We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough budget hotel”
Review of Huttons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huttons Hotel
Ranked #642 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The bedroom was a good enough size for 3 adults, with 3 beds (double and two singles). Bedding was clean and room well presented.
Continental breakfast was very basic with the option of reasonable payment for cooked breakfast. Having booked into a budget hotel, it was no less than I expected.

The problems were 1. an air vent on the wall at ceiling level over one single bed that allowed the very cold air in from outside causing a chilly draught which was quite unsettling.
2. a very very noisy radiator which we think was the result of poor plumbing (but we are no experts)

Whilst we would not stay at this hotel again (certainly not in the same room because of the problems outlined), to end with a positive note the reception staff were friendly and welcoming and so were the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just stayed for 2 nights in Huttons Hotel in Pimlico, London. I must say the good points first, which are that the room was very clean, had a small tv and the sound proofing between you and the next room is adequate.
However, the double room would have been more suited to a narrow boat as it could not fit a normal double bed and 2 bedside cabinets - I can only think that was the reason why we had a very very small double fold up bed (yes really, a metal fold up bed). And why wouldn't the sheet cover both of us in bed at the same time, even though we aren't obese or anything? Have austerity measures resulted in sheet shrinkage?
The shelf overhanging my husband's side of the bed is at hip height and having to go round his side of the bed to put the kettle on or simply go to bed, resulted in having to do contortions and a painful case of shelf related bruising.
Nor could the room fit even the smallest wardrobe (it would have rendered the bathroom door impassable) so we had a hanging rail with a chair underneath. Of course, when you sit in the chair, you are peering out from under the hanging clothes, but never mind, the thought was there.
The narrow bathroom, whilst clean and recently refurbished, had nowhere to hang towels (no room either) and did not have a full sized sink. The soft close toilet seat was a nice touch, but the towels were small and rather tired and there was hand wash but no shower gel.
The breakfast was a trek down to the basement and it was basic (it gave the impression of being supermarket value range) and cleared away on the dot of 9.15.
Would I stay there again at over £90 per night? No.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShepherdElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked a nice two night stay for myself and my boyfriend at this hotel a few months ago, mainly just for a weekend away. It did not go to plan! I must say at the outset that I have stayed in hotels, B&Bs and youth hostels all over the world, but never, EVER have I experiences a stay such as this one. Likewise I am not normally one to complain, or give such a terrible rating but this was thoroughly deserved.

We arrived early evening on Thursday, and were greeted by a very pleasant woman on reception, and given our room key. We then made our way up to our room on the fourth floor. We didn't realise at the time, however, that the rooms are not soundproofed at all, and unfortunately there was a stag do taking up almost the whole of the third and fourth floors (which we'd not been warned about). We found out about the lack of sound proofing at 11pm, when there was yelling up and down the corridor outside our room, which literally sounded as if the people yelling were actually inside our room. All I can think is that the walls from the bedroom in to the corridor are merely stud partition walls and not made of anything substantial.

As a result, I decided to take a trip to reception to see if there was anywhere we could possibly move to in the hotel where we wouldn't be disturbed if the stag party returned in the early hours. The receptionist very kindly moved us to another room, but did warn us we would be on the lower ground floor (nothing else was said). We agreed and happily took the alternative room. It only became apparent to us at midnight, that it was equally loud down there, and in fact, even worse, as there were people using the door next to the room literally all night (from around midnight until 7.30am) and letting it slam shut. In effect, we didn't have a wink's sleep. The next morning I went to the reception and asked them what they were going to do about it. they apologised and offered us a room change again, and, in all fairness, the gentleman receptionist then gave us a choice of 2 rooms. I was told that I couldn't be informed of a possible refund at that time because the manager was not on site; they did, however, offer to contact me with information about a possible refund at some point.

Having finally sorted a less noisy room out for ourselves, we went to bed last night expecting a decent night's sleep. Wrong. We were awoken at around 5.30am by someone knocking on our door (and all the doors on the landing) demanding we return his 'stolen jacket'. Quite upset and unnerved by this (not knowing who in fact was outside the room as there are no peep holes in the bedroom doors) we rang the reception, and the receptionist advised us not to open the door, and he would come and sort the situation out. We heard the receptionist escort the man away, however, heard further knocking on our door only 5-10 minutes later. At this point we believe it was the receptionist knocking on our door, insisting that we open our door to return this man's jacket (which we had no knowledge about at all). When we refused (not being sure who was outside the door) the receptionist then threatened to go downstairs to fetch a door key to open our door himself (quote: Are you going to open this door or am I going to have to go downstairs and fetch a door key?) At this point I dialled 999 as I felt threatened and was pretty shaken and the police arrived shortly afterwards to deal with the situation. I also phoned the reception again to see if there was anyone there. Nobody answered the phone initially, leading me to think it was definitely the receptionist threatening us outside our room. However, my call was then answered by someone else, who I believe was, in fact, the original man knocking on our door and had somehow gained access to the reception telephone.

Once the police had arrived and were in control of the situation, we made our way downstairs, and I was told that the receptionist had never left the reception (a lie - given that I had phoned reception the second time and it was not the actual receptionist who had answered). We then found out that the man who was initially knocking on our door was not even staying in the hotel, but had wandered in looking for a girl who had taken his jacket. As you can appreciate, we weren't happy that just anyone was able to access any of the corridors, there should really be a swipe card access system in place at the main front door.

Finally, upon coming to take a shower at 11am we realised that there wasn't a drop of hot water, which it took another trip to reception to sort out.

As you can see, I think the events of the last couple of days merit the low rating. Certainly being accused of lying by the receptionist, the fact that he threatened to open our door against our will and that a strange man managed to find his way up to the hotel rooms and disturb everyone at 5am in the morning aren't positives! Added to that the rooms being non-sound proof, work being carried out in the hotel and not being notified of this beforehand, cold showers and a pretty rubbish breakfast, really means I won't be going back there anytime soon!

There were a couple of positives I could mention though; the location is great, and some of the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location and good price. I travelled with my disabled mother who found it difficult to go up the few steps in to the hotel, which also didn't have a handrail. It smelled of blocked drains by the lift in the basement. The free WiFi didn't reach the bedroom, which I was pretty annoyed about. Breakfast was okay but was difficult to find somewhere to sit. It was snowing and they didn't turn the heating on. Room was a bit small but was acceptable. I was worried about the bathroom, but it has been refurbished. Clean. All staff were friendly. Was able to leave luggage at hotel after checking out. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perpetua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at 'Hutton's hotel' many times and are mostly very comfortable there.
This is a budget hotel but the standards of hygiene and cleanliness are very high.
Rooms are cleaned and serviced daily and clean towels provided.
Basic continental breakfast is included in the price. However, a full English breakfast can be ordered for £5.
The hotel is 5 -10 minutes walk from either 'Pimlico or 'Victoria' underground station.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with a regular service to the west end and beyond.
This is a 24 hour route so buses are available throughout the night.
If you want a clean and comfortable hotel that is quite inexpensive when compared to other budget hotels in the area, Hutton's is worth considering.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel can be quieter at night as Belgrave road is quite busy at the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First impressions in reception, modern and clean, first impressions on entering the room, old and needs work. The bedding didnt go over the both of us when in bed, ended up one of us with the sheet and one with the cover, radiator made banging noises during the night and everytime someone flushed the loo in other rooms you could hear it. In the bathroom the sink was pretty much over the sink and the shower had a huge crack in the base and went col halfway through having a shower and didnt get fresh hand towels to replace the ones they took away and the towels were small couldnt wrap them around and we are not big people! Breakfast....what breakfast? we paid for the continental our choices cornflakes museli or toast with cheese or jam!! shocking.....would of been nice to have seen some fresh fruit, yoghurts and maybe coussiants after the 3rd morning i was a bit bored of the same breakfast. Then to finish it of the lift had broke and no-one offered to carry our luggage down we had to do it ourselves. I definately wouldnt stay here again!! on the plus side its in a good location!!

Room Tip: Dont book room 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!! By far!!! Room was terrible. Service was terrible. The smell of the room was foul!! There was a single and a double bed on the room - obviously just interested in making money and not providing an excellent customer experience!! Will never stay there again or recommend!! AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Urbanfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#600 of 1,077 in London
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#433 of 1,077 in London
808 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#612 of 1,077 in London
298 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#652 of 1,077 in London
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huttons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huttons Hotel

Address: 53-57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #642 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $68 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huttons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huttons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huttons Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing