We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #472 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I booked two weeks in advance and got a standard twin for my nine year old daughter and I for £197 two nights with full breakfast. I was pleased. We got to the hotel at noon. Our room had been allocated but wasn't ready. I checked our light baggage and we headed off to Kensington High St tube. Under 20 mins to the West End with just one change. On your return, when you exit the ticket turnstiles, turn left and immediate left before Boots and there is an exit that leads to the service alley. There is a footpath that leads directly to the hotel without going all the way around the station building. Locally, Bill Wyman's Sticky Fingers is a 5 minute walk as is Kensington Palace. There is a Tesco Metro in the High St nearby in case you run out of tonic for your gin.
The hotel is dated from the outside but huge, modern and stylish in the lobby. All marble and brass. Very "chain" but well maintained. There are five lifts which are fast. Corridors are tasteful.
Our room (823) was newly renovated. Here are the pluses; comfy beds, good bedding, spare blankets and pillows, iron and board, mirrors, 40 inch flat Samsung tv, sockets near the bed to charge your phone (hooray! At last!). Loads of storage. Great shower, big towels, free bath stuff.
The minuses; loo flush temperamental, tap temperature can stick on hot (how???!!!), no safe (deposit boxes at Guest Services), air-con overly complicated, noisy and not that effective, minor noise on the back of the property from trains at the back even on the eighth floor,very poor room to room soundproofing. I could hear the neighbour's entire conversation one morning! Luckily it wasn't in English!
Breakfast was good. All the usual options plus sticky rice and noodles. Tables for two are FAR TOO CLOSE TOGETHER to the point of being uncomfortable. An older lady in a suit seated us in the Buggis St Chinese restaurant opposite the main room as it was busy. The table was awful. I asked to move and she muttered something about being busy. I said I wanted at least a modicum of privacy. She tried to shove us into the darkest depths of the main dining room where you needed to be a size six contortionist to reach the table. Eventually we were sat by the bar and still virtually on the laps of the people next to us. Coffee was plentiful but of average quality. Food was good, hot and well replenished except for the scrambled eggs which were e-number hell and appeared very artificial and sloppy.
I'm probably sounding a bit negative by now so let me re-assure you; if you can get this hotel for under £100 a night with breakfast then it is spotlessly clean, quite pleasing inside, comfortable and close to the tube. There are some minor issues.
When we checked out and checked our bags in for free to be collected that night. This was a big bonus. However, when we returned the Guest Services was unmanned. We stood in line as one if the doormen in a bowler hat served someone else then afterwards he just blanked us and went back outside. Just not good enough. Another manager served us but we had to stop him in passing and confusion reigned for a few minutes.
Please stay here. It is good but it is a chain and as such, some staff are excellent, others were having a bad day.
Would I go back? Yes. Definitely but only for under £100.

Room Tip: Get an even number. They face the forecourt and the hotel next door. The odds are at the back and ar...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FiveStarVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your detailed review. Your feedback is important as the points you raise both positive and negative is taken seriously and assists our Management Team to review each for appropriate action either by thanking and motivating our staff on good services provided or take action on the unsatisfactory services to review for future improvements. I also apologise for any inconveniences caused due to the minor lapse in our services as you mention during your stay and can assure you we will take action to rectify the situation so such incidents are not repeated in future.

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences and recommendations with other travellers to London that Copthorne Tara Hotel is a good choice hotel.

We trust you will be returning to us when you next travel to London and we look forward to hosting you again to make amends and restore your confidence on the concerns you have.

We extend a warm welcome to you to return soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,471)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,161 - 3,167 of 6,471 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed one night in a double club room.
Booked this hotel through Secret Escapes and feel that we received good value for money.
The hotel is situated just around the corner from High Street Kensington tube (about a 5 min walk). Its not the most attractive building from the outside, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised. Check-in was effortless and we were quickly directed to our room on the 10th floor. Our room, 1039 was spacious, for London, and clean as is the entire hotel. Room includes iron and board, hair dryer, desk, tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries in the bathroom.
As we had a club room we were entitled to a few extra perks - entry to the club lounge which allows you 24hr unlimited tea and coffee, and wine, beer and soft drinks between 6.30pm and 8.00pm and continental breakfast in the morning all free of charge. We found the staff to be very friendly, housekeeping said 'good morning', reception staff polite and efficient and the gentleman in the club lounge was very attentive.
The location was great for us as we were attnding the Royal Albert Hall, which is about a 15/20 min walk away, just along Kensington High Street, which houses many shops including a large M&S, very handy for grabbing a few picnic items for lunch in Kensington Gardens, which is just over the road.
All in all, a nice stay with a perfect location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Higher the better and facing the front of the hotel to avoid noise from tube, although we were rear...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

I am happy to see from your review the room allocated to you was satisfying to your needs, spacious, clean and comfortable. Thank you also for sharing your experiences in our Club lounge, especially your mention our staff provided excellent customer services and the location of the hotel suitable to your requirements to visit the Royal Albert Hall, good value for money all adding to a memorable experience for you to talk about positively. Your feedback is welcomed by all our Staff at the hotel with grateful thanks and they all look forward to hosting you here again soon.

We wish to welcome you back to assure you of our best attention to your needs for future stays.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place was named after the architect who designed this 70's looking monstrosity, Baroness Tara Pinkleton - Newtshizt back in the late 18th century, probably. And although the place does offend ones eyes at first glance, should you actually venture into the hostelry, a world of magical, wondrous and sensual treats will cascade apon your person like sweets being poured from the hands of the Gods, (Zeus, Hercules, Conan and that). By that I quite obviously mean it's in a great location (round Ken High St, ok ya?), staff well drilled and polite, room alright - clean unt komfortabel and expensive booze down in t'bar, like. Well done Baron von Tara (first fighter 'ace' in Crowells army), your missus done good, she didn't half design an alright hotel down London town way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieTheStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review with all TripAdvisor readers travelling to London on your perceptions of the Copthorne Tara Hotel following your recent stay.. I am pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and it seems you were happy with our services and facilities to make this a memorable one.

I so hope you will be visiting us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The interior photographs online look lovely but in reality our room was small and basic. Location is good and compared to most hotels in London it was affordable (though still bloody expensive for what it is.) Worst thing: the pillows are like bricks. The air con is also quite noisy but it was sweltering with it off - in April! Upshot: didn't sleep a wink.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry to see your stay was not to your expectation. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised that you were not satisfied with and will review and take action for future improvements and apologise for the inconvenience caused. I wish to mention we endeavour to provide the best services possible with every intention of pleasing all our guests and it seems we failed you in this instance.

I hope you will return so we can take the opportunity to make amends and assure you of our best attention to your needs so you leave the hotel feeling satisfied and happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for one night in mid April. Good priced (for Kensington!) deal via Booking.Com on a room only basis delivered just what we expected and wanted - a clean, we'll equipped twin on the 10th floor, which was very quiet. Decor etc what you expect from this type of hotel, and though not ultra modern state of the art, the beds were extremely comfortable, the room did not suffer traffic or other significant noise, the air con worked effectively and tea making facilities in the room. Ensuite fine with over bath shower. Check in and out fine. didn't take breakfast or use facilities, because that was the nature of our trip. If you want a brilliantly situated hotel in Kensington, this delivers what it says on the tin. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rwwminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

I am happy to read your review on your one night stay with special note you found your room clean and comfortable to your expectation, and that we delivered excellent services and facilities to your satisfaction to want to come back to stay again. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences and recommendations with TripAdvisor readers and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is rather good, a 6 mins walk from the train station. Expect room to be a lot older looking and bed is small as compared to the pictures online. However, the basic amendities are still pretty fine. 3 & 1/2 stars for me.

Thank iChu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. You will be happy to know we are currently working on in-house redecoration which is an ongoing project and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay as some rooms are still “in progress”. Your feedback is important as it assists us with this project for future improvements. However, I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back so we can show you the changes we have made so far and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The main positives of this hotel are its location, car park and its staff. They are friendly, helpful and attentive. Maria in particular is a lovely lady who has worked there for 30 years and she looks after you like a mother in the Breakfast lounge. Tea was 'topped up' andshe had a wonderfully warm manner. The location is close to a tube station and the beautiful boroughs of Kensington and Chelsea. The interior of the hotel is a little dated and our bed had seen much better days, there was a rip in the bed base and the bed came away from the wall easily and pillows hung over the end in the night, so we didn't have a particularly comfortable night.

One point which is concerning is the lack of security at the hotel. There is open access from Reception to the hotel lifts and bedroom corridors. A simple build of an extra wall with key access only to the lift area, would help guests to feel safer. As it is, anyone can walk in the hotel and get access to the bedroom corridors. We left our cases in the baggage store room, as we arrived too early for check in. when we returned to collect them, we just helped ourselves, and there was no system in place for checking that you were hotel guests and there was no paperwork issued to identify your luggage items. In central London, I would expect better security measures than this in a major hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your most valuable review following your recent stay. Feedback from our guests isvery important as this assists us to maintain our high standard of services and facilities that is expected. You will be happy to know we are currently working on in-house redecoration and the beds are on the project for replacing. Some rooms have already been replaced and it seems you may have been allocated to a room that is still “in progress.”

In terms of our security, security is taken seriously in the hotel, as we do have CCTV cameras covering areas in and around the hotel and 24/7 security staff on duty to ensure the safety of our guests and their belongings, and can proudly say without incident.

Our Management Team have taken note of each of your concerns to review and action for future improvements.

I apologise for any inconveniences you may have encountered with the concerns you mentioned and wish to take the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us so we can restore your confidence in our services.

Hope to see you here again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,072 in London
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,072 in London
2,140 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $123 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing