We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, but don't know if I would pay the normal rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #471 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to the Copthorne Tara during a weekend stay in London, with a great special offer of £79pn including breakfast. Whilst the room was a little dated, everything was perfectly clean and functional.

The breakfast offering the next day was absolutely fine, with very attentive staff keen to top up your coffee cup!

The hotel itself is well placed for West London attractions, and is only a stone's throw away from Kensington High Street Underground.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRJB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that we were able to live up to the standard of providing a high quality services and facilities during your recent stay and the Copthorne Tara and to ensure you have a memorable stay. Our Management and Staff appreciate your valuable feedback which motivates them to work harder to make further improvements to our services and facilities going forward.

I am sure we can look forward to you returning to the Copthotrne Tara, as you mention the hotel is conveniently located and good value for money suitable to your needs.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,415 - 4,421 of 6,777 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just a few minutes walk from Kensington High Street and tube station. Friendly and efficient reception and smart foyer. However, rooms tired and dated (stained and torn chairs, scratched furniture). Booked a superior double room, but bed was a small double. Average buffet breakfast, but nice touch with pot of tea each, extra teabag and refills of hot water. Again, very efficient and friendly service. Stayed here on a 'deal', could probably get something a lot smarter for the full price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithsuejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

I am happy to read that we were able to provide you with a friendly and efficient Customer service on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara, and also that you found the hotel conveniently located and good value for money suitable to your needs. It is always good to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay.

Our Management and staff appreciate your positive feedback, as they pride themselves in providing a high quality of services to our guests, and this motivates them to continue improving these services going forward.

With regards to your comments on the conditions of the room, I wish to advise that we are currently working on in-house redecoration and this project is ongoing. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay as we progress with this project. Your feedback is valuable and assists us with this ongoing project to improve our services and facilities we provide to our guest in future.

I do hope you will return to the Copthorne Tara in the not too distant future to give us the opportunity of showing off our improved services and facilities and to ensure you have a memorable stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had been looking forward to a mini break and taking in a show in London for some time and with hind sight should never have booked this place. It backs onto the underground and looks like a 60's council tenement block. The interior is better than the exterior but only just. We were checked in by a foreign speaking chap who didn't seem to have much of a grasp of the english language but it didn't waste too much of our time. The rooms are dated and the bathroom was a tad grubby. We ended up changing our room as the heating was broken and we didn't fancy freezing to death. Breakfast was good but a bit cold - surely it's not too much to ask to have an efficient food warming system? Drinks at the bar were horrendous; and I haven't quite worked out yet how it's cheaper to pay a £2 surcharge and have drinks delivered to your room cheaper than buying them at the bar! There seems to be a lack of commonsense by the duty manager as my other half was castigated for using an E-cigarette because of all things - the possibility of setting off a fire alarm - someone needs to educate him about the workings of an electronic (there's a clue there!) cigarette. All in all, I have stayed at some more comfortable B&B's and have been given a better standard of service at Premier Inns. Needs a kick up the backside if it wishes to portray itself as a 4 star establishment!b No hurry to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Check the heating works - apparantly any change in thermostat setting could take up to 20 minutes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for listing your concerns on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am disappointed that you felt your stay was not to your satisfaction and apologise for any inconvenience caused by any lapse in our customer services. Your feedback is valuable and assists us to improve our customer services ongoing.

In term of your negative interaction with our staff at check-in, and your comment on the lack of commonsense of the Duty Manager when commuincating with your other half, I do apologise for the unsatisfactory customer service you both experienced. I am happy you brought this incident to our attention to enable our Management Team to address and improve these services going forward. Please be advised we do take on new trainees from abroad to enhance their development for their future careers and to learn the English language at the same time, which you will find is normal practice around the country, and I am sure you may have experienced in other similar hotels. However, I wish to highlight that there is always a Senior Manager, Supervisor or Senior Receptionist who are fluent in the English language who are always present to assist them when any problems or miscommunication arises. We are aware there is room for improvement and we will action accordingly.

I also apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the faulty air con in your room and the unsatisfactory experience at breakfast. I am please to note that our Team acted immediately to move you to another room to ensure your comfort for the duration of your stay. Our Maintenance Manager has been informed and has assured that rooms are checked daily and is monitored to ensure air cons and other facilities are maintained in the rooms are kept in good working order so that such incidents are not repeated. With regard to your breakfast, I have notified our F&B Manager and his team to investigate and to ensure that in future, regular checks are conducted during breakfast and that all food is presented to the high quality standard and maintained.

We endeavour to provide our guests with high quality services and facilities with every intention of providing the best quality services for all our guests, and once more do apologise if we have not succeeded in your case.

Please do not let this deter you from returning to the hotel, and we wish to welcome both you and your partner back to give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and facilities. Should you require assistance with future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me direct and I will be happy to assist with your arrangements to your specific needs.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just off the main drag in Kensington, the Copthorne Tara is convenient as it's right next to the High Street Kensington tube station, but depending on the room, it can get a little noisy due to this!

The hotel has a large impressive foyer, and the rooms are pretty large and comfortable, if a little tired, but are very clean. The ancient 'air-con' in the rooms isn't great unfortunately, and doesn't do a good job of bringing the temperature down. Have a look around your room, you may find you have your own fridge - this is useful as there is a Tesco Metro a few minutes walk away and you can keep food/drink cold.

There is a pretty large (by London standards) carpark under the hotel. I've never eaten at the hotel, as there are many places to eat/drink on Kensington High Street. I always pick this hotel to stay in if I'm driving to London.

Room Tip: Don't use the hotels postcode if you're using SatNav or Maps on phone! use W8 5SY. You'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara. The points you have raised will certainly assist with our continuous efforts to improve our services and facilities we provide to our guests ongoing.

Our Management Team have taken note of your concerns with regards to the faulty air con to take action to conduct more regular checks to ensure this type of situation is not repeated. I apologise for the discomfort caused during your stay.

Thank you for the positive information you detailed to recommend to future travellers on the quality hotel facilities and services that you were satisfied with.

In terms of the information on locality of the hotel, please be advised the Copthorne Tara Hotel’s postcode is W8 5SR and is regularly used by our guests when travelling to the hotel, and complaints such as this is far a few between. Though this may have caused some frustration to yourself, unfortunately I cannot comment on the facilities used on Google maps.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms were just the same as when I stayed last time and that must be more than ten years ago. The fridge was noisy and I had to get an engineer to turn it off. Pity I could not get someone to turn off the circle line which runs next to the hotel. We were in an even numbered room last time we stayed and didnt hear it but this time in an odd numbered room it woke us very early in the morning. The rooms were clean and the shower excellent, the beds a bit firm for old bones. The very expensive bar had no atmosphere, more staff than customers and all set up for breakfasts. The finger plates on the corridor doors are very worn and look quite unsavoury even though they may be perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docjeffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

I wish to thank you for time you have taken to share your feedback. I am pleased to see our Engineer was quick on the mark to assist with your request in turning off the mini fridge in your room, that you found your room and corridors in good clean condition and enjoyed the excellent shower facilities. Please be advised that we are currently working on in-house redecoration in the hotel which is an ongoing project. Feedback such as yours is important as the points you raise assists us to take action to improve as we continually progress with this ongoing project.

We hope you will be returning to the Copthorne Tara soon and wish to extend a warm welcome back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is clean, staff friendly and helpful and in a great spot for Hyde park, Harrods, Royal Albert Hall and all the large museums. The foyer is 4* however the rooms are tired and dated and would be more on a 2* level. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well serviced. Was slightly bemused by the mini fridge as there was nothing in it! Useful though to bring in drinks from outside as you certainly couldn't afford to pay the astronomical bar prices. £4.75 for a bottle of water and £7.50 for a Baileys, be warned bring your own!
Our friends room was very hot and the aircon was inneffective making theirs a very uncomfortable nights sleep, however ours was fine. All in all not a bad place to stay although I have stayed in much better for the same money.

Room Tip: Higher floor and definitely an even numbered room. This makes sure you don't have to put up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, Pa to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest

I am so pleased to read that your stay with us was to your satisfaction, rooms are clean and well serviced, that the hotel is well located to all places of interest suitable to your needs, and Staff is friendly and helpful. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused through a faulty air con in your friend’s room. Had this been reported at the time to our Duty Manager, our Maintenance Team would have reacted immediately to rectify the situation to ensure your comforts in the room. Your feedback is taken seriously and I have noted this and forwarded to our Maintenance Manager, who assures me that checks are conducted daily and monitored to ensure such situations are not repeated in the future. In terms of your comment on the rooms seem to be dated, I wish to inform that we are currently in progress with in-house redecoration, and your feedback assists us with our ongoing project in improving our services and facilities we provide our guests going forward.

We hope you will choose Copthorne Tara when you next visit London so that we may take the opportunity of assuring you of our best attention during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes for 2013.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went to this hotel while attending a match. Good basic room. Expensive, but all London hotels are.
Breakfast was good. I have stayed here several times over the past forty years. Good location for Knightsbridge/ Kensington area of London.

Room Tip: There is a railway line behind hotel. Very noisy. Ask for a room on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara.

We are pleased that we were able to make your stay comfortable and that the facilities available in and around the area of the Tara hotel is conveniently located and all added to your memorable experience.

We trust you will be visiting again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Your sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,868 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#628 of 1,078 in London
1,336 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#341 of 1,078 in London
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing