We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Ranked #367 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now, due to its great location. We were very pleased to have been upgraded to an executive room, this time, which was quite nice. However as we had our daughter staying with us, they forgot to make up her bed, despite being called at 6pm before we left for the Theatre, to be reminded. We arrived back to our room at 1145pm and then had to wait 20 mins for housekeeping to come.
Our biggest disappointment however, was with breakfast. Due to the opening of Gordon Ramsey's 'Maze', there is only a very small eating area, and the quality of the food was terrible. It always used to be such a nice breakfast, and at £24 each, it was a complete waste of money, not only were we all cramped together in a small space, but the choice and quality of the food was poor, the bacon in particular was very fatty and looked like it had been there for a week!
We did pass these comments on to reception as we left.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Swifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2007

Stayed there for a whole week from 27 dec - 3 Jan, rooms on the third floor needs to de refurbished. Wireless internet expensive, and room service dishes needs to be more developed. Hotel staff was very professional, and the location is really the best off Oxford street.
In one word if you are going for shopping this is the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nadime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stayed in this hotel earlier this year and had no hesitation in returning during the weekend of 24/25 November. On the first visit we were upgraded to an executive room which was very nice and spacious. On our recent visit we were in a " quality " room with two double beds and although not as spacious was still more than adequate. The room, overlooking the gardens, was very well equipped and the new Marriott bedding was very good. The TV reception on the BBC and ITV channels was a bit ropy and needs a bit of fine tuning.

The staff here are great. Very efficient, friendly and professional. Housekeeping is to a very high standard. Grosvenor Square is very quiet at night so no problems at night from traffic noise. As has been mentioned before this hotel is extremely well situated and is only a couple of minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street. I agree with other reviewers that breakfast prices do not represent value for money so try and get a bed and breakfast inclusive rate. If you do obtain this the breakfast offers a good choice of top quality produce.

All in all I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gcoop17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

This hotel is very has tasteful, modern furnishings. The common areas and the rooms both look great and are very clean. Wireless internet is provided in the rooms, but it is expensive (20 pounds for 24 hours). A business center is on the ground floor. A fitness center is also in the hotel, I think in the basement. I had Room 605, on the top floor overlooking Grosvenor Square, which was fantastic. Overall, this was a fantastic place, and I highly recommend it. I booked it through priceline. The location in the Mayfair area just a few blocks south of the Bond Street underground station is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dt_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This Marriott is just off Oxford Street, so we enjoyed lots of shopping and good restaurants nearby. The concierge service was excellent -- they were extremely helpful in suggesting tours, providing airport information and getting us a cab to the airport. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank heroic_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

This is my second stay in this hotel in 12 months and I would move into the hotel and live here if I could. I love it here. We booked a standard room and were upgraded to the executive level king which has a small sitting area. The whole hotel has just completed construction and it is beautiful. Our room also included breakfast in the main dining room or room service for a small fee. The staff in excellent and I really have no complaints about this hotel. I reviewed this hotel last August as well and loved it then and still love it now. The beds have all been replaced with the new Marriott bedding and the new linen package. The bathrooms are very large and all marble. It is really a beautiful place in a more laid back, less touristy residential location. I truly wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RHJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. The Good: great location, just a couple of blocks from the Bond Street tube, very helpful staff, new updated building, clean, modern, good bathrooms, great bed, plenty of hot water, ice machine, mini-bar etc. The Bad: everything in London is expensive, but breakfast at this hotel was not included and when I asked, it was $50 each! The doorman (all of them were great) directed us across the street to a little cafe where prices were considerably more reasonable. The restaurants in the hotel are also very expensive. The rooms are small and we had a Queen size bed. I doubt a King would have fit in the room. The price was 182 pounds plus 17% tax! That's $425 per night. The internet in the lobby was $8 per half hour. There was no access in the rooms, but there was a keyboard on the desk, but I couldn't figure out where the screen was. It must have required a laptop. The not so Cool: If you are travelling in hot weather, the air conditioning in this hotel leaves a little to be desired. September was very warm for London (85 degrees one day and 82 another). Our room was warm despite running the air full blast. We asked about it and they sent up an engineer. He said it was running at capacity. We were on the 6th floor. It was at least 15 degrees warmer than the lobby. Several evenings we gave up and opened the windows for the entire night. If you are driving a car, security around the American Embassy (just around the corner) makes for some congestion. One mapquest I searched had the wrong location for this hotel. As the name suggests, it sits on the edge of Grosvenor (pronounced Grove-nur) Square, just south of Oxford Street, not north as shown on a map service attached to a discount hotel website.
The Concierge desk was very helpful with arranging tours. It was charged to the room and we were picked up by a shuttle service at the hotel and taken to the Victoria bus station where the tours all began. The Evan Evans all day London tour is $120 per adult and worth it. It included several major attractions, no waiting in line, no extra admission fare, nice lunch in a historic pub, a boat ride on the Thames that ended right at the Tower of London. The guide was the greatest (her name was Trudy if you have a chance to pick your guide). The concierge also has access to theatre tickets. Taxis were always waiting at the door. I might stay at this hotel again. London is such an exciting city, you really shouldn't be staying in your room much anyway. With the tube available to nearly all of downtown, there are probably cheaper places to stay. Our cab ride to Gatwick Airport was $180! That would be true of most downtown locations. There is a very reasonable shuttle to the airport but you have to schlep your bags to the taxi, transfer to a train at Victoria Station, fight the crowds and stow the bags on the train and off the train at the airport. People that took the subway from Heathrow lugging their luggage said they would never do it again. We had to attend several meetings in business attire and several social events so we had a lot of luggage. For that reason we opted for the taxi. There are also car services, but I assume the price would be about the same. Gatwick is pretty far out and took us about 70 minutes on a quiet Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank K-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square

Address: Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England (Formerly Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Family Hotel in London
#232 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Luxury Hotel in London
#313 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $264 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Mayfair neighbourhood, the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square offers a timeless blend of elegance and comfort. First built as a stately townhouse, it has evolved into an exclusive hotel that infuses contemporary chic with classic luxury and exceptional personal service. Indulge in Gordon Ramsay's Michelin Star 'Maze' restaurant, host inspired events and enjoy our hotel's ideal access to Hyde Park and the West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing