We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club lounge very sparse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #463 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Club lounge very sparse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here during the first days of October.

I actually liked the room, it could use a makeover but it was clean and had a great view of the city.

A bathrobe and slippers was advertised as being included in the club room amenities, but not found in the room, only an empty hanger in the bathroom indicated that it was missing.

As we were staying in a club room, we had access to the club lounge, but especially at night it was disappointing. Only free beer and wine for 2 hours and come crisp poured in plates from the bag.
When we stay at places like Marriott they often offer food and drinks at all hours and a much more upscale experience.
The breakfast was ok, and had plenty of choices for a continental breakfast.

The hotel is huge, but had 5 elevators so a big plus was the fact that we seldom had to wait very long for an elevator to arrive.

All in all – do not expect a four star experience. Expect 3½ stars at the most, and you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I have taken note of your points you raised and communicated to our Management Team to look into making improvements wherever appropriate.

We look forward to every opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    2,454
    1,637
    540
    330
See reviews for
1,061
2,229
311
1,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muğla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good hotel. Good services but foods were not so good. I had great two days. Rooms were clean but a bit dark. Lits were randomly busy but fast. Good reception desk and brilliant lobby. Thanks to all Copthorne Tara Hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gulsah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our services excellent.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this property with excellent location, which is a cul-de-sac from the main busy High Street Kensington. We have 2 rooms - one facing the subway track, the other facing the back of a residential building in front of the hotel. The room facing the subway track is well insulated from the noise of the passing trains.

As mentioned by many reviewers, the rooms are large but outdated and fraying in many places. Strange that the shower hose is attached to the pole and cannot be detached to use in the hand when washing up. However, considering the cost we paid, what we had is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddot-conquersworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking a moment to post your comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to be good value for money and conveniently located. I would like to assure you that we are aware that some of our rooms appear dated, and we are working on in house redecoration of our standard bedrooms.

We trust you will be returning soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good location by subway, restaurants, cafes and shops, close to the gardens Kzington. Majority of the staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms are relatively large., But .... design outdated, terrible bathroom - walls covered with Formica [like a stone] - no hygiene. Shower hose attached to the ring so you can not bathe freely.Mold around the bathtub faucet area. services sprinklers with low water pressure, when it seems they are going to become clogged all time. gap between door and frame so that all dialoga qr all operation sound in the hall ..
It looked like something from the seventies, early eighties. Need to renew urgently. Stay away if comfort and aesthetics are important. The hotel is four star level! Did not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronit1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with interior of the hotel and I have noted the points you have raised with the conditions in your room and forwarded same to our Management Team to take action so that these problems do not occur going forward.

I wish to inform you that we are currently working on in-house redecoration and we are endeavouring to provide our guests with a high standard of service and facilities as we possibly can. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to constantly better our products and services.

I do note however that you were positive with regards to the location of the hotel, room size and that our staff provided good customer service to compliment your stay to be a pleasant one.

I hope you will visit us again to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence, and look forward to welcoming back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location! Hotel a bit shabby and especially rooms and hallways need to be refurbished. Staff pleasant. Breakfast quite good. Happy to pay extra pounds if hotel upgrades, but would not return until they do. Would rate it a 3 and 1/2 out of 5

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportBch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is important as our in-house redecorations continue ongoing to improve our services and facilities going forward.

We hope you will reconsider visiting us when you next visit London to give us the opportunity to provide an excellent service and you can be assured you will have have a pleasant stay.

We look forward to your welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Kensington. Handy for the underground and all of central London. However the whole place is becoming shabby and in serious need of an update.
This relates to the rooms as well which we're very disappointing.
If this were a budget hotel you could understand it but if you are paying more than £60 a night then this hotel is not good value.
The breakfast was also a little basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for you comments. We are aware that some of our rooms appear dated and we continue to monitor guest feedback whilst our in house redecorations continue. I trust that you found your room to be both clean and comfortable as we always guarantee we provide our guests with the best services and facilities possible.

We are a very popular four star hotel in the heart of Kensington and we aim to provide an exceptional guest experience. Please be assured that I have noted your comments for our Management Team to review and to take action to improve our facilities and services going forward.

I wish to welcome you back when you next visit London

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

As with others rooms a bit dated but clean and room ,bathroom where good.Stayed 2 nights and did not eat there , plenty places near by.Great location for museums,bus and tube into central London.We would stay again if the price was right

Room Tip: Buy a Oyster card for bus .tube travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to read that we provided good services for you to have an enjoyable stay and that the location of the hotel was convenient to your needs.

We trust you will be returning in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing