We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great London Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #153 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here twice in October (7 days total). Wonderful energetic staff, very helpful and courteous. Easy access to city and great location for exploring London. Nice walk to a number of wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlyvdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 895 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had planned to stay a second time at the Ampersand on a recent business trip to London, but found the prices had increased so booked a small queen room at the Pelham on the advice of a colleague. I couldn't have been happier. While perhaps not as hip as the Ampersand (just around the corner), the Pelham exudes both English charm and a lovely warmth from both the decor and the able and friendly staff, particularly their wonderful concierge. I was upgraded to the next level of room, and stayed for four days in a charming room (Room 5 on the first floor). It was small and may have been tight for two people, but was perfect for me. I took advantage of the very nice continental breakfast two mornings, and dined at Muriel's Kitchen just across the street the other two (also yummy but always crowded). I would absolutely stay at the Pelham again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for an exceptional hotel stay. The two public living rooms are warm and comfortable, rooms are lovely, but it's the staff that really makes this place terrific. Location across the street from South Kensington tube stop could not be better. I was sad to leave!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a charming hotel located in a great neighborhood! The tea service is fabulous! I highly recommend it. I enjoyed sitting and relaxing in the warm and cozy library after a day of sightseeing. You still have to pay for wifi in the room which is a shame but this is my only complaint.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cajunsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel located very close to South Kensington station in London. Afternoon Tea is served downstairs in the cosy well furnished Brasserie.
Booked as part of a time out deal, we were served the full tea, along with a glass of Tattinger Champagne each; the spread consisted of four different types of finger sandwiches, warm fresh baked scones with clotted cream and jam, lemon drizzle cake, fruit tartlets, macaroons, mini patisserie and chocolate coated brownie cake pops. A very generous amount of food washed down with our choice of teas, which the staff were more than happy to refill, in fact they even encouraged us to try new blends from the tea menu. All delicious!
Service was prompt, friendly and warm yet professional. Every member of staff we encountered, both in the brasserie and other areas of the hotel, was unfailingly polite and helpful.
Overall a very enjoyable experience, so I would highly recommend the champagne afternoon tea at The Pelham. It's a very civilised way to spend an afternoon in London, especially when combined with a visit to the nearby museums (choice of the V&A, Science and Natural History - take your pick).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RVJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location in South Ken. Near restaurants, cafes, shops and museums. Can even walk to Stamford Bridge if that is your cup of tea! Hotel has a very nice feel and ambiance to it, there are two very welcoming living rooms (one of them with an 'honesty' bar) The bedrooms, and we reserved 5 rooms so we saw a good representation, are all very charming, cozy and very comfortable. The Doorman and concierge were extremely attentive and helpful.
The downsides were the reservation and the front desk staff. This was a special family occasion so we had to book 5 rooms. In any hotel, let alone a boutique size one such as this, that would represent a good level of custom. However, I never really felt that my booking or my requests for the stay (such as an early check in after an overnight flight from the US) were being recognized. In fact there was a pretty bad overcharging of my credit card which I had to point out and have corrected. Then when we arrived the front desk staff never really seemed to get to grips with the fact that the 5 guests, all with the same surname, were part of the one booking. Again, one of the rooms was charged again, despite being fully pre-paid, and had to be corrected. Didn't inspire a lot of confidence and added an unnecessary burden to what was supposed to be a special family occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a delicious champagne afternoon tea at the Pelham on a Sunday afternoon. Had a deal from Time out. A lovely, small hotel with friendly and attentive service. All home baked cakes and scones which were great and there were lots of them! They also prepared a special cake for my friend, whose birthday we were celebrating. Really lovely touch. Very enjoyable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank visitor049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed for a few nights on a recent business trip and was expecting a lovely hotel with great staff and a real "homely" feeling. The opposite happened: non-existent staff on arrival so had to heave my bag up the steps to get through the doors to find an empty reception - eventually checked in to my room that was so noisy and cold - it was above the bus-stop and had no double glazing that worked. I changed rooms and had a reasonable room but again noisy and cold.
This is not a hotel where I felt "at home" and this is a shame for what once was a good hotel - so I was told.
I will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,077 in London
3,491 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#231 of 1,077 in London
536 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#171 of 1,077 in London
828 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione

Address: 15 Cromwell Place, London SW7 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Business Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $230 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham is a unique, stylish boutique hotel in the very heart of South Kensington. Each and every room has been individually designed by Kit Kemp, blending the enchantment of English style with modern colours and flair, The Pelham has been described as one of London's finest townhouse hotels. Our guests have the privilege of exclusive use of the wood paneled drawing room and library both with open fireplaces, business centre as well as our 24-hour fitness room. Kensington is awash with boutiques, bars and bistros not to mention our La Trattoria by Alfredo Russo that brings traditional, homely and honest Italian food. The Chef Alfredo Russo brings his zestful, inquisitive approach to life with his cuisine based on traditional Italian recipes, with an easy and casual ambience. Our stylish Event Suites can be transformed from a corporate meeting area into a glamorous space for private dining, drinks receptions, baby showers and afternoon teas. Minutes from the Victoria & Albert and Natural History Museums, Harrods, Hyde Park and The Royal Albert Hall, The Pelham really is the perfect foundation for your sophisticated stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham Hotel London
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing