We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Ascott Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascott Mayfair
Ranked #689 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Staying there was not what we expected.
The apartments are in definite need of a refurbishment and the "lobby" would do with a bit of a refresh. The staff was helpful, but the best thing is location, a short walk away from oxford street and bond street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_Muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Ascott Mayfair
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

We arrived at the Ascott to a rocky start as they had lost our booking. The first night we were put into a studio room but were thankfully moved to a one bedroom the next night. Big difference. The studio is essentially a small hotel room with a kitchenette, whereas the one bdr is like apartment living. Decor is a bit tired but nevertheless it was cosy, homely and well appointed. We felt right at home. The little touches were lovely like the L'Occitane bathroom products, twinings tea, nice thick toilet paper and a fresh flower in the bathroom.

Staff were friendly, though not as knowledgable as we would have liked. No concierge. Despite this, we found ourselves really warming to this establishment and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethShan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had hired a 2 bedroom executive apartment at the Ascott Mayfair which is very conveniently located in central London with key shopping areas of Piccadilly, Regent Street and Oxford Street within easy walking distance. The rooms are tastefully appointed but require refurbishment and the gymnasium needs to be totally revamped. Staff could be more attentive as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shonalidatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed one week at this property. The location is terrific and the staff congenial. The rooms have mostly been updated, but continue to need attention (e.g. stained bathroom ceiling, stained carpet, etc.). The washer/dryer was difficult to use and the staff could not help figure it out. The bedroom was poorly configured and had a tiny TV that could not be viewed from bed. There was only one bedside table (so only one person could read in bed) & the bedroom was too small to accommodate a chair. The freezer door wouldn't close so our ice cream melted. All of these things prevent this property from being A1. Still, it is very well located, clean and has an friendly staff. If the price were right, I would stay again. With a bit of attention to detail, it could easily be a 5 star property.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Hill Street are noisy
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Extremely friendly, helpful, accommodating staff. The apartment we stayed in is well furnished and maintained. We love the coffee from the lounge. Breakfast was good, not a wide range but of good quality. Although the nearest tube station isn't that near but the walk to the nearest tube station (around 10-15 mins) is a very pleasant walk. The bed is a bit small though and we agree with Marianna15 that the hot and cold water in the bathroom is very hard to adjust.

Overall experience; well above our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaTrip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Obviously these apartments are in Mayfair, so they are expensive. You are paying for the location. It was nice to have an apartment, which gives you a bit more space. We had a two bedroom apartment. The L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom were a very nice touch. Our main bathroom was small but clean and everything operated efficiently. There is a shower within the bath tub. In the second bedroom, there was a very small shower only, which did not have great hot water coming through. It is roughly a 7 minute walk to Green Park Tube, or a minute or two longer to Bond Street tube/Oxford Street. We walked to our Theatre in Picadilly in 15 minutes. The furnishings and TVs appear a bit dated. The king size bed in our bedroom was extremely comfortable but the air conditioning unit appeared to struggle to cope. We stayed here in September and the room was quite warm, so I wouldn't like to see how the air conditioning dealt with summer. I was not able to utilise the free internet service to check my flight times because it crashed everytime I tried to get into the Singapore Airlines site. It was extremely slow and I gave up using it. The female staff member who greeted us on arrival was friendly, as was Alex and the other male staff members. My husband experienced an unfriendly attitude from a female staff member. Whilst things feel a bit dated, I felt quite comfortable here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I wanted to give this hotel a 4 and a half star rating in this review, but since i can't do that on this website, i decided it was leaning more toward a 5 star rating.
Postive Things:
-The staff were excellent-- warm, friendly, and always cheery, i would like to give a big thank you to Marguerita and Franscesca.
-3 minute walk away from some nice breakfast eateries.
-More than anything, this hotel is really like a home away from home. Although we often stay at other hotel brands such as Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Hyatt, etc. we decided to stay here due the scandalous price of hotel rooms and suites in London and also the tiny size of the rooms even after paying such a high price. And i have to say that some, and only some, of these hotels are a bit too posh to the point of feeling uncomfortable, and the Ascott Mayfair really made us feel at home.
-The blankets and quilt was amazing.
-Taxis pass by the hotel often.
-There is a church right around the corner.

Negative Things:
-The room, we stayed in a double bedroom apartment. We have a few complaints about the room. First of all, i don't see the point of having such a lovely thick blanket/quilt when the room itself only has a tiny and completely useless aircon. Secondly, there were just a few tiles missing in the floor. Thirdly, the TVs, which they have now changed to flat screens, are tiny, a bit too tiny.
-Location, although this is in one of the most expensive areas of London, it is nearly a 7 minute walk to the nearest Tube station(Green Park Station)! And we had to take the Tube very very often because taxis in London are very expensive.
-Although one of our rooms had a view of a lovely park, the other room had a view of a brick wall.

N/A things: We didn't eat at the restaurant because for breakfast it was 24 Pounds for one person.

Overall: Although the room was just a bit disappointing, the staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank chrismenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#370 of 1,073 in London
230 reviews
Mayfair
47 Park Street - Grand Residences by Marriott
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#695 of 1,073 in London
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#482 of 1,073 in London
1,094 reviews
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#749 of 1,073 in London
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Mayfair

Address: 49 Hill Street, London W1J 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $166 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Mayfair 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated by the world's leading serviced residence company - The Ascott Limited - experience luxury and ultimate service while residing in Mayfair, London's most exclusive district. Surrounded by museums, stylish restaurants and grand theatres, you can relax and enjoy the sophistication of these boutique accommodations while on business travel or a weekend retreat. The 1920s Art Deco building combines all the comforts and amenities of home with an extensive range of facilities and personalised services. Enjoy the best of London while indulging in the spacious comfort of a luxury London serviced apartment. Choice of Serviced Residence Designed and furnished to reflect the sophistication of the Art Deco period, the apartment sizes range from studios residences to expansive three-bedroom suites. Each apartment has a fully-equipped kitchen and optional separate living area. They are ideal for those who desire spacious comfort when on business trips and leisure vacations. Ideal Location: Guests staying at the Ascott’s London serviced apartments are within walking distance or a short journey from many of the most popular attractions and shopping areas. The rich vibrancy of the city, highlighted through the various museums, opera and dining locations, are just at our doorsteps. Spacious Comfort & Personalised Service: Experience the exceptional services you desire and the benefits of exclusive luxury accommodation in London. Breakfast leisurely in The Terrace while viewing the gardens and unwind with cocktails at The Club Lounge. You can relax in the comfort and security of your own private apartment. 24-Hour reception, Board room, Broadband Internet access, 6-day maid service (excluding Sundays), Fitness centre, Grocery shopping services, Laundry & dry cleaning services, Room service from external restaurants, Steam & sauna room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascott Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Mayfair London, England
Ascott Mayfair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing