We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #469 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent room, good location”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in february 2013.

Check in went fine, even tho we where there a couple hours before check-in time. Thats a big plus, lady in the reception wasn't smiling or very friendly.

Room was around 25 degrees when we came into the room, and turned down the air condition. Didn't fix it so we had to get someone from maintenance to come fix it. Shower head fell of when I was showering, so didn't get a full shower before we went out on a really expensive restaurant.

Air condition then again didn't work after 2 days in the room and it got fixed again.

Service is good, club lounge has an okay light continental breakfast.

But I still believe that something could be done with the rooms so they can keep up the standard.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room, you will get an nice view if you are at the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read from your feedback that your room was not to your satisfaction. I have taken note of the points you raised and have forward to our Management Team for their review and action to be taken to ensure our rooms are more frequently checked and maintained to our expected high standard. I wish to also point out that we are currently working on in-house redecoration which is an ongoing process, and although it is our intention to please all our guests, I am sure you can understand the dilemma we have with this process slowing down during high occupancy levels.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future to give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and facilities we provide to our guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    2,494
    1,668
    544
    337
See reviews for
1,087
2,264
318
1,361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant time in London & this lovely hotel only made the experience more enjoyable!!! We were upgraded to a club room (thank you very much) & the room was lovely, spacious, spotless & had fantastic views of the City. The breakfast was also well worth having with a wide choice of food which would satisfy even the very fussy. The staff were very helpful too what more could you want & if all this wasn't enough the hotel was just around the corner from the tube station!! All in all a brilliant stay I will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kazSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback that you had a an enjoyable stay and all was to your satisfaction, which is well received by our Management and Staff with much appreciation. Your feedback is important as it motivates us to continue improving our services and facilities we provide our guests going forward.

Thank you for your recommendation to all travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Copthorne Tara is advertised as a 4* Hotel. Unfortunately the standard of the room did not meet my expectation of such a room. The double room was furnished in a semi-modern manner but there were many signs of wear and tear, including electric sockets broken open and several holes in the sideboard. The bathroom was similarly dishevelled.

We enjoyed our stay in London but found the Copthorne Tara to be overpriced and misadvertised.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback and sorry to read that you were disappointed with the room you were allocated. I have taken note of the concerns you pointed out and have notified our Management Team to follow up and take action to ensure we maintain our high standard of facilities and services so that such incidents are not repeated in the future. I wish to point out that we are currently working on in-house redecoration and your feedback assists our Management Team with this ongoing project to improve our services we provide our guests ongoing.

I hope you will return to the Copthorne Tara soon so that we can take the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services.

Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 1 night in March 2013. Found this hotel to be in an excellent location with great access to public transport. Check in is 3pm but friendly staff let us check in at 1.30 and the check out time of 12 noon was extremely welcome. It's really nice to get a late check out and not have to be up and out by 10am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and glad that we were able to provide an excellent service to ensure your comforts during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this with Superbreaks, got a great deal for our stay. Reception was spotless, check in was effortless. Our room was spotless too. l agree with some comments about the room being warm but still slept no problem. We had fresh linen and towels twice during a 5 day stay.

Breakfast was a huge choice of full English, fruit, ( not tinned) rolls, pastries, cereals and a steady supply of tea/ coffee, everything was hot and tasty.

We used Bugis restaurant one evening where the staff couldn't do enough for us, great food

All said this was a good bolthole for our wee jaunts to see the sights, and we found the location great for getting around. Make sure you buy an oyster card for public transport. well done Tara

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel is conveniently located, good value for money and all our facilities and services were beyond your satisfaction.

Our Management and Staff are motivated by your positive feedback to continue providing excellent services and facilities to our guests going forward.

We look forward to your next visit to the Copthorne Tara.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and was given a twin room had booked a double. Called reception, person was very unhelpful, sorry we're full, that's it. Asked to speak to the manager. Called back in 5 minutes by really helpful guy. Explained the problem and he said he would see what he could do. 5 minutes later a knock on the door and we were taken to a double room. It doesn't matter how big or how small, how expensive or cheap......a hotel is defined by the people it employs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob20042004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

I apologise for the confusion of room type and inconvenience caused when checking in. However, I am glad that our Manager responded positively to ensure your comforts for the duration of your stay. Your feedback is valuable as it assists our Management Team to take action to continue improving our services and facilities going forward so that such incidents are not repeated in future.

I trust you will return to Copthorne Tara on your next visit to London to give us the opportunity to assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel. It was clean and reasonably well-equipped for the price. It's in a good, convenient location, easy to travel to by Tube from major railway stations. Service is good. On this occasion I found that there were no towels in the room - I called reception and the matter was rectified within five minutes. The rooms are reasonably sized with a good bathroom and the hotel is quiet given its central location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is important for us to improve our services going forward.

Although our staff reacted quick with regards to the towels, I have communicated this to our Management Team for their follow up action to be taken with our staff to ensure such issues are not repeated in the future. I am pleased however this did not deter you from having an enjoyable stay and that all our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing