We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great, location OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #674 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hotel great, location OK”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton Olympia several times as it is often the best priced Hilton in London. Overall it's pretty good; friendly staff, nice exec lounge, reasonable food, gym etc. Rooms onto the main road can be a bit noisy but rooms onto the back are delightfully quiet. The only real issue is transport links into central London. It is right next to a train / tube station but tubes only run to Kensington Olympia on the weekends so late night coming back from the theatre I had to catch a tube to Earls Court and then a 20 min walk. It won't kill me but worth bearing in mind. If planning lots of trips into Central London I would suggest the sister hotel, hilton Kensington, about 1 mile North but next to Shepherds Bush station (central line).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Claude K,

It is always great to read that our guests return regularly to the Hotel and that we are able to meet your expectations.

The team is at hand to ensure that our guests get the best possible advice with regards to travelling in and around London as transport in London can be a bit complex at times.

If I may suggest a few travel options for your next visit, the number 9/10/27 busses stop outside the Hotel and these will take you to High Street Kensington and on to the District and Circle Lines. A few stops along is Knightsbridge for the Piccadilly line, this should reduce the 20 minute walk.

If you do enjoy the night life in the West end the N9 bus departs from Trafalgar Square and stops outside the Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    807
    742
    344
    214
See reviews for
326
686
141
947
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights as I was working at the Olympia complex. I've stayed here many times before and was pleased to see that the hotel communal areas had been refurbished since my last visit as had the bedroom I had. The refurb was clearly just cosmetic: there were a couple of small things which added up to a disappointing stay:
- room was large but overly noisy from noise outside the window/room
- shower stopped working at 7.30am for a good half hour as no hot water
- lighting in the restaurant at breakfast kept flickering on and off for all three mornings
- BBC channels on the TV just did not work

Overall I was just disapointed that a hotel chain with the Hilton brand wasn't better. I wouldn't have paid more than I did for it, and would have been more vocal at the time had it been a personal stay.

I would stay again, but only because of it's proximity to where I was working.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up in the hotel, and try and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear PhillGray,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with Hilton London Olympia and Sincere apologies that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

The team and I discuses all feedback weekly to ensure that the where possible problems are immediately rectified when they our reported by our guests.

We have experienced some Television reception problems due to the Building works across the road and we are monitoring the Lighting in the restaurant to address the flickering of lights you reported.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again and that your next stay will be an enjoyable one

Kind Regards
Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester .UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked the Hotel for a meet up with my relations, and I was delayed. Had booked the Hotel in both our names(very lucky, and best to do so, in case one is late)I rang the hotel to advise them , this and said it was her birthday, and I would be a couple of hours late, It turns out ,she was early, not only did they give an early check in, but the Hilton Olympia, placed wine , fruit,and a card in our room. They also upgraded the room, and let my her go in executive room. Staff were excellent from check in to check out, breakfast was first class. many thanks craig.ps in fact we enjoyed it that much,and was that pleased re booked for later inJuly, even though we could have got a cheaper deal elsewhere.

Room Tip: call before checking in, the staff will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear dadtripper,

The team and I were delighted that you stayed with us during your Birthday Celebrations

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the team their attitude and helpfulness.

We look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards

Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A Hilton hotel should offer an agreeable standard of accommodation - after all, that is the perception of the brand. And whilst this Olympia, London hotel is decently presented and very clean, the standard of the rooms and sleep quality is unfortunately very disappointing.

The online booking system worked well and all my details were as expected at reception on check-in. However none of the staff were aware at all that Hilton were currently running a special room-upgrade offer, and it took a demonstration on my iPad plus a fifteen minute chat with management to convince them to upgrade my standard double to an executive. In truth, the staff were very pleasant and agreeable and it appears to be more a communication error from Hilton head office to the hotel itself.

Nevertheless, it wasn't the ideal start to an overnight stay, and the problem was compounded more by the fact the first room I was given had one of the worst condition beds I have ever seen. The springs were coming virtually through the mattress top and in no way was I going to be able to sleep. Fortunately the reception acted quickly to offer a room change and the second was indeed more comfortable. Bathroom quality was very good, and far superior to the quite drab state of the room itself (on the 7th floor, for reference).

However, and as noted in previous reviews, the new room faced the street and although all the windows were shut tightly, I could hear every single noise from outside. In fact, it was so loud that I might have had the window open, given that I could listen to a conversation from people walking past seven floors below. And don't get me started on the traffic noise!

The room service menu at night time is very limited and I know of other hotels of similar price levels that offer a full 24hour room service menu. Wifi is available in the public lobby area, but is a horrifically expensive £15 per night in the room!!

Breakfast (for £13) was surprisingly good with a pretty decent cold buffet and a good selection of the traditional cooked English breakfast. Service from the staff was efficient and polite.

So to summarise -

- £135 per night including taxes (midweek stay) for a standard double room (free upgrade to an 'executive' room, though in truth nothing 'executive' about it at all)
- Good staff who did their best to rectify the issues I had
- Decent communal facilities
- In-room facilities a good couple of years past their upgrade date.
- But worst of all is the noise, and I simply can't deal with this again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieHumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear StevieHumpy,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor feedback after your recent stay with us.
Although I am pleased that the team dealt with you Service issue promptly and moved you to a different room and that you found the Breakfast and Service satisfactory I apologise for the noise that you experienced and that this disrupted your sleep.

We are located on Kensington High Street and at times Traffic volume has seen an increase late at night and early morning depending on the day of the week.

Should you choose to stay with us again please do let the reception team know your room preference is at the back of the Hotel.

Best Regards

Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
422 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was allocated an outside room with a street view. I thought this would be a good thing. I was very wrong. The room allocated was apparently a double room. I though this would mean I'd have a bit of space. I was very, very wrong. It's a Hilton which normally means I'll get a good night's sleep. I couldn't be more wrong.
The window didn't close properly, so 24 hour London streamed into the bedroom. The heater/cooler system had a faulty thermostat which, even though turned off, still started up during the night to keep you awake. If that wasn't enough, a rock hard bed added to the discomfort. The first night I got no more than 3 hours sleep, which was a disaster for me given I was presenting the next day. I did ask for the thermostat to be disconnected. This hadn't happened by 6pm the next evening so I called down again. This time a maintenance man came to disconnect the system. He seemed very proficient at it, which would indicate its a common request.
This was the worst hotel stay I've had for more than 5 years, largely because the primary purpose of a hotel is to get some sleep.
Was there anything good? Superb shower pressure. Had a great shower to revive my sleep deprived body.
No, I shall not ever be staying here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the inside, not overlooking the street. It might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear stevejnb

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with the Hilton London Olympia.
It is regretful to know that as a guest you had several unresolved problems. I apologise for the delay in rectify the problems you reported and sincere hope that your presentation the next day went well for you

Please do let the reception team know your room preference is at the back of the Hotel when you return to London should you stay with us.

Best Regards

Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights in Feb., for an anniversary treat.
Really reccomend the rooms and location for the price(we paid 80 per night as a special weekend rate).
Room and bed were really comfortable and a good size for London, close to public transport.
Staff were great.
If you were to be picky you could say there was some noise in room form street outside.
As mention exceeded expectations and when/if we ever visit London again we will definitely be staying here .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan S, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CBates,

We are always delighted when guests stay with us for a special occasion and trust that you had a great time and that the team made your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Riaan Stiglingh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
258 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is the hotel of choice when something's going on at Olympia. Nice, courteous reception at front desk; even got a call in my room to check if everything was alright - first time ever this happened to me! As a HHonors member, I got an upgraded room and access to the Executive Lounge, which is small, but not very busy at the times I was there. Couple of restaurants at walking idstance, but tube a bit far away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchtraveller228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#504 of 1,067 in London
4,105 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#578 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#444 of 1,067 in London
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#64 of 1,067 in London
505 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#415 of 1,067 in London
3,639 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Property: Hilton London Olympia
Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#375 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel
Hilton London Olympia England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing