We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed at the Kensington Royal Garden Hotel mid January 2011 with my partner and found the hotel be be great. Check in was fast and straight forward and the staff very friendly and approachable. The room was on the 7th Floor and was not overlooking the High Street which was great. The room was big and spacious for a London Hotel , big bed and the bathroom was also spacious with both seperate bath and shower. Having been to another 5 star london hotel recently this was far superior. yes it is a little on the pricey side but well worth it and would happily return again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_g81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,033
    761
    202
    81
    49
See reviews for
669
1,055
205
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The management of this hotel looks after the big spenders but if you're just one couple, as my wife and I were on a stay last July, you're toast. We were woken at about 5 a.m. on our first night by loud music, talk and laughter from the room next door. Three calls to the front desk brought no visible action or audible change. No staff appeared. The noise continued. Later, when I complained in person, I was told that if we wanted a quieter room, we would have to repack and move, as the noise makers were part of a large party who had booked several rooms near ours. So the troublemakers, who apparently had been nightclubbing until the wee hours and decided to continue in the room next to ours, got to stay and we had to trouble to make the move. When I wrote to complain in detail on the guest survey card, I received not a peep of explanation nor word of apology. Unless you're planning to book a bunch of rooms and spend mega-bucks, don't expect to have your right to a quiet night's sleep upheld by the gutless, greedy management at this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay in the summer last year.

I can only apologise for the noise problems you encountered but please be assured we wish to treat all our guests with the same level of service and also can only apologise you didn't receive a response from your guest survey comments. We always endeavour to reply to all comments.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel,Queenland,Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had a most enjoyable 6 night stay at the Royal Garden Hotel

Location - excellent - easy access to London via bus or underground - both close by

Room - Our Deluxe Twin Room with Park Views was supurb - very comfortable - enchanting views of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park - comfortable beds - enjoyed a relaxed night's sleep

Breakfast - A great breakfast was served at the Park Terrace and provided an excellent start to the day

Lunch/Dinner - The Min Jiang was oustanding - beautiful views of the Park - excellent and friendly service and the Peking Duck was delicious - We lived in Hong Kong for 8 years and the Peking Duck exceeded any of our dining experiences in Hong Kong

Staff - From Reception to Bar Staff, Waiters, Housekeeping and the Consierge Team- We found everyone to be very friendly and helpful in fulfilling our every request - Of particular note was the outstanding assistance we received from Luton Anderson and John White - they went out of their way to help us with Theatre ansd Restaurant Reservations plus gave excellent advice on what to See and Do in London and how best to accomplish this - This consierge team so ably lead by Robert Shorter certainly made this a memorable stay for us

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are returning in 2011

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rncfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Great location
BUT
Unfriendly staff, and extremely noisy in rooms that look onto kensington high street.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApplePie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
We were very sorry to hear of your comments with regard to your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and service so am very concerned to hear you found our staff unfriendly. All our rooms are triple glazed and are considered some of the quietest rooms in London but being a city centre hotel there is some noise to be expected. We do have rooms to the back of the hotel and over the park that are more quiet.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.



We
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Truly 5*. This is one of the best hotels in London - a secret gem. Nothing is too much trouble, from reception to room service all the staff give everything to make your stay a delight, Min Jiang dim sum is second to none and all in all a truly fantastic experience..................thank you

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have long wanted to try this hotel and finally remembered to give it a go. I'm glad Idid! Newly refurbished , perfectly appointed room , small but everything was in the right place.. Excellent bathroom, good lighing all thru . Pleasant dinning room with gorgeous view and most attentive yet unobtrusive service.. Where can you sit for an hour with the morning paper and have a thoughtful waiter refresh your coffepot without even asking.. ?!
I would thoroughly recommend this very smart well located hotel. If I was there for longer that a couple of days would try for a room with a bit more space...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is a real five star hotel. The staff is fantastic and there is always someone at hand to help. Queen rooms are small, but as I understand only for single occupancy - but very well appointed with everything from bed linen to towels and bathrobes being of best quality. Only fault is the internet connection through the flat screen TV which was near impossible to use. Will definitely stay here again. At 145 pounds per night it was half the price one would expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#43 of 1,067 in London
768 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#236 of 1,067 in London
1,524 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
3,180 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing