We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Ascott Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascott Mayfair
Ranked #683 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Extremely friendly, helpful, accommodating staff. The apartment we stayed in is well furnished and maintained. We love the coffee from the lounge. Breakfast was good, not a wide range but of good quality. Although the nearest tube station isn't that near but the walk to the nearest tube station (around 10-15 mins) is a very pleasant walk. The bed is a bit small though and we agree with Marianna15 that the hot and cold water in the bathroom is very hard to adjust.

Overall experience; well above our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaTrip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    71
    25
    18
    16
See reviews for
99
30
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,413 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,359 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Obviously these apartments are in Mayfair, so they are expensive. You are paying for the location. It was nice to have an apartment, which gives you a bit more space. We had a two bedroom apartment. The L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom were a very nice touch. Our main bathroom was small but clean and everything operated efficiently. There is a shower within the bath tub. In the second bedroom, there was a very small shower only, which did not have great hot water coming through. It is roughly a 7 minute walk to Green Park Tube, or a minute or two longer to Bond Street tube/Oxford Street. We walked to our Theatre in Picadilly in 15 minutes. The furnishings and TVs appear a bit dated. The king size bed in our bedroom was extremely comfortable but the air conditioning unit appeared to struggle to cope. We stayed here in September and the room was quite warm, so I wouldn't like to see how the air conditioning dealt with summer. I was not able to utilise the free internet service to check my flight times because it crashed everytime I tried to get into the Singapore Airlines site. It was extremely slow and I gave up using it. The female staff member who greeted us on arrival was friendly, as was Alex and the other male staff members. My husband experienced an unfriendly attitude from a female staff member. Whilst things feel a bit dated, I felt quite comfortable here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I wanted to give this hotel a 4 and a half star rating in this review, but since i can't do that on this website, i decided it was leaning more toward a 5 star rating.
Postive Things:
-The staff were excellent-- warm, friendly, and always cheery, i would like to give a big thank you to Marguerita and Franscesca.
-3 minute walk away from some nice breakfast eateries.
-More than anything, this hotel is really like a home away from home. Although we often stay at other hotel brands such as Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Hyatt, etc. we decided to stay here due the scandalous price of hotel rooms and suites in London and also the tiny size of the rooms even after paying such a high price. And i have to say that some, and only some, of these hotels are a bit too posh to the point of feeling uncomfortable, and the Ascott Mayfair really made us feel at home.
-The blankets and quilt was amazing.
-Taxis pass by the hotel often.
-There is a church right around the corner.

Negative Things:
-The room, we stayed in a double bedroom apartment. We have a few complaints about the room. First of all, i don't see the point of having such a lovely thick blanket/quilt when the room itself only has a tiny and completely useless aircon. Secondly, there were just a few tiles missing in the floor. Thirdly, the TVs, which they have now changed to flat screens, are tiny, a bit too tiny.
-Location, although this is in one of the most expensive areas of London, it is nearly a 7 minute walk to the nearest Tube station(Green Park Station)! And we had to take the Tube very very often because taxis in London are very expensive.
-Although one of our rooms had a view of a lovely park, the other room had a view of a brick wall.

N/A things: We didn't eat at the restaurant because for breakfast it was 24 Pounds for one person.

Overall: Although the room was just a bit disappointing, the staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrismenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in a studio Standard room for just one night, the size was good (for English standards) but the bed was very small, I would say 1.40 m. width most, so the 2 of us could barely turn on the bed.
Fully equipped kitchenette. Another issue was the faucet in the bathroom, it was very hard to adjust the hot and the cold water to a normal temperature.
The breakfast which was included in the rate was very good, good variety and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here on family holiday to London. Being part of the trade fraternity and as selling the apartments from afar, I received a great insight as an inhouse guest.
I was hosted by my my UK supplier in a 1 bedroom executive apartment.
The check in was smooth, no problems.
On entering our apartment, we realised it was so small, so small, that it hit hard. I visit London every year and am aware of the real estate prices in areas such as Mayfair.
There was no starter kit in the kitchen, which all luxury apartments supply with. Where do you go at 8 pm for tea bags and sugar? The Indian receptionist was not helpful.
The bathroom was being repaired and the workers had left the boards lose in such a manner that anyone entering could have got hurt.
It was a pity to experience the Ascott Mayfair in such a sorry state.
We managed to make the rest of the 3 day stay as comfortable as we could, but the check in process just shows, that the eye for the details had been missing and management was not concerned.
They need major revamping as they are showing their age. Another day, a white receptionist was talking abput their South Kensington sister property, which had been renovated. Is she telling us, stay there, till we get a face lift?
It is always nicer to give a smile to the guest when they check in, rather than the still British upper lip. Most experiences start as soon as soon as you enter the door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynottravelnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Our room was on the 7th floor - a two bedroom, two bath. We traveled with our three teenage grandchildren. The staff was wonderful. Any request made was fulfilled. The room was quite comfortable if not a bit dated and needing to be refreshed. No complaints on the beds they were comfortable. The location is great and in a quiet area. The weather was very nice and warmer than normal. The air conditioning is not turned on until summer so they gave us a fan. Worked just fine. Our only complaint was the instructions on the washer/dryer were very difficult to understand.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfers2Snohomish_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children. We had planned to stay at the Athenaeum luxury service apartments, but due to a lack of availability we had to use an agent knowledgeable about "comparable" accomodations to find an alternative place to stay. We ended up at the Ascott Mayfair, London. Price tag per night was 387 pounds (about $650) per night for the 2 bedroom apartment we rented. We were assured that it was at the same standard as our initial choice. The size of the apartment and its rooms were disappointingly tiny. With the king size bed, there was no room left on the window side of the bed since the bed was up against the heater. Had to climb onto the bed from the foot of the bed. The so-called kitchen did not have an oven or a dishwasher. There was a 12 inch television in one of the rooms (who puts a 12 inch in ANY hotel room), and the other room ("Master bedroom') had what looked like a 15 inch or so TV. The strings on the blinds did not work, and so we could not raise and lower the blinds without drama. The slats on some of the blinds could not be closed with the rotating rod intended for that, because it was broken. A slat was missing from one of the window blinds so you could not keep the daylight out. One night, the hot water stopped running and was not fixed until the next morning. The shower in one of the bedrooms was the ancient type where you have to HOLD the shower head in your hand and point it at various parts of your body where you wish the water to go. The shower stall in the other room was so narrow that you had to step out of it into the cold (also small) bathroom to dry yourself. Some of the knobs on the bathroom sinks had the labels missing, so that we were looking at disgusting looking grout or glue that previously held the label in place. We had to change rooms one night because the power outlets were not working and we could not recharge our electronics or use our computer. The furniture is old, and unimpressive. The interior decor was saddening. Extremely poor lighting in the rooms and living room, may be to force guests to use less electricity. The brightest light in the apartment was the hallway light. The only advantage of this place was the location within walking distance to many shopping places, and to many restaurants. For the price per night, this place is extremely poor value for any traveler from the United States. An equivalent place in the U.S. would rent for somewhere in the $90 to $175 per night range depending on the time of the year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrax01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMayfairRM, General Manager at Ascott Mayfair, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us at the Ascott Mayfair London. I am sorry to see that your your stay with us did not meet with your expectations of the property.

Unfortunately as I cannot see your name I cannot check on the details of your booking.

I can only appologise if you feel that the product and services offered were not to your liking. We try our best to ensure a pleasant stay for our residents. I assure you that I will take your comments into consideration going forward.

Again my sincere appologies that we were not able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Yours Faithfully

Dyanne Camille
Residence Manager
Ascott Mayfair London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#685 of 1,069 in London
57 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#382 of 1,069 in London
224 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#737 of 1,069 in London
1,029 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Mayfair

Property: Ascott Mayfair
Address: 49 Hill Street, London W1J 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Mayfair 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated by the world's leading serviced residence company - The Ascott Limited - experience luxury and ultimate service while residing in Mayfair, London's most exclusive district. Surrounded by museums, stylish restaurants and grand theatres, you can relax and enjoy the sophistication of these boutique accommodations while on business travel or a weekend retreat. The 1920s Art Deco building combines all the comforts and amenities of home with an extensive range of facilities and personalised services. Enjoy the best of London while indulging in the spacious comfort of a luxury London serviced apartment. Choice of Serviced Residence Designed and furnished to reflect the sophistication of the Art Deco period, the apartment sizes range from studios residences to expansive three-bedroom suites. Each apartment has a fully-equipped kitchen and optional separate living area. They are ideal for those who desire spacious comfort when on business trips and leisure vacations. Ideal Location: Guests staying at the Ascott’s London serviced apartments are within walking distance or a short journey from many of the most popular attractions and shopping areas. The rich vibrancy of the city, highlighted through the various museums, opera and dining locations, are just at our doorsteps. Spacious Comfort & Personalised Service: Experience the exceptional services you desire and the benefits of exclusive luxury accommodation in London. Breakfast leisurely in The Terrace while viewing the gardens and unwind with cocktails at The Club Lounge. You can relax in the comfort and security of your own private apartment. 24-Hour reception, Board room, Broadband Internet access, 6-day maid service (excluding Sundays), Fitness centre, Grocery shopping services, Laundry & dry cleaning services, Room service from external restaurants, Steam & sauna room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Mayfair London, England
Ascott Mayfair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing