We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but VERY small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Ranked #860 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Borup, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean but VERY small room”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room was clean but very, very small - even for London. The bathroom was tiny, not a bathroom, really, but just a small toilet with a shower curtain that didn't even reach the floor. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Nice location close to Victoria whick was very convenient for the train to an from Gatwick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesth-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Vesth,

We’re glad to know we played a positive role in general on your visit and the important travel links made traveling convenient for you. It looks like you were not very happy with the size of the room and the bathroom. Taking the opportunity I would like to inform you that the hotel is looking into upgrading a selection of bathrooms. Please contact me directly before making your future travel plans so I can personally make sure you are assigned a spacious room.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    240
    272
    159
    169
See reviews for
247
243
45
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spend 2 nights in this hotel on a business trip. Rooms are well appointed and have all you need for your stay. The staff is great and always happy to assists and offer their service without having to ask. I felt totally relaxed and enjoyed every moment of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aga804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Aga,

It gave us immense pleasure to know you ‘enjoyed every moment of your stay’ with us. Thank you for a nice and sweet review. We’re completely overwhelmed to read your positive feedback on the Central House Hotel Team and their friendly customer service. We’ll be looking forward for your next visit to London and hopefully for a longer period. Please do let us know of your future plans!!

Speak soon!!
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First things first, this is a budget 3* hotel so if you want luxury then this is not the place for you! It is however a good central base for the city, within easy reach of Pimlico underground station. Yes, there are better hotels around but you get what you pay for and I have certainly stayed in worse!

I stayed in room 1, a basement room. It was clean, the décor modern and the bed surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom was, as I had expected from reading other reviews, tiny and could really do with modernising. The shower was ridiculously tiny, I was attacked by the shower curtain each time I moved, and it desperately needs re-grouting. The towel rail was rusty which really wouldn’t take much to replace

Room1 was very noisy, I was woken several times during the night by people slamming doors in the rooms above, and when I eventually managed to fall asleep again was woken by the staff preparing breakfast! If I were to stay again I would request a room on the higher floors.

All in all, this is an OK hotel and if you are looking for a cheap base then it’s fine. Personally I prefer something a little more luxurious; however this was a last minute booking and was all I could find within a suitable price range. Would I stay again? Probably, but for no more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar_JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Shar,

Thank you for a detailed review on your recent stay at Central House Hotel Victoria.

Your review shows that we had few misses and it wasn't at all a lucky day. We sorry for the inconveniences you faced.

We've gone through your feedback and tried to rectify the errors so our future guests receive an exceptional service. We will continue making improvements and thank you for your suggestions and observations.

Your preferences are noted in the guest profile. I hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip.

This hotel is cheap, probably not far off hostel prices if you're sharing. Consequently it attracts plenty of young backpackers. If you don't keep the same hours as they do, don't expect much sleep. This isn't helped by the fact that the hotel is on a noisy road.

The rooms are basic, the bathrooms are newer but mine had a dripping toilet and a rather weedy shower.

I thought I was doing my employer a favour picking such inexpensive digs, but given my sleepy lack of productivity the next day I'm pretty sure it wasn't worth it.

Like I say, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank als1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Als,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

In regards to your comment on what type of guests visit us; you may have a look at the TripAdvisor reviews and figure out that we have families, couples and guests who visit London for business purposes staying with us too.

We apologize for the not completely satisfying stay you had at the hotel. I wonder whether the reception was informed of the situation as the customer service is there to assist you with any problems you may face even if it’s changing the rooms at any time of the day. Thank you for pointing these things out and giving us the insight on how to improve and make things better!
Once again We apologize for not being aware of your issue and that you could not get the service you deserved.

Kind regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

SouthLanarkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights on a theatre and shopping break. Absolutely nothing to complain about- I cant understand some of the reviews, Its a budget hotel in central london, in a great location. Yes the rooms are small- and the shower room even smaller, but spotlessly clean, everything worked and the beds were very good, What more would you want for a nights sleep in the capital city?- and at a good price. Breakfast was fine- not a huge choice, but plenty of it and all fresh ready to help yourself. Staff were always friendly and helpful. I would advise that you ask for an upper floor room- it is on a busy road, but traffic noise was minimal on the 2nd floor. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: On an upper floor to avoid traffic noise. Definitely not in basement as the luggage room is there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would love to have you back too!! A massive ‘Thank You’ for appreciating everything and for putting up a fabulous review.
Please don’t be unnoticed next time… Why not sit for a cup of coffee together?
Looking forward to see you soon!!

Best wishes,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Central Hotel 9th & 10th January. On my arrival I was pleased to find a cheerful clean safe room. I'd come off a long flight and crashed straight to sleep. So far so good.

Got up in the morning for a shower, to be scorched by boiling hot water. Tried everything to cool the water to no avail. Called for help. The staff member couldn't help. Other than to arrange for me to shower in a room one flight down. (involving a trip in the lift, past the breakfast room in my pyjamas... nice.) Half an hour wasted and an embarrassing start to the day. Was told the shower in my room would be fixed by the time I returned.

Returned on the 10th after a long day to be told the shower could not be fixed, but I could move to another room. I moved me and my 5 bags downstairs to a basement room where the window was permanently ajar with no safety chains (unlike the room on the 1st floor) with direct access to the street. It did not feel safe so I asked for another room.

Me and my 5 bags moved up to the fourth floor to a room which felt safe. It had a musty smell but I thought that would go... after a sleepless night in a blisteringly hot room (despite 2 windows open)with an unpleasant musty smell which I could not get rid of, I went for a shower. Lo and behold, the shower in this room was also of the scorching variety. I left having had no shower and now have to use a friends gym pass in order to shower before work.

All I ask for when I stay in a hotel is a clean, comfortable, safe room with a shower that works. Unfortunately 3 of the rooms I experienced at Central Hotel failed to deliver this basic service.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to begin with an apology for the kind of service you received during your visit. This is certainly not indicative for the high service standards we strive to offer on a daily basis. It’s very unfortunate that we had a problem with the boiler due to which the situations got worse. Although it’s impossible to go back and rearrange your visit but we promise to arrange an ideal stay on your next visit. But for that you’ll have to be generous enough to give us a second chance. We’ll stay in touch via TripAdvisor private messaging system and if you would like to discuss it further, please contact us anytime.

Please do let me know when your travel plans will bring you back to London.
Kind regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I am amazed at some off the reviews I have seen on here for the Central house Hotel....This Hotel has everything any traveller needs. Myself and 12 others just stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights ( my 2nd stay in the hotel this year) and everything from the staff to the food was first class. The decor had been updated since my last visit and considering the building is so old it looks amazing . The beds where clean and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful..I really cant see why the reviews are so bad. I really do believe some people are not happy unless they have something to complain about and I WILL be going back to the hotel and I will be recomending it to any off my family or friends who are visiting London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoisinKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Roisin,

Thank you very much for the compliments!!

It gives us great pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Central House Hotel. Your message has been conveyed to all the staff members and they’re tremendously motivated and overwhelmed by your response.

Thank you for always choosing Central House Hotel on your London trips. We’ll certainly look forward to your next visit.

Wish you and our family a fabulous 2013!!
Best regards,
Abida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#681 of 1,067 in London
949 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#633 of 1,067 in London
1,375 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#553 of 1,067 in London
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#603 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn London - Westminster

Property: Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Address: 39 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BB, England (Formerly Central House Hotel - Victoria)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #860 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn London - Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most your stay at Comfort Inn London - Westminster by exploring the luxurious Pimlico and Belgravia area with their abundant choice of unique boutiques and antique shops with quality cafes and restaurants, lush gardens and character streets. The hotel is within walking distance from Victoria and Pimlico Underground Stations. The Comfort Inn London - Westminster offers a range of warm, comfortable and extremely clean accommodation. All our rooms are well furnished and equipped, and decorated in keeping with the tradition of the building, which is full of interest and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London
Comfort Inn London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing