We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #528 of 1,068 Hotels in London
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed March 24, 2007

I have just got back from staying in London for a weekend break at The Millenium Glouster.I must say this was a very nice hotel indeed, Rooms were big and the bed was HUGE....superb location and a 2 minuite walk to the tube. Hotel reception was fast. Room service was very Slow, and we had to call twice before we got what we requested.
The breakfast in the morning was very poor, no baked beans!
How ever the hotel is very clean nice deco, everyone is friendly i was reccomend this to anyone. Over all we had a great stay here and would return to this stylish 4* hotel......

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Geelisaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    1,708
    861
    384
    193
See reviews for
741
1,503
253
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

My wife and I returned from London having stayed at the Millennium Gloucester for a week. This is an excellent hotel with excellent staff. Staff are often waiting in the lobby asking guests if they need anything. For instance, on one occasion, I was asked twice on the way to the elevator if I needed any assistance with anything. Several minor issues were solved immediately (e.g., room change, small repair, etc.). The concierge was helpful as were all of the staff who worked in the breakfast area. After having read some of the reviews in TripAdvisor, I did have concerns initially, but everything turned out very well; in fact, I'd say everything was handled extremely well by the hotel. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — A rather isolated room in the hotel, but after requesting a change, another room was provided. Very happy with second room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlDn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I booked a trip to London, England for my 18 year old daughter and I as a treat for her spring break from college and for us to have some "Girl Time" together. The Millenium Gloucester was perfect for what we needed, which was, basically, a centrally located place to sleep. When we arrived, we were asigned a "double"room which was quite large BUT consisted of two twin beds with scratchy acryiic blankets. Having not slept in a twin bed since college, some 25 years ago, I asked for a room with larger beds. I was given a lovely "redone" room with a king size bed with a down comforter, a little smaller but very comfortable. The room smelled of cigarette smoke but I dealt with it. Like I said, we were only there to sleep. The hotel is located right by the Gloucester Rd tube, very convenient. The lobby was fairly nice, the doormen attentive. The evening conceirge was helpful and pleasant. The daytime conceirge, however, was so unbelievably rude and obnoxious! The front desk help was courteous and efficient. All in all, I think it was a farily good value for the money I paid, which wasn't very much.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rudeness of the daytime conceirge
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

I spent five nights at the Millenium Gloucester in February. As has been noted, the hotel is in a safe, fairly convenient location right next to the Gloucester Road tube stop. The immediate area is filled with food stores and restaurants. That being said, this is not really the neighborhood where visitors to London would want to spend their holiday, so be prepared for some time on the tube. If you are looking for a nearby shopping area, Kensington High Street is only a short ride away on the #49 bus (stops right in front of the tube station).

My experience at this hotel was positive overall. The lobby is quite nice, and the my 4th floor king room was clean, spacious and appeared to have been refurbished. The only problems I encountered were with erroneous mini bar charges and a broken door lock. It did take two requests to resolve each issue. Breakfast was just an ordinary buffet, though the service was quick and friendly. The bar was often busy and always expensive. I booked this hotel for about $120. @ night through BA Holidays. One can't complain too much about a generally pleasant 4* hotel in London for that price.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank traveluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

Stayed at this hotel on business in February. I couldnt fault it at all. The rooms are very large and have a separate dressing area. Beds are 6ft wide and very comfy. Breakfasts are a combination of English, Continental or Oriental. The hotel is situated next door to Gloucester Road tube station and the sister hotel Millennium Baileys. I would say that the bar at the Baileys is nicer and more comfortable than the Gloucester. Definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chillipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in the hotel for four nights and I can only describe our stay as excellent.

We booked four months in advance on the hotel's website and we got an extremely competitive rate for a hotel of this standard and location.

Continental breakfast was included which was very good with a nice selection and first class service.

The appearance and the decor of the hotel is of a high standard and is very clean in all areas.

We arrived at midday and I requested a renovated room which we were given which was of excellent standard and of an adequate size.

The £20 of vouchers that we were given came in very handy and we ended up eating for free on the final night in the Bugis Street Cafe adjoining the hotel which serves very good Singaporian food.

The location of the hotel is second to none being right next to Gloucester Road tube station and Central London is only five tube stops away.

Staff were pleasant and helpful at all times and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — It was all good.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary last weekend in the Millenium Gloucester hotel and we had a fab time! The hotel is very central and a 20 second walk from the Gloucester Road tube station. We flew into Stansted and discovered that the Stansted Express Train was out of service due to maintanence so we hopped on the National Express bus (£18 RTN/ADULT). It was meant to take 90 mins but we arrived at Victoria tube station in an hour. As we didnt know where exactly our hotel was located, we grabbed a taxi which set us back £16. I would recommend taking the tube from Victoria to Gloucester Rd (3 stops and much cheaper!). When we arrived at the hotel, we were really impressed. The lobby is fab and the atmosphere made us feel very important and posh! As we went up to our room, the excitement was mounting. We had really high hopes. I opened the door...and my jaw dropped. I felt like I had walked into an old folks home. The room was musty, dark and very very dated. I was horrified. I immediately went downstairs to reception and explained that this wasnt what I was expecting for the price I paid. Thankfully, I spoke with a lovely lady who offered me a choice of 2 rooms. I chose the Club Room (obviously as its a great upgrade) and when I walked into the room I nearly passed out. It was FAB! Exactly what I had dreamed and after she left I proceeded to take lots of pics and videos to make family and friends jealous! The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious with a wide range of food to choose from. The dining room is gorgeous. I would recommend the Steak House around the corner - the Blue Door Steak House - my boyfriend and I agreed it was the best dinner we've ever had. Very romantic, yet lively. Reasonably priced (2 starters, 2 mains (steaks), 1 dessert, 1 glass of wine, 1 beer for £60). The next day we did the normal touristy things - we took the Big Bus Tour which was £20 each for 48 hours.It was really good but I would recommend taking the original tour bus as its exactly the same but only £18. Both include a boat sightseeing tour which is really good and shows you alot more of the city than possible by bus. One mistake we made was buying a tube all day pass (£5.50) which we didnt need except for going into and returning from the city. It just wasnt worth it. Do not get off at Leicester Square if you dont like high escalators or are unable to use them - theres no lift-i asked! Best to get off at Convent Garden as there are wheelchair facilities there and its only a 6 min walk to Leicester Sq from there. We had a wonderful weekend and I would definitely go back. Problems: no swimming pool; the concierge seemed to be constantly hungover and was really unhelpful; the duvet was really thin so we had to request more blankets; the cleaning lady didnt remove the rubbish from our room; the hairdryer is attached to the wall in the bedroom where there are no mirrors :-(

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,068 in London
629 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,695 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#351 of 1,068 in London
2,058 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Property: Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Address: 4 - 18 Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Romantic Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Gloucester London
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing