We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #692 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Shared a triple - this was two singles and a roll-out in a small room. The bed was OK for a child but not an adult. Had to ask for additional cups, glasses, pillows, milk - staff not exactly proactive in this regard. The breakfast included in our tariff was excellent. Location is good with buses the closest public transport. The nearest tube - High St Kensington - is a good 15 mins walk. There is free wifi in the public areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groundling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review.
I was disappointed to hear that we seemed to have dropped the ball in regard to the service your received in missing towels, cups, toiletries, etc.. for the third person in your room. I only wish you had mentioned something during your stay as I know my team would have rectified anything immediately. Please be assured that I have already spoken with the Housekeeping and Reception Managers to ensure this does not happen again.
In regard to the sofabed provided in your room as an extra bed, you are correct in that this type of bed is more suitable for a child. We inform all travel agents that we do not have triple rooms as a standard here at the Hilton London Olympia, and unfortunately providing a sofa bed is the only solution we have is an additional room has not been purchased.
I was however very happy to hear that you found our breakfast buffet and location to your satisfaction. Happy travelling!
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 2,639 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed for 8 days here and got a nice comfortable bed and a great free breakfast (though I am a Hilton Gold, so that might not apply to you) every day. However, the hotel made me wish I was richer and could have stayed somewhere else. I'll try to concisely talk about why.

The first and most important drawback about the hotel is the location. While Kensington High Street is a very nice street with some lovely restaurants, the hotel is too far east on the street. You're somewhat close to various tube stations, but High Street Kensington is a 15 minute walk, Earls Court and Barons Court are about 20, West Kensington's maybe a little more, etc. The Olympia stop is very close, but its service is so limited that we barely used it. And even once you get to your underground stop, you're so far west of the city center that getting anywhere takes a while. I feel we probably lost about an hour a day, bare minimum, just from our location.

My second problem was that the internet in my room never worked, necessitating sitting in the hotel restaurant with wireless internet cards which sometimes didn't work. While I appreciated that the hotel provided something of a solution to the non-functioning wired internet, the staff was not particularly nice about it and it wasn't the best situation for me.

So while I paid less than 100 pounds per night for my room, and thus was expecting a bit less than I would have from the Hilton Paddington, I feel that if I return to London I won't be staying here again, even if they've solved their internet problem by now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your concise review following your recent stay at the Hilton London Olympia. All comments about our hotel, both good & not so good are invaluable to us.
I am sorry you felt your experience was not as good as you hoped. In response to the location of the hotel, we always do recommend that travellers research the location their hotel in advance of booking dependant upon their reason for visiting London. We are perfectly situation in West London for the Olympia and Earls Courts Convention Centre, as well as Westfield and Kensington High Street for shopping. However, unfortunately i am unablt to amend our locationin respect to the local underground train stations.
I will endeavour to look into the internet issue you highlighted. This system is provided by BTOpenzone and whenever a guest experiences an issues we do put them in touch with a qualified BT technician to assist them where possible. I am pleased to say that the majority of our guests do have a positive internet connection and speed experience.
I was delighted to note that you did seem to enjoy your overall stay at the hotel, and in particular our breakfast buffet and the benefits of being a Gold HHonors loyalty programme member.
Once again, thank you for your input and happy travelling.
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We enjoyed a nice stay in the Hilton Olympia. The room was immaculately decorated and spacious-it has recently been renovated. Great location for nearby attractions

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room as I believe some are still as they were, which when I read existing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah17484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton London Olympia. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.
I hope that we may get the opportunity to be of service again on a future visit to West London.
Happy travelling!
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

the hotel is very convenient if you are working at Olypmia.

The rooms are small and not the best of decor (quite outdated and somewhat tired).

The hotel itself from the outside looks very run-down, but inside they have made an effort to refurb although its not amazing.

an okay stay, but would probably look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAXUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for sharing the way you perceive the Hilton London Olympia. There is not a lot I can offer in way of a response to your opinion, apart from to say that we are very proud of the recent refurbishment of the hotel and everyone here trys their very best to deliver great service at all times.
Happy travelling!
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have used the Kensington Hilton several times and think it offers great value for the location which can be quite pricey for hotels.
The location is great for seeing the sights of tourist London. It is located in West Kensington on the High Street.

Bus #9 has a stop a very short walk from the hotel and will take you to Trafalgar Square, passing Hyde Park.
Bus#27, at the same stop, will take you to Paddington Station.
www.tfl.gov.uk has the detailed schedules.

The tube is slightly less convenient but still available with a 10 minute walk.

Finally, a new option is the public bicycle rental. Using a credit card, you can rent a bicycle, returning it to any bike kiosk in the city. Inexpensive and located in most common areas, I'll be doing this next time. The bikes are casual comfort bicycles and there is a kiosk located across the street from the hotel.

It is not one of the nicest Hilton hotels and the exterior and lobby aren't impressive however the staff is friendly and the rooms are fine. It is well insulated and I haven't found the road noise to be an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton London Olympia.
I was delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay, and found the team to be helpful and friendly.
I hope that we may get the opportunity to be of service again on a future visit to West London.
Happy travelling and all the best,
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

They wanted £15 per day for wifi, and only gave 1 hour per day free in the bar/reception area. Other than that an ok hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerryps80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent visit to the Hilton London Olympia.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel. However, I noted your comment in regard to the bedroom internet charge of £14.99, and wanted to inform you that we provide complimentary internet access with increased bandwidth in the bedrooms to our Hilton HHonors loyalty programme Gold and Diamond members, and also those guests who purchase an upgraded room type. There is complimentary internet access available to all our guests in the hotel's public areas, bar and restaurant. The charge is for increased bandwidth within the bedrooms. Unfortunately, within many hotels and establishments within the UK, internet access is still a chargeable service as the cost of providing this is still prohibitive.
With thanks once again and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton London Olympia in the very near future.
Happy travelling! Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

As a Hilton, I had been expecting more. Our room was so small that only one of our suitcases fitted in! We were then moved to a slightly larger room where the second suitcase could come into the room. After going up in the lift to the third floor, what did we find but stairs! Not good for lugging a Suitcase with a knee injury. The carpet, decor and overall ambience is of one tired place. The corridors are narrow and dim, the bathroom tiny. The breakfast was quite good, Andy wifi is only availbe free at one end of the downstairs foyer. Staff were reasonably helpful. We found the number 9 bus that went from nearby was very convenient. The buses were every two minutes or thereabouts and you could go right into trafalgar square or just down to Kensington high st to get the tube. The hotel has a car which can be a good alternative to a taxi to the airport. I wouldn't be staying here again...it was depressing and a bit blah.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review. All comments about our hotel, good & not so good are invaluable to us. Without feedback we are weaker in our quest to provide consistent excellent hospitality, care & service.
I am sorry you felt your experience was not as good as you hoped. My team are aware of your comments and will do our best in beating your expectations in the future. I hope we have that pleasure.
The Hilton London Olympia has been in operation since 1967 and is an old building. This unfortunately does lend to an oddly laid-out building structure where many of our rooms are all different sizes and shapes, and we do have the odd corridor which has stairs due to the different levels across the building. I would love to remove these features, however the structure of the building is not something that I can alter.
I was glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet in the Society restaurant.
Once again, thank you for your input and happy travelling.
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#519 of 1,076 in London
4,308 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#490 of 1,076 in London
379 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#613 of 1,076 in London
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#69 of 1,076 in London
526 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#421 of 1,076 in London
3,812 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $130 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel
Hilton London Olympia England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing