We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #461 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Value for London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were two friends spending a week in London, and this hotel met our needs perfectly. We had a Club room, which got us a free breakfast buffet in the morning, wine, beer or soda in the evening, and access to a computer terminal all in the Club Room. It also included free wi-fi. We especially enjoyed Liam in the Club Room, he has a delightful sense of humor and knows what's going on. The room was clean, the closet was spacious enough, and the robes and slippers were a nice touch. I needed an extension cord for my CPAP which Guest Services brought right up. The hotel is just a few blocks from the Tube station and plenty of shopping of all kinds. We were also able to walk to Kensington Palace and gardens, a must see if you have time. We ate in both of the restaurants, and the bar, service was slow by American standards but adequate, the food was quite good. The value for this property was far higher than what I got on my final night in London at the Marriott, which had twice the price, a bigger room, and trendier location, but no free breakfast, club room, or wi-fi.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are the best value. We stayed on the city side which was just above the Tube tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review on your recent stay spent with your friend at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. It is great to hear of the good experience you both encountered for the perfect stay. I am very happy our Team were successful in satisfying both you and your friend’s needs and the compliments you expressed with special mention of Liam was welcomed and motivating to all at the Hotel with grateful thanks.

I am sure after this memorable stay you will be returning in the near future and wish to take the opportunity of welcoming you, your friends and family to stay with us when visiting London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    2,424
    1,621
    534
    327
See reviews for
1,050
2,197
309
1,323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in July for an overnight stay whilst visiting London. Excellent location, very quiet and close to tube station and Kensington High Street. Staff were excellent from reception to the bar, ate in the bar which was really nice and enjoyable. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank kellsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am very pleased to see the location is convenient to your needs, our staff provided excellent services and all the facilities in and around the hotel to your satisfaction, all adding to an enjoyable experience. It is so motivating for our Hotel Team to see your appreciation of our services with no complaints and all thank you for sharing your positive feedback with all travellers to London.

We know you will be visiting us when next travelling to London and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Most of the staff were helpful and polite, we did wait 36hrs to have 3rd bed removed from room - hardly room to move as we had twin beds (mum & son). Guest services wouldn't assist as we originally asked reception! Bathroom in very poor condition and had stains on walls near toilet and peeling Laminex. Torn/worn quilt cover. On a positive note beds were great. Breakfast reasonably good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review and for making us aware of your concerns. I am sorry you had problems with the bed move and the conditions of the bathroom and linen in the room allocated to you. I referred the points you raised to our Management Team to take follow up action with the relevant departments to ensure the rooms are well maintained and ready to the standard expected prior to guest arrival and to monitor this ongoing. I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. On the positive side, thank you for sharing the good experiences too which I am sure added to an overall pleasant stay.

I hope you will return soon so we can make amends and assure you of our best attention to your needs, so we can be sure you have a great stay.


Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is in the BEST location! You are walking distance to shopping areas, restaurants, and they tube. everything you need is available. My only complaint is paying for internet for such a classy location. Very traditional bell hops elegance is there for sure.

Room Tip: 519 side will give you the view of the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cmp1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences with travellers to London on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am pleased to see as yoyu mention the 'classy' location of the hotel is convenient to all places of interest suitable for your needs adding to a memorable stay. I have noted your concern in terms of the internet and referred this to our Management to review for future improvements.

I am sure we can expect you back to stay when you next travel to London and we look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Tara this year and I have also stayed at the Copthorne at Chelsea FC. All three stays were very good. The Tara is well located close to High Street Kensington tube and the many shops and restaurants around it. Getting a cab is easy and you can be on the Mall in 15 minutes. The hotel is well appointed, the staff are very good and the rooms well cared for. Breakfast is great and the bar service is good, although it's cheaper to drink outside in one of the many pubs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommendations with all travellers to London on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am very pleased to see you are regular guest and we have maintain consistency with our level of standard on all occasions that is expected, our excellent services and facilities in and around the hotel are to your satisfaction and you always have a memorable stay. Our Hotel Team thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thank you for your continued support.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is classed as a 4 star but would def say it was more like 3 star but with London this is the norm. Location is fantastic 2 mins from Kensington high street and Kensington gardens!
Staff are nice and helpful also.
If I was looking a nice hotel for a romantic weekend in London I wouldn't pick this hotel as rooms are in need of updating but if it is location you are after this is the one and rooms are ok but don't be expecting four star rooms.
There is also a tube station a few minutes away from here also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay and for bringing to our attention to the points you mentioned which is valuable as it assists our Management Team to review for future improvements whilst we are currently working on our in-house redecoration. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. On a positive note, I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our excellent staff services.

I hope you will return to visit us again soon so we can take the opportunity to make amends to assure you of our best attention to your specific needs.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
431 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here three nights at the end of our tour of the British Isles. First, the positive things: Location, location, location. The hotel is near the High Street Kensington tube station and reasonably close to Kensington Palace. The High Street Kensington Arcade is nearby. Also, we found the Concierges helpful, there's a nice gift shop in the hotel, and the breakfast spread was excellent. Now for the negatives: It's very expensive. We stayed one extra night after our tour ended, and it cost $350, with breakfast included. The hotel is old and in need of refurbishing. For example, in our room there were crude patches on the wall, the chrome was worn off the door handles, our sink was slow draining, and the heated towel rack didn't work. There's no free WiFi, and it cost me 10 pounds for 24-hour service! Fortunately, we had only one dinner at the hotel, as it was our worst meal of a 17-day trip. There was no choice of dishes, and the main dish was duck, which, as semi-vegetarians we refused to eat. The salad had little dressing, the mashed potatoes were pitiful, and the skinny green beans were the worst I've ever eaten. The dessert was dry chocolate cake. At one point, we had to get the key cards redone, as they stopped working on our door. Finally, on the day we stayed extra after our tour ended, we told a young woman at the front desk the night before that we didn't want to get the 6 a.m. wake-up call for the tour group, as we were staying, not checking out. Would you believe that we then got not 1, not 2, but 3 wake-up calls! Needless to say, I was unable to get back to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback via Tripadvisor. Your feedback both negative and positive is important and taken seriously as these assist us to continuously improve our level standard of services and facilities going forward.

With regards to the points you raised our Management Team will take follow up action for each appropriately to ensure we maintain consistency with our excellent services that is expected to ensure our guests a comfortable stay. I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced and for the inconvenience caused. On the positive side I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and I hope the incidents you encountered will not deter you from returning to visit us when you next travel to London.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention to your needs to have a memorable stay.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#378 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing