We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be renamed "Motel 6"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #628 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is far from a 4-star experience, even by UK standards. The only toiletries provided are a shower cap and liquid soap -- no shampoo. (Guests are told to use the liquid soap for that purpose.) As for advertised free wifi, it's only available is in the hotel lobby. Same for the odd newspaper or two. Rooms themselves are tiny (again, even by UK standards). There is no closet to speak of, only an open shelving unit. And the space is so cramped that the door to the room can't be opened a full 90 degrees ... it hits the hangers in the shelving unit. Same for floor space around the bed. The bellhop had to place the 21" suitcase on the bed because there was no room to otherwise accommodate it. As for the bathroom layout, the toilet is wedged in in such fashion it has to be used sideways. In all, this hotel's location is great. But service and facilities leave MUCH to be desired. Fortunately, there are many true 4-star hotels in the neighborhood. I highly recommend staying at them, avoiding the Cromwell if at all possible.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bray11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the facilities provided and the service you received during your stay with us. Best Western The Cromwell is a four star guest accommodation and not a four star hotel.

Due to the layout of the hotel, our bedrooms do vary in size. All our bathrooms are fitted with Lux hair and body dispensers. Additional toiletries -i.e. condition, shampoo, dental kit, comb, face cloth are available 24 hours from the reception desk. This is noted in the room directory.

Other facilities and services we offer include a complimentary newspaper, gym, meeting room, breakfast room and a hotel bar.

We have been experiencing some problems with the Wifi, however all bedrooms are fitted with the broadband connections. In the near future the hotel will have a dedicated internet line into the hotel which will solve the current issues.

I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence.

Kind Regards,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is only a short walk from Gloucester Road tube station and the museums in South Kensington (V&A, Natural History Museum and Science Museum) are also very near. The room we had was small, not much space to move around. The bathroom was more spacious in comparison. The wifi was slow but free, the TV really old fashioned (only 9 channels). I´d still recommend this hotel, because for the location it is good value (London is an expensive place to stay) and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good enough and served until 11 a.m., which is very nice if you don´t like to get up early.

Room Tip: Rooms with the room number 800upwards are in the basement, 400s are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found our rooms clean, team and location to be suitable to your needs. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Take Care,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for about 5 nights for business.
I really enjoy the location although it is not in the heart of London the tube is 50mts away.
Room was impecable albeit quite small.
Wifi was quite slow but it was free (since this was a business trip I rather pay and have a fast connection).
Would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llopatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to express my thanks for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased we were your choice of stay during your business trip in London.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Sept. of this year and did not enjoy our stay. The opening to the hotel was dingy with kicked back carpet and dirty walls.The staff were not very welcoming as they said "Well, where are we going to put you?" It did not make us feel like we were being cared for, thats for sure. We hiked up a few flights of steep stairs and found our little room. We opened the door to a match stick small room with hardly any room to walk around the bed. The walls were marked up, and the bedspread looked tired. The sheets were clean and soft, but i smelt the pillow...must++. I woke up every morning with a sore throat, and i'm sure it was from the horrible musty smelling pillow!! The bathroom was great though; clean, adequately sized, with good water pressure and facilities. Overall the staff was just "okay". We never felt as if we were being looked after. For the money, this was not worth the stay. We certainly will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 991Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding both the cleanliness and the service you received during your stay with us. These are both areas the hotel prides itself in and for which we normally receive positive comments. I have taken note of your points you raised and communicated to our Management Team to look into making improvements wherever appropriate.

I do hope you will visit us again to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence.

Kind Regards
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at the hotel a number of times whilst on business. 3 or 4 steep steps up to the hotel so not ideal if you have heavy luggage or a disability but the reception staff are very friendly and helpful so I am sure they would come to your rescue.

All the rooms I have had have been adequate although sadly there seems to be a shortage of rooms with a bath. However, they are very well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities (and biscuits!), hair dryer, a few complimentary toiletries and a safe.

Breakfast is what you would expect - fruit and yoghurts, hot food (bacon, sausages, mushrooms, hash browns, beans etc), toast and pastries. Only downside is that you are served coffee by the cup and have to attract the attention of the staff for a refill.

Location wise, it is just across the road from Gloucester Road tube station so is great for public transport. And its not far to walk to Knightsbridge if you have money to spend in Harrods and Harvey Nicks. But more importantly, as a lone female traveller, the hotel is just across the road from Waitrose, a food supermarket. They sell hot, cooked chickens to take away and also have a "meal deal" which tends to be something with rice. A saviour for when I don't want to go out and eat on my own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us at the Best Western The Cromwell. I am glad to hear that your experience was a positive one, made so by our ideal location in the heart of Kensington and our friendly staff who strive in making each guest’s stay an enjoyable one.

We hope to see you on your next visit to London.

Take Care
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here last week having stayed round the corner last week ( Harrington Hall was fully booked this time ). It immediately feels smaller and the public areas are very limited - but if you don't plan spending any great time at the hotel that's not important.

My room was small as was the bathroom - but the latter was very nicely done out with good fittings , a generous shower and strong lighting. Although small ( very small if there had been two of us ) the bed was comfortable and the little balcony looking over trees would have been great in summer. WiFi did indeed seem to be intermittent as others have noted.

The location close to Gloucester Road tube with all its shops and restaurants makes this a great area to stay in and at the right price I would stay again

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms have balcony overlooking trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience at our hotel.

Best Western The Cromwell is rated a 4 star Guest Accommodation as we have limited facilities. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found our rooms and bathrooms suitable to your needs.

We are excellently located in terms of tourist attractions, transport methods, restaurants and bars.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for business for 2 nights after the Crowne Plaza next door was full.

Decent enough, nice rooms (if a little small) with most of the things you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Gym was appreciated, even if it was a little small.

Would not choose this over its neighbour, but at less than half the price you cannot complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and four star review.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found us to be good value for money. I am also pleased that our location was suitable to your needs. The hotel is located in the perfect position for both the business traveller and tourist.

Wishing you a great day!

Kind Regards
Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#440 of 1,078 in London
822 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#341 of 1,078 in London
2,227 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,078 in London
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #628 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $100 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western The Cromwell London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing