We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to be welcomed to London...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Grand London Kensington
Ranked #141 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a way to be welcomed to London...”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got lucky and because the Heathrow Best Western overbooked, we ended up getting upgraded to this location. Its literally 2 minutes away from Earl's Court tube station which means during the day time its alive and entertaining, and when its time to sleep its peacefully quiet. Top it all off with a very good English Breakfast and excellent service, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else next time we come.

The rooms are a bit of a tight fit, but what do you expect in London? The neighborhood is amazing, though things do shut down quite early for my tastes, around 9 or 10 pm. Everything is extremely clean though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M. Imran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Premier Park Grand London Kensington for your recent visit to London.

Thank you for the good comments about the facilities and location. We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory and was comfortable too.

We hope this visit would be one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    797
    171
    49
    40
See reviews for
379
1,061
114
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked a single room here at short notice and pre paid online with booking.com. I was'nt expecting such a nice hotel so close to Earls Court tube station! The room I had was a small double ( although I had only pre paid the rate for a single room) on the 4th floor. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. The room was very modern with a large flat screen TV and a panel of sockets for HDMI ,USB etc. There was a nice modern kettle, microwave and small fridge.The bathroom did'nt have a bath but the Grohe shower was fine and easy to use.
I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to London. The standards are high enough for my husband. I'm half Australian but I gather that all the Aussie's who used to stay in Earls Court ( funnily called Kensington by Best Western Premier) now stay in Brixton!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a nice large window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Park Grand London Kensington for your stay in London and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is situated in the neighborhood of Kensington.. Very clean which is important .. Very suitable for couples, Family, friends, The rooms are comfortable according to the price they offer. They have a fantastic breakfast in the morning and the reception including the managerf porters are very friendly and willing to help.
The Club rooms where we stayed is much bigger and the price was the same since we stayed over a week.Train station Earls Court is less than a mile away from the hotel and you may find restaurants along the main aveniue.
As to the rooms they were surprisingly adequate ands the bathroom was excelente. Very clean
daily. Stronlçy reommend this hotel who travel with a budget.

Room Tip: Club rooms are slightly bigger than the normal rooms. Telephone is 44(0)20 73706831 Air Conditioners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Kensington for your recent visit to London.

Thank you for the good comments about the rooms, facilities and location. We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory and was comfortable too.

We hope this visit would be one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Although the location is not salubrious, located in Earls Court, and lots of cheap room-rentals nearby, the hotel was a pleasant surprise. On arrival the staff were very helpful and attentive, the room in really good condition although a little on the small side. It was well equipped and the bathroom very good.

We did not try the restaurant but all overheard comments from other guests were positive.

It is a short walk (4mins) from the Earls Court High Street and underground.

The pricing was elevated (Wimbleton was on) but on comparison with others the tariffs were reasonable. Out of season I am sure it would represent good value for money.

This hotel is now on my "Places to stay" list if you are after "base" accommodation - ie a pleasant place to come back to after exploring London or attending to business.

Room Tip: Higher the better ads hey are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Park Grand London Kensington.

I was very happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Grand for our anniversary and we weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Club room, which was bigger than the standard room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. The location of this hotel is difficult to beat for the price. Earls Court underground is a two minute walk and Gloucester Road is about ten minutes. For £8 each per day, we could travel anywhere in zones 1-4 which contains most of what you will want to see in London. We will be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevdav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Kensington for your recent visit to London.

Thank you for the good comments about the rooms and location. I was very happy to learn you had a pleasant stay and your comments with regards to our team are greatly appreciated.

We hope this visit would be one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It looks like a previous reviewer had a similar experience to us. Myself and a colleague booked 2 rooms late June, pre paid and confirmed.
Upon our arrival - we had flown from Australia, we were told that there was no hot water but they would transfer us to a sister hotel around the corner. The sister hotel was in fact the Best Western. Totally exhausted we felt we had no choice butto accept the rooms.
Both rooms were so tiny that I could not open my suitcase unless it was on the bed. There was no mini bar but my room did have a small bar fridge. Unfortunately it was that close to the bed you could not open it.
The shower - definitely no space for a bath- was so small that I had to remove the shower head and wash myself as you simply could not move once you had climbed up and into the tiny cubicle.
On our return visit to London a week later we stayed at the Crown Plaza, very similar room rate but OMG, polar opposites in regards to space, fit out, services etc....
Clearly this hotel group excepts all bookings regardless of capacities and then just shafts people around their other hotels that no one woul book in the first place.
It's ironic that you must give these places every contact detail about yourself upon booking yet no attempt is made to contact you in advance and let you know that they no longer have a room for you. I am sure they would be quick on the e mail or phone if you managed to leave without paying for a $3 orange juice.
Do Not Do It - book a hotel with a better reputation. There are no shortage of them in London

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com or you can call me on 0207 2624521 as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gurdip Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is excellent with Earls Court Tube a few minutes away and the Tube service takes you to all the main London Attractions. There are also the 'Great' British pubs close at hand as well as other eating places and a good selection of shops for the weary traveler.

We initially were in one of the 'subterranean' rooms which was very small and only a double bed. The plumbing left a lot to be desired as the shower water was not draining away, we complained a few times and got moved to one of the upper floors. This room was excellent! Spacious, clean and comfortable. However towards the end of our stay again the shower was not draining properly and started to flood the bathroom. But as it was on our last day we were not to fussed.

It was evident the hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and with good quality appliances. But small things like the lack of the water draining away sort of is the only memory one takes away.

The concierge desk at reception did their best and are only to happy to oblige, but it gave the appearance of 'beginners at running a hotel'. There is a bar area, but it does not yet have any character.

But we had to book at short notice and we were lucky to get such a convenient hotel that was adequate for our needs. its a pity that at this stage the hotel has no 'character' but I'm sure that will happen over time.

All in all not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room above ground!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASehgal, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Best Western Premier Park Grand London Kensington.

Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us understand what we are doing right and where we can improve to make sure all of our guests have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome back again

Best Regards

Miriam Alba
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Grand London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Kensington

Property: Park Grand London Kensington
Address: 33-37 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0QQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Grand London Kensington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
#158 Romantic Hotel in London
#228 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Grand London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Shaftsbury London Kensington Hotel London
Shaftesbury Kensington Hotel London
Shaftesbury Kensington London
Park Grand London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing