We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a bit tired round the edges, very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leonard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Leonard Hotel
Ranked #303 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, a bit tired round the edges, very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

myself and my 5 month old baby stayed for one night in February. The location was really good, just round the corner from Marble Arch. We got there using the tube but there are no lifts at Marble Arch station so luckily someone helped me carry the pram and suitcase up the stairs. After that we used the buses as they were more pram friendly and there are buses from just round the corner to Victoria Station and up and down Oxford Street.
I had booked a one bedroomed suite and was informed check in was 2pm. I arrived at 12.30pm to try and see if the room was ready but it was still being cleaned and was told to come back at 2pm. When I came back with a hungry and tired baby the room still wasn't ready. I got really cross with the front desk and was offered a free tea or coffee....Have you ever tried that with a crying baby ;-) Anyway they then came back and said the room was ready and had upgraded me to the Grand Suite. I had asked for a cot and a high chair and both were in the suite. The suite was really big with a huge living room and nice sizd bedroom. When you started to look closer though there were marks on the walls, cracks etc so definately needs to be refurbished. It was very clean. The bathroom was adequate but very cold. Room service breakfast was delivered exactly at the time requested and was standard but nice. I liked the fact there was more than just normal tea and coffee on the tray (nice biscuits, herbal tea etc).
We paid £167 for the one bedroom suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banany73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    237
    83
    34
    20
See reviews for
182
162
48
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very quiet, good night sleep, but still in the heart of everything. Just a few steps from Oxford Street, Marble Arch tube station, restaurants and shopping. Staff is friendly and service-minded. Breakfast very good. Rooms are OK -average level, but location really excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Leonard for two nights last week and loved every minute of it! The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. I loved the decor and location too! It was quiet and within walking distance to the marble arch and a few other London sights. I wish we had more time to stay and if I ever get back to London I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveForSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This winter break "base camp" this year was set up at the Leonard Hotel in London. Hotel location is excellent; only two minutes stroll from Oxford street and Marble Arch tube station, not to mention the excellent nearby restaurants and shopping possibilities. The hotel is made up of four adjoining houses furnished in classical English style. The ground floor reception area is pleasant with large sofas and a large fire place, and the restaurant is stylish with white table cloth service. The waiters are attentive and quick when serving breakfast (Continental or English with muesli, fruit, yoghurt, juice, coffee/tea) that gives a good start of the day. The rooms are large, high ceiling and well furnished. The en-suite bathroom is modern and well equipped. The hotel has only one slow lift and some waiting are experienced. The lift also only serves up to 4th floor; 5th floor is accessed by stairs. Hotel personnel are attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkytoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband chose this hotel for my family and I. When looking at the pictures online I thought it was very outdated...I wanted something more modern, but the hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly and eager to help. We had a one bedroom suite with a pull-out sofa in the living room. Plenty of room for our family of 4. The beds were comfy and they provided a pack-n-play for the baby to sleep in, too. We took the hop on/hop off bus around London, so we walked about 5 minutes to the Marble Arch to catch our bus. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianm218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had 3 nights here for my weekly stay in London. The website looked good but the reality was that the hotel was really quite tatty. Obviously a lot of money had been spent in the past as the furnishings were quite opulent but once you looked further there were scratched surfaces and worn paint. The hotel is very welcoming with an open fire in the reception/ lounge area and very friendly staff. I was given a huge and comfortable room which in a smarter hotel would have cost a fortune but the downsides were, no bottled water, other than that for sale at £2, no free wifi, air on that had to be paid for and windows that didn't open. The staff were very good, helpful and responsive. I also had a very nice bowl of pasta late back from work one evening as room service which was very fresh and tasty. A good location and possible to park outside. I would go back but it is all very dated - the one lift is so slow - and needs a facelift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrectorycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the Grand Suites number 12, there is a large lounge and separate Bathroom and bedroom.
We were spending a weekend in London just before Christmas with our 3 grown up daughters, they were sleeping on the pull out beds in the lounge. 2 of the 3 pull out beds were comfortable the 3rd was not.
The hotel is amazing shabby chic I would call it, nothing like your modern hotels, there was a roaring fire in the reception lounge which is a nice place to sit and read the newspapers.
we paid around £540 for 2 nights room only. the location is fantastic a 3 minute walk from Marble arch Tube which is also the start of the Oxford Street shopping area and opposite Hyde Park Ideal for visiting the various concerts or Winter Wonderland at Christmas, there are also plenty of restaurants. There are a few parking bays near the hotel which are free after 18.30pm and all day Sunday, or there is a car park opposite which charges £34 per 24 hrs.
We have stayed here many times over the years and will do so again, but would not stay in nr 12 again, i preferred the other grand suite on the other side of the hotel

Room Tip: The Grand Suites are amazing as is the 2 bed apartment, most of the rooms are good though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w6jed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#68 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#139 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#380 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard Hotel

Property: The Leonard Hotel
Address: 15 Seymour Street, London W1H 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in London
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#324 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leonard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located in Marble Arch. Its excellent location is an advantage as most major department stores and restaurants are within short walking distance. All rooms and suites are individually decorated in timeless English decor. Seymours restaurant at The Leonard offers a variety of traditional English dishes to choose from, in a truly English environment with open half fireplaces and works of art adorning the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Leonard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonard Hotel London
The Leonard Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing