We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascott Mayfair
Nearby Hotels
$334
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$286
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$158
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
70
71
25
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
71
25
18
16
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 200 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend at this charming, quaint hotel, as part of a weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
We stayed in a 1 bedroomed apartment which was immaculate on arrival, extremely well equipped, spacious & comfortable. There was everything we could have wanted/needed to base our outings from & make for a very enjoyable, peaceful night's sleep.
But the outstanding service from the pleasant, friendly & accommodating staff - from reception desk to management - has to surely be the basis of my 5 star rating! Everybody made us feel like VIPs & must be commended for their efforts.
Cannot recommend this venue enough - do not hesitate to book!
Thank you to all for helping to make this a thoroughly enjoyable weekend for us both!

Room Tip: If you choose a 1 bed & above, you will enjoy a spacious living area as well as an en-suited room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braggerbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ascott Mayfair during the London Olympics and were very satisfied with the property. It is a classic old style property with a modest front entrance and kitchenette suites available. It was perfect for our family of five to stay in and be together without being on top of each other. The location is very good and just off the beaten trail so on a quiet street and about a 10 minute walk to Green Park Tube station. The staff was very polite and courteous. We didn't use the hotel amenities so can't comment on food, workout room, etc. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have been in the Ascott Mayfair some years ago and still remember our stay as one of the best vacation rentals we´ve been to.
Nice decor , kitchen with all you can need including washer dryer.
Fantastic place to be in London , if you like serviced apartments instead of hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeraDUruguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Imagine your plight when you keep all your cash and valuables in the in-room safe of the hotel, and it literally is ripped apart. Who could do such a thing when my room is on the 3rd floor of the apartment, and the entry points have a receptionist who has to buzz in and out every visitor??

The most impossible aspect is the sheer negligence of responsibility by the management and entire staff of the hotel, who when we informed of this incident( we were out for 2 hours in the evening) told us to call the cops ourselves as they had nothing to do with it. No insurance for in room safe?

Beware.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank GM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Though I understand the frustration which you feel at present, please let me reassure you that this is an ongoing investigation. At this time there are no suspects identified to be associated with the residence or any negligence proven on the security systems in place at the residence.

You, your family and friends have been coming to the Ascott Mayfair for a few years without the issue of your safety being a concern. The residence has a good selection of CCTV surveillance which was all viewed, a key card room entry system, which did not record any unlawful entry into the apartment on that day and the front door is fitted with a video surveillance control system which allows staff to scan guests and visitors who gain access into the building.

Time delays are warranted when you are gathering information and investigating the circumstances associated with a claim.

As I discussed on a few occasions all the information has been given to the authorities and I trust that they will come back to us as soon as they have finished their investigations. I assure you that we are as eager to find out the results of the investigation and are offering as much support as we can to the authorities. We have never had any such incident in the 18 years that Ascott Mayfair has been operating and are naturally keen to clarify the issue as soon as possible.

Yours Faithfully
D.Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Shocked by the other, positive reviews of this down-at-the heels hotel. I'm sure it was nice- in the mid-Eighties when it was last decorated. Everything is worn- from the stained upholstery in the lobby to the flaking veneer on every piece of furniture in my room. The bed's as hard as a rock and the grout in the bathroom black as tar. The staff is friendly enough, but ineffective and incompetent. So far, during my stay, we've had a week without hot water, fire alarms going off in the middle of the night, neighbors who allow their children to roam the halls screaming and slamming doors (I think other reviewers find the Ascott a good value because they're cramming their whole extended family into one one bedroom apartment). All the while the staff do nothing, offer nothing. All this for US 15,000.00 a month. Value!?!?!!!

Room Tip: Forget it and book Browns.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WestChelseaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews