We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #632 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have to say despite reading some of the comments on here we were happy with our stay. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and tidy with modern fittings. Yes the rooms were lets say bijou but seriously what do you expect for this sort of budget? We only wanted somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, which I have to add was quite satisfactory. The only negative things about the bedroom (660) was 1. The absolute total lack of any view whatsoever 2. When the room upstairs used the toilet or shower you could hear the water draining away quite loudly. Would I use this hotel again? Definitely...just not that room! The staff were very helpful and polite. Very close to underground which was brilliant. A good selection of restaurants locally too.

Room Tip: Dont have room 660!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that in particular you found the staff to be amazing.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with view from your room. Unfortunately due to the layout of the hotel this particular room does not overlook the outside of the property. I have noted the points you have raised with regards to the overhead water noise. These I will forward to our Maintenance Team to investigate further.

I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Take Care,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

In December 2012 we book flight and hotel for May 2013. We are not the keenest day tripper. We also prefer time to ourselves and for launching and reading. Therefore we contacted the hotel by e-mail and ask for a bigger room at the rear of the house with view into the garden. We also were more than happy to pay the upgrade.
On arrival day we received a room as big as a broom cupboard. The explanation we received at the reception desk was: “Upgrade yes, if possible. However we prioritize online bookings.” And bear in mind, we booked 6 months ahead – what else is there to prioritize?
The room was so small, it was difficult to house – let alone open – both our suitcases. One of us had either to vanish in the bathroom or lie on the bed. The other was in charge of the opening process. Most of the clothes we did not unpack at all as there was no sufficient wardrobe and too few clothes hangers. There was also no room for seating. We had a chair in the room which we could not use due to the lack of space and the wobbly state it was in.
This tiny room was sold as a double room to us. In all decency, I would have sold it as a pure single.
The cleanest place was the bathroom. It was functional and of reasonable size. The breakfast room we did not use. It is situated in basement and has got no daylight. The gym is also in the basement, small but functional for one person at the time.
The Cromwell is listed as a 4 stars hotel which is a massive overstatement. One has to admit that its location is most favourable and it seems to be fairly clean. Therefore, we would rate it as 3 stars at the most. We did a bit of research and found out that for the same money you find more comfortable places in the area.
We will certainly neither return nor recommend it to our friends..

Room Tip: Book online and choose a more expensive room. Otherwise you will end up with one of the broom cupboa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cd_lavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay at our hotel, I am sorry to hear that on this occasion there were a number of areas where our hotel did not reach your expectations.

Best Western The Cromwell is rated a 4 star guest accommodation and not as a four star hotel. I am sorry that you found your room to be smaller than expected however as our hotel is comprised of 3 interconnected buildings the size and style of our rooms can vary ever so slightly. Upgrades to our Garden Rooms and Executive Rooms are available to all guests subject to the room availability. Priority is not given to one guest over another or on how and when the reservation was received.

I must admit that I am slightly confused with your feedback regarding our Breakfast Room. It is on the lower ground floor, however the room does has three large windows bringing in natural light.

I hope you will consider returning to Best Western The Cromwell when you next visit London so that we can have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and facilities.

Kind Regards
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ok, the rooms are " London size" ( compact and bijou) but this hotel has a lot going for it. Great rates, excellent staff, good breakfasts and best of all right next to a major underground station. Some hotels around here change twice as much and don't offer what The Cromwell does. Well done Best Western.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nigeltaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at The Cromwell. It is always lovely to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and to know we have met their expectations.

I am delighted to hear that you were very comfortable in your accommodations and that the location was perfect for your needs. I would like to thank you for the positive feedback you have provided with regards to the friendliness of team. I shall certainly pass on your comments for them to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Positives:Location is brilliant for Royal Albert Hall and some museums with Gloucester Road tube very close but not intrusive. Direct Piccadilly Line to Kings X plus District and Central lines. Staff friendly and helpful. Double Glazing in bedroom kept the traffic noise to an acceptable level.
Negatives :Breakfast adequate but a tad expensive at £12.50 but plenty of restaurants within 3 minutes walk with B/fast at £5. Rooms quite small with standard double bed with 9 inches either side. Room was hot and although Air-con was advertised, it only went down to 19 degrees making room too hot at night in late spring. There may be better rooms at the back but despite booking nearly 4 months in advance these were not available.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeN453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location in the heart of Kensington is in the perfect location in terms of tourist attractions, transport methods, restaurants and bars.

I have taken note of your points you raised and communicated them to our Management Team to look into making improvements wherever appropriate. We look forward to every opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel is very central located near Gloucester Road Tube (District and Central lines) and has a bus stop just outside servicing the area. Staff were very attentive in the bar and reception and the non managerial staff at breakfast were just lovely. The food was great though it was part of deal and the bar though small served our needs.

Stayed here for 3 nights with my mum in room 212 which overlooks the road so ear plugs perhaps required. The bathroom was very tastefully done and if we pushed the beds further apart there was adequate space for us both. Same also for closet space.

My only suggestion would be that an accessible bathroom nearer reception would be appreciated.

We got this hotel room at a good price through priceline express deals and were VERY happy with the selection. I would definitely stay here again at this price.

Room Tip: The double rooms at the back with balcony and garden view looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post such a positive review of your recent stay at our hotel, I was pleased to read that you had a memorable stay at our hotel.

I would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback you have provided with regards to the professionalism of our entire team ranging from the front office to the breakfast room. I have passed on your feedback to all departments as I do believe that as hospitality professionals your appreciation of their service motivates our teams to deliver a consistent standard of service to each guest they encounter.

Furthermore I was delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location is really good. Its right across from the tube station. We found it very easy to get everywhere.

We found the staff to be very helpful and knowledgeable.

We got a larger garden room at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet and we were very happy with our room. We found the room to be pretty spacious.

The hotel advertised free wifi. While it was free it was really horrible. We could only get it if we sat at the end of the bed or in the bathroom - and even then it was a very weak signal.

We had heard complaints about the shower and while it wasn't ideal it worked.

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Cromwell and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Best Western The Cromwell Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be conveniently located for your travel requirements and that you found our staff to be very helpful and knowledgeable to your requests.

I am sorry to hear that you had experienced some difficulties in connecting to the wi-fi however I am pleased to inform you that we have had the engineers out this past week to install our fibre optic line and we should be up and running on this by Wednesday next week.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location is good, just across the road from Gloucester Road tube station.
Our room was small, the bed was a standard double.
Effective air con.
Free wifi, however, it is patchy and reception in our room when we got it wasn't good. The best spot to connect to the free wifi is sitting on the bottom flight of stairs next to reception.
I think this hotel is overpriced but unfortunately so are most of the central London hotels.
Bar prices were reasonable.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel (we never do unless it's included in the price) so we ate in Pret a Manger and Pauls Patisserie both of which are just across the road from the tube station.
The staff on reception were extremely friendly helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graemelacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay at our hotel, I am sorry to hear that on this occasion there were a number of areas where our hotel did not reach your expectations.

I can only apologise for the connectivity of the wi-fi as we are experiencing some technical difficulties with this and have had a new fibre optic line installed in the hotel. This installation should be completed by mid June and this should dramatically improve the quality and speed on the service.

I would like to thank you for the positive feedback you have provided with regards to the professionalism of our Front Office team and I shall certainly pass on your comments for them to read.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#449 of 1,077 in London
818 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,077 in London
2,206 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#668 of 1,077 in London
855 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $114 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western The Cromwell London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing