We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location,perfect room, perfect staff”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #219 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location,perfect room, perfect staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed with my dad 3 nights at this hotel. Everything was perfect. Staff were extremely nice (a special rewards to the lovely waitress for breakfast. She really made start your day in a happy mood!) small size hotel, perfectly situated close to underground, restaurants, super cool Chelsea shops & kings road, conran shop and co. Breakfast was a bit pricey but you would get top quality food. I would definitely go back there! Great great hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.
We are so pleased that you found the staff to be extremely nice and that your stay was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    137
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
183
49
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times now and would not consider staying anywhere else in London. The hotel is converted townhouses on a side road from the King's Road. The location is absolutely fantastic, not only for Chelsea but a 3 minute walk to the South Ken tube. The hotel is very stylish, immaculately clean and the rooms have an absolutely huge bed, which is incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is also very stylish and has a fantastic shower and always a selection of luxury bath products. As you would expect in a townhouse the rooms are small, or seem small because of the huge bed but the hotel are happy to take your suitcases to free space in the room. For the location, comfort and luxury this hotel is a bargain and we love staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sydney House Chelsea for your recent stay and for writing such a lovely review.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Best regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this small boutique Hotel. It is in fact just 2 townhouses, with a character, put together. The rooms are nicely decorated without necessarily grand luxury. The beds are very comfortable. The people working at the place are very accommodating and gentle. Stepping out of the door you are in the fashionable district of Chelsea which has wonderful shops and has as well a high standard residential living. This hotel is located in one of the most desired areas for residents of London, if you have the money.

Room Tip: Hotel close to many attractions and fashionable shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have you with us.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sydney House is a lovely little boutique hotel in a great location in Chelsea. We spent 4 nights in a premier deluxe room which was high up at the front of the building with a very nice view. Our daughters were in a smaller room at the back of the building which while cosy was still fine. The bathrooms are good with lovely products and the staff were always very helpful and pleasant. My only complaint is the lack of a bar fridge - it was very warm when we were there and it would have been nice to have somewhere to keep drinks cold.
It's an easy walk to many restaurants, transport and museums and a lovely part of the city to stay in.

Room Tip: Premier deluxe with a king size bed was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that your stay at Sydney House was enjoyable and you found the hotel comfortable and to your liking. Being a townhouse hotel, we do lack some of the amenities of bigger establishments – like mini bars in bedrooms. However, we have a mini fridge we can offer to our guests upon request. We are more than happy to offer the facilities of our kitchen fridges to our residents who use them occasionally to store various items in need of refrigeration.
Hopefully, on your next visit we will be able to make a suitable arrangement.
Many thanks again!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely property, in a nice Chelsea neighborhood, 5 minutes walk from South Kensington tube station and from the passage to the science, natural history and Victoria&Albert museums. To Harrods it is 10 minutes walk. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Don't expect very spacious rooms but they are nice, comfortable, very clean and well equipped. Breakfast is nice with a variety of choices but not included in the room price. On the other hand prices are similar to the prices in the coffee shops/restaurants nearby although a little bit higher. Chelsea itself is lovely, with lot of nice shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper take a room on the back. Also ask for a premiere deluxe. It is little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have you with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you to Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overpriced. Very very small rooms - two people cannot be in any part of the room at one time without one of them moving out of the way! Shop around if you want to stay in this part of London.
Room Tip: If you can afford the penthouse suite with terrasse it may be worth a look.

Room Tip: Street lights light up room -- despite two sent of blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment with regard to your recent stay at The Sydney House. The feedback you provided is extremely valuable and we appreciate your effort to communicate it to us.
The fact that Sydney House Chelsea is a Grade II listed building and not a purpose built hotel is well advertised and publicized. Staying here is just like staying in any of the houses in the area. We always insist that this is a townhouse hotel. Our rooms are well appointed with big and comfortable double or king size beds.
You happened to be here during high season when our prices were set accordingly and very much in line with other hotels of comparable standard in the neighbourhood. Our prices fluctuate during the year and reflect the standards we offer and demand for accommodation in this part of London.
We are truly sorry that you found the size of the room to be unsatisfactory. We had to make space for such big bed and still provide for a desk and sitting area.
Windows are equipped with both the sheer and the blackout blind. Those are normally sufficient to keep the street light out. We regret this inconvenience.
All being well, on next occasion we will be able to allocate a room facing the back yard away from street light.
We hope there will be such opportunity.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here recently as an alternative to the more expensive Connaught, with plans to dine at two of London's Michelin starred restaurants. We are great fans of Gidleigh, and the Bath Priory and so wanted to see what this 'mini' Abode version was like. We booked the roof top room and to be fair it was all as we expected, Good , lower costing central London accommodation and not a soul-less large chain. In other words, it delivered what we kind of worked out from reading the web site.
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional.
It's obvious that its a listed town house, so it's pointless moaning about the lift ( it's 2 foot square)!
The bathroom at the room at the top is tiny, the shower is 1" bigger than the lift, and yes the water pressure is not adequate for a proper decent rain style shower head unfortunately.
If anything, I would re do the web site and show more room pictures with details.
One question it does throw up is...........please can you take a risk Mr Brownsword along with Mr. Caines and buy or lease something slightly bigger and preferably on less floors! I will help by suggesting that its called Gidleigh House, based on Gidleigh, with Gidleigh standard rooms and you've guessed it, Mr Caines running the restaurant. We all know that it will run at full occupancy and getting a table will be nigh on impossible. ( Except for me as its my idea)!!

Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at the top is great for a summers stay, but the shower is not over the bath but is still challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommepuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many, many thanks for your kind comments and thoughtful suggestions. We are very happy that you have enjoyed Gidleigh, Bath and Sydney House.
We are particularly pleased with your review of our hotel and glad that you found it to be to your liking and staff welcoming and cordial.
The water pressure issue has been investigated. Your room was located on the 5th floor and the water is boosted from the basement vaults situated below the street level. Sometimes during high demand the pressure can drop slightly. This problem will be rectified during next major refurbishment by introduction of a dedicate booster pump to the 4th and 5th floors.
Our new web site is also being updated to include more photography.
I am sure by now the people concerned are aware of your suggestion regarding future acquisitions. When it happens, you being a regular at Gidleigh Park and Bath Priory will be duly informed.
Until then, we hope to see you back at the Sydney House.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#506 of 1,067 in London
596 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#78 of 1,067 in London
776 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#529 of 1,067 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#29 of 1,067 in London
644 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#150 of 1,067 in London
845 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#201 of 1,067 in London
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Sydney House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing