We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney House Chelsea
Ranked #290 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent 3nights here whilst my husband was in The Royal Brompton Hospital. Location was perfect. Staff very polite, pleasant and helpful. Room was good. Only critism is that some guests forget that other people in the hotel and should be a little I quieter in their rooms. This should not deter people from saying here though.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

The service, cleanliness and rooms were good. An added benefit was the location! The staff were friendly With good customer servuce. Our room was immaculate with excellent en suite facilities. No bath but shower poweful and efficient. Well recommended. We didn't breakfast there as there were too many nice places to choose from along the Kings Road.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deniseac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August having found it on laterooms. The hotel was in a great location for us and we used a car park around the corner. The welcome at reception was great and the room although small was well appointed and clean. The bed and bed linen were exceptional. Our only critisism would be the total lack of personality of the two staff on breakfast - a smile costs nothing!
Our room was at the back of the hotel and we can't say that we were disturbed by noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel which didn't seem to be noisy as other reviewers ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I've moved away from London last year to
Moscow and was hoping to find a small,friendly,discreet hotel with a good location in Chelsea.Sydney House ticks all the boxes and more...it has become home away from home, a place where I truly look forward to coming bact to!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel to visit our daughter who is in London for a semester. It was a great location close to her dorm and close to the South Kensington tube stop and many local restaurants and shops. It is a very small hotel, but modern and clean. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is noisy hearing people walk around from the wood floors and hallways, but didn't really bother us as we were out early for the day and didn't get back until late each night. Free wifi was a significant plus. The rooms were on the small size, but they were clean with nice linens, bathrobes and bath amenities. Free computer with printer in lobby. The only problem with the room was the bathroom. I did not like the shower curtain which wasn't that clean and the bathtub was very high to step into. Also, the sink was very slow draining and even though we mentioned it to the front desk, it did not improve while we were there. Also, limited counter space in the bathroom. Overall, for our situation it was a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your comment on our hotel. We are happy you found it enjoyable and had a pleasant stay in London. We appreciate your thoughts on the friendliness of our staff and our housekeeping standards. Thank you for raising the points that have caused your concerns. The bathroom shower curtain has now been replaced. The marks on it, and I am very grateful to you for pointing it out, are caused by discoloration of the fabric due to the iron cord being inserted at the bottom of it to act as a weight, keepeing the curtain straight. We have since been in touch with the manufacturer and they have confirmed that machine washing and exposure to higher water temperatures can cause discoloration of the fabric around the cord. They assured us of their intention to address the matter immediately.

The wash basin sink has been attended to by a professional who happened to be on site on the particular day. I was also present. There were no obstacles of blockages in the drain pipe. The design of the water drain, the pop-up plug and the additional filter would not allow for immediate water drainage and sink appers to be draining slower than regular sinks with no filter. This has also been pointed out to the manufacturer and the installer. We are now in the process of refurbishing a number of our bathrooms and a different option will be considered.

We are town house hotel - 2 Chelsea houses, and unfortunately can not do much about the space. However we hope we could compensate for it with our positive attitude.

I am glad it has been noticed. Many thanks again. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night as I was having an operation at the Royal Brompton Hospital the next day (which is only a 2 minute walk away). We booked online and arrived around 8pm. Check in was quick and efficient and our bags were taken straight up to our room for us. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom, extra brownie points for having my favourite White Company toiletries. The bed was nice and comfy with clean crisp bedding and a bespoke throw. A good sized, flat screen tv in the corner of the room. We were up and out the next morning by 6.30am so we didn't have breakfast but we slept well and didn't have any problems with noise like some people seem to have had. I actually liked the wooden floors as i think it's more hygienic than carpet. We were happy with the price too as we have to go to the hospital quite a lot and we've paid a lot more, for a lot less in Chelsea.

We'd definitely recommend going out of the hotel an turning left to go to a bar/bistro called PJ's which I think is Fulham road, you can't really miss it. It had a polo theme going on but the food is great and the staff are friendly. We've been there a couple of times now and really like it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you found the hotel enjoyable, and had a pleasant stay. We hope that you are recovering well after the surgery. Hopefully we will see you again soon on a less stressful occasion and help you enjoy the Sydney House and Chelsea care free. Please get in touch with us as we would like to send you some samples of your favourite toiletries.

Kind regards

The Sydney House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Sydney House hotel is in an excellent location in Chelsea. Victor who works at the front desk is wonderful, extremely courteous, and works hard to try to ensure all the guests are well taken care of. If you are lucky enough to get a room in the back at least one floor up perhaps the second to fourth floor then definitely stay here. The rooms on the front face a busy street, and the rooftop suite, which has an amazing terrace backs into the fans for the hotel, so you get a vibration humming sound all night long from the equipment on the rooftop. The hotel has free internet which is great for London, the rooms were very clean, comfortable bedding, high quality linens. Again, be wary of what room you have if you want to get a good nights sleep. Also, don't use the car service they recommend. I booked a cab to the airport through them, and the guy showed up in a dinky van that had duck tape on the door handle. I would have been better off just booking my own radio car or hailing one from the street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank savvytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#536 of 1,078 in London
638 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,078 in London
872 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#169 of 1,078 in London
1,779 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#577 of 1,078 in London
170 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#35 of 1,078 in London
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Chelsea

Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $197 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House Chelsea 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A discreet, Georgian townhouse located just off the Kings Road, Sydney House Chelsea offers understated, contemporary style in a vibrant neighbourhood. Its intimate atmosphere, typical of a bijou Chelsea pied-à-terre, is finished with a fresh, bright and modern aesthetic, and the hotel is favoured by many as an invaluable London bolt hole. Built in 1829 as two townhouses, the Grade II listed buildings were converted from private residences into a hotel in the 1980’s. As the tallest building on the street, taking prominence over its neighbours, it was named Sydney House. Andrew and Christina Brownsword bought Sydney House Chelsea in 2001. It became the second hotel in their collection, seven years after the purchase of The Bath Priory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney House Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Sydney House Chelsea London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing