We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Follow advice on other postings about rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #492 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Follow advice on other postings about rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Despite reserving 2 months in advance, I was allocated a room on the 1st floor next to the conference rooms. Having stayed here before, I was disappointed by the quality of the furnishings. It looked as though the room had been partly refurbished. Good quality bed but the wardrobe and bathroom looked old and tired with paint peeling off the ceiling and discoloured grouting around the bathtub and sink. Half an hour after checking in another guest tried to get into the room - they had been allocated the same room. No tea or coffee facilities in the room and the minibar was empty - is that usual in this grade of hotel? After breakfast I was unable to get back into the room and had to schlep down to Reception to have the card reprogrammed with no apology for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGrey107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    1,643
    815
    362
    172
See reviews for
703
1,447
241
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed in London many times. My PA booked this since it was so close to the Tube (Gloucester) since I had appointments all over Central London, and it was an excellent choice. It was a great value for the location. Gloucester station gives access to three different lines (Picadilly, District, Circle) and made it so easy to get everywhere. The area is very safe and I felt comfortable walking as a single woman, after sundown.The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge desk. On the flight over from the US, a well cushioned bottle of red wine broke and leaked all over my clothes (suitcase got a large dent from the airline- yikes!). I was surprised that the hotel didn't have dry cleaning service. But the front desk told me about a dry cleaners that she used personally, about a half block away in the Tube station and they were great. I have to agree with other reviews that the maid service was less than spectacular. There was a LOT of dust on the furniture, though one day out of the 7, it appeared to be dusted adequately. I know that Management is looking into this and taking it seriously. One other complaint: it was not possible to control the temperature of the room. It was chilly sometimes and warm other times (never too hot). Having said all that, if I can get the same price for the room, I will stay there again because of the location and service. The restaurants associated with the hotel are outstanding. Bugis Street is Asian/Chinese/Singapore restaurant is delicious and the food is very fresh. Olive's (Italian)is around the corner and we ate there three times. Their fixed price menu is wonderful- all of the food is very fresh and there are many choices, about 45 pounds for three courses and wine for two people- not cheap but outstanding value. The food all tastes home made- try the Bruschetta with lots of fresh tomatoes on top. Yum!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBicrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

whatsupnext has described it well from our experience. The service was friendly and kind, rooms large for London, the location excellent. Cleanliness was ok. Nice selection of toiletries in our room. TV choice of channels was pretty good for us and desk nice for relaxing in the evening being foot weary by then. Street noise was not bad despite it's location, at least from our room.

Negatives include: lack of sound proofing between rooms (could hear pretty well between rooms even down to what others were saying), smoke drifting into our room one night, housekeeping forgot a thing or two (removing trash (uk=rubbish) one day) but otherwise good, room unrenovated so curtain came off and some spots a little worse for wear. We got breakfast with our room and we would not recommend paying for it. It is a large buffet, but it looks a little tired at times, maybe not the freshest? Breakfast room staff were wonderful, cleaning up continuously and making sure we were happy. Beds were soft and saggy, not our taste. Lighting rather poor including the bathroom. We noticed a woman putting on makeup in another room at the window (for sunlight) and we could understand why.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

The really good thing about the hotel is it’s location, the size of the rooms (especially in comparism to other shoebox size rooms in London) and the concierge service and friendlyness. The rooms are your standard 5* equiped rooms. We had a club room and access to the club lounge in which breakfast was served. After 4 days exactly the same small buffet we decided to go to a coffee shop for breakfast instead. The staff at check in were not as friendly as concerge and club louge, the staff in the club lounge were friendly but not really up to 5* service. What the hotel really has to improve is the houskeeping, our room was just not clean and even though we mentioned this to the reception it did not get any cleaner. When we checked in there were blood stains on the shower curtain, it was removed promptly but that should not happen in the first place. Next time in London I will try something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatsupnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We recently enjoyed a three night stay here. Having stayed at most of the so called top London hotels and paying their hefty prices for poor service et al l decided enough is enough and got a deal here for £78 a night.
Rather than just rant on l would like to give folks a feel for the place and the locality.

The Hotel.
Booked on line and had email two days before arrival confirming all was in order and they were looking forward to welcoming us.
Arrived and warmly welcomed by the lovely doormen who bent over backwards throughout our stay to ensure we were happy and looked after with luggage, cabs etc.
Check in was fast, efficient and friendly. In less than ten minutes we were in our room to find our luggage already waiting.
I was offered the wifi package, normally £20 for 24 hours, but got it for half price which is good for London.
The room was a good size with super king bed, coffee table and two chairs, a desk and console with television......and tea/coffee making facilities together with a fridge....brilliant.
Bathroom was in all honesty small, bur more than adequate for us with plenty of the usual bits and pieces.
Good size wardrobe with iron and board and in room safe.
We didn't eat here, but had a drink in the bar one evening and found it fine with excellent service.
Check out was as efficient as check in. There was a small queue when l went with only one receptionist but within seconds four more appeared and we were all dealt with very quickly.

The Locality.
Just off Gloucester Road and a quick hop to the tube station. Within a short walk from the hotel there are plenty of places to eat. Chinese, Indian and European. Fast food includes KFC and BurgerKing, Starbucks and Pret a Manger, also fish and chips and a steak house.
We also saw two pubs both serving food.

Tesco Express and Waitrose are very handy for stocking the in room fridge up and staff at both stores are very helpful and friendly.
In the Gloucester Rd arcade there is a Garfunkels, a nail bar, hair salon, small deli and Boots the chemist....oh and a florist!
Just next to the hotel is a twenty four hour casino.

Kensington High Street and Knightsbridge are a short journey away via tube or cab....as is the Royal Albert Hall and Natural History Museum.
Just as a guide, a cab to the hotel from Kings Cross Station cost us £20 including tip.

A lovely hotel that ticked all the boxes.....we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again....oh and for the smokers amongst you...they do have smoking rooms but only on request at check in.

We really enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TEEMILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Having stayed in many central London hotels my husband I found the service and accommodation here to be exceptionally good and we will definitely make it our hotel of choice in future. The staff were very efficient and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The range of international restaurants provided a choice of cuisine and the hotel buffet breakfast was extremely good. Our room was spacious, clean and well furnished (a complementary upgrade to a Club Class room was much appreciated). The hotel is centrally located and makes an excellent base especially for Knightsbridge and Kensington. Highly recommended.
Rachael L

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royandrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We picked this location for proximity to the tube, walking distance to museums, west end and shopping at Harrods. Rooms were immaculate: we did not hear hardly any noise and were kept clean by housekeeping staff. Supermarkets and food establishments literally seconds away. Staff were professional, friendly and keen to help with any directions etc..

If you are in the south kensington area, check out the Replay Factory Outlet. If you are going to the British Museum, head there early as there are sometimes large queues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabloboltonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#378 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Property: Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Address: 4 - 18 Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Romantic Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
#323 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Gloucester London
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing