps getting better.

Room Tip: I've always relied on the staff to give me a good room - and they've come through every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This review is long over due. We have stayed three times at the Royal Park (July 2008, 2010, 2012). Always a wonderful experience. All three times we arrived early and rooms were not yet ready but we left our bags with the front desk team and ventured out to explore. Rooms are large. Most have a large bathroom, sitting area, and bedroom. They have a safe deposit box in the rooms, fresh baked cookies in your room when you arrive back in the afternoons. They also do a little happy hour in the evenings. Concierge is very helpful with car services and reservations and restaurant recs. Location is perfect, close to Paddington and also Lancastergate. We used Lancastergate more than Paddington. Also close walk to wonderful restaurants and small grocers, there is a wonderful restaurant/bakery nearby that has a nice wine selection (take away).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrgAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is in a great location just a five minute walk from Paddington station. Staff is so helpful. Champagne offered every evening at 7pm in the lobby. Breakfast is tasty. Rooms are clean.
We were able to walk to Hyde Park which is 5 minutes away and also easily catch the hop on/off bus tour. Would stay here again.
Nice quiet location.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the descriptions and star ratings for this hotel, I expected more. The bed was very comfy and I slept well, except for it was roasting hot - the air con worked - but if the door to bathroom was even a tiny crack open, the room got overheated. Also, walking into bathroom was like a sauna!! We came back to hotel at about 11pm thinking we could get something to eat from the "night" menu that was in the hotel info book as available between 10:30pm and 5am. We were told no food after 10:30pm. Although breAkfast was Inc in rate, you had to book a table the day before - the cooked breAkfast was not worth extra charge. The continental breakfast was average - but still better than the eggs Tec- pancakes almost inedible. I booked this room on a specific oak 1/2 price offer therefore I gave it an average rating, if I had paid full price, it would have been given a 1 star

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I am terribly sorry to read that you had a few issues with your stay at the Royal Park Hotel.
I will investigate with our Food and Beverage Manager the reason why you were not served food in the evening as i would like to confirm that we serve room service food and drinks 24hrs.
We are working very hard on improving the food quality on our breakfast buffet and on our cooked dishes menu so I would love to hear your comments in more details.
Please do contact me directly to discuss your recent stay with us more in depth.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,

Laurent Boutonne
lboutonne@theroyalpark.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stay at the Royal Park Hotel each time I go into London because of my sister. The times I've reviewed this hotel I've given it an excellent rating. This time, I felt the front desk staff was just unfriendly and unhelpful except for Ronnie. Maybe it's the language barrier but the ladies at the front are always saying "NO". My requests aren't unreasonable yet the negativeness from all the ladies is irritating. I'm seriously considering not staying here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahlia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your very valuable comments.
I am very surprised to read such a negative comment about the front of house team who I have always witnessed to be friendly, helpful and dedicated to our guests.
Please do contact me directly to discuss further as I would like to investigate the issue.
We always thrive to go the extra mile in terms of customer service and I know my team members are sometimes using all their contacts to help our guests with the most unusual requests.
I look forward to hearing from you on lboutonne@theroyalpark.com
Kind regards,

Laurent Boutonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#88 of 1,077 in London
459 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,849 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,077 in London
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel

Address: - a Roseate House Hotel Lancaster Gate, Hyde 3 Westbourne Terrace, London W2 3UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#178 Family Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $181 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classical in its 19th-century elegance, The Royal Park is like a grand hotel in miniature. The hotel is ideally located for the visitor wishing to combine the cultural and commercial destinations of the big city with a tranquil and welcoming London residence. The Royal Park is centrally located in the quiet tree-lined area of Westbourne Terrace, bordering Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Hyde Park is to its south and Piccadilly lies east of the hotel. Heathrow airport is a 45 minute car journey, or 15 minutes by train to Paddington, also very The Royal Park is close to the property. Gatwick operates from Victoria station a 10-minute taxi drive away. Great for access to Central and West London. 15 minutes from Heathrow airport on the Heathrow Express. Nearest London underground stations: Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington Station (Circle, District and Hammersmith and City Lines), both 5 minutes walk.High speed internet access available, 24 hour room service and Concierge, DVD/CD player, two dual line telephones with voice mail, UK and US shaver outlets, LCD TV, Satellite channels, Italian cotton linen sheets, Hair dryer, Electronic safe, Mini bar, Luxury bathroom amenities, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park London
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel London
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing