We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch place at nice location”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top notch place at nice location”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night for work (client booked us there). Great location next to Hyde Park. Breakfast was very good (though expensive, as almost always in hotels...). Wanted to try the gym but I was too early (jetlag) and it was still closed (e.g. no 24-h service) so I went for a jog in the park instead. I guess it's a good one as also used for non-guests.
Rooms were a bit small, but overall very good (quite, cosy and high quality).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honkiehoteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    783
    207
    86
    49
See reviews for
697
1,091
212
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel to attend an awards ceremony that was being held there. I felt it pricey but worth the extra to be in the same hotel.

I made my booking for a queen room via a third party company and it was clearly listed as a double room for two people. I was later advised by the hotel staff that this room was not deemed suitable for two people and they ‘recommended’ I pay an additional £30 to upgrade. Which I did.

I must admit the room itself was very pleasant and spacious, but no matter how hard I looked I could not find any tea or coffee facilities. I contacted reception but was told this facility was not available but I could order from room service if is wished. Sorry but I am not paying over £3 for a tea bag and hot water (I don’t take milk or sugar). Luckily Starbucks was opposite so we paid a visit. I was later told by other attendees at the awards that they had tea and coffee in their rooms.

I then followed the instructions provided to access the Wifi but couldn’t do it. I phoned the number provided and was asked if I had purchased Wifi as it was at additional cost. There was no mention of this on the instructions. Again, no I am not incurring the excessive additional costs.

It was horrible to wake up in the morning with no facilities for a cup of tea so we planned to ship out pretty quickly, but despite being told checkout was at 12, there was a knock on the door and in walked the maid wanting to know what time we were leaving.

Considering this was a 5 star hotel I was extremely disappointed. I stop in hotels regularly for work and this is the worst I have stayed in as far as experience goes. I have stayed in 3 star hotels where the staff are friendly and bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. I have stayed in hotels where tea and coffee is not provided in your room but is available complementary on request.

All this hotel wants to do is apply additional charges for things we are accustomed to being included.

It turned out that the prize I could have won at the award ceremony was a two-night stay in the same hotel. I have never been so relieved not to win something! Yes the bathrobe was nice, but I’d swap it for a cuppa any day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babybayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
We were sorry to hear you had some problems during your stay. We do sell our Queen rooms for single occupancy only so can only apologise this was wrongly described with the third party company you booked with. We do offer Best rate guarantee on our own website so would always recommend to book direct with the hotel.

With regard to the tea & coffee making facilities, we are now including this in all our newly refurbished rooms and are completing our last 4 floors of bedrooms so all rooms will have tea & coffee making facilities. We do however offer a tea & coffee tray to rooms on request so can only apologise you were not offered this when requested.

Sorry you were disturbed in the morning, maids do check to see if guests have departed if the do not disturb sign is not on the door.

We do pride ourselves on being the best value 5 star hotel in London so are very sorry you didn't feel this was the case on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Every member of staff we met this hotel went out of their way to deliver superb customer service. The last time we encountered service like this was in Singapore (never in a UK hotel of this size). We later discovered that this hotel is linked with the Goodwood Park in Singapore. All is explained!
We had a garden view room one night and a contemporary room the other night, Both had very comfortable super king beds, a settee, fitted widescreen flat TV and full bathroom.
The food in the Terrace restaurant and lounge is top notch and good value. You do not need to leave the hotel to enjoy a tremendous meal in sylish surroundings. In October there is a half price champagne offer- enjoy!
the Spa and Gym are a disappointment, not quite up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. The gym is equipment is quite new though.
Short walk from here to the Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens are next door.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Supposedly a luxurious Hotel it relies in its location to provide the wow factor.
If one is to spend that sort of money one would expect more than two tea bags, some real coffee bags, real milk; more than one towel, one cup and saucer and free wifi; in house movies and an air conditioning unit that is not so noisy that it keeps one awake at night.
Incoming guests at 1am should be encouraged not to shout and scream on the forecourt. As initially suggested it is close to wonderful Hyde Park and despite the austere reception area the staff are less so and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearnaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you for your recent comments with regard to your recent stay with us and apologise you had some concerns regarding the hotel. From your comments I am assuming you booked one of our Queen Rooms which is for single occupancy but we are always happy to provide extra towels and tea and coffee amenities so apologise this was not made clear during your stay. We do always try and control any guest noise but as you can appreciate can be difficult to do this at all times.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The location and views overlooking Kensington Palace Gardens is amazing. The rooms are large by London standards, and there is no traffic noise.

Very convenient location for tube and bus stop.

Breakfast at £21pp is a ripoff! Internet at £20/day is too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My first time staying in the Kensington area. We got off at the High Street Kensington tube station and walked about 5 minutes to the hotel. Great shops and eating places along the way. Check-in was seamless and within minutes was up in our Garden view room. The room was fresh, clean, and had a nice little sitting area at the window as the room had a nice view of Kensington gardens, was nice and quiet ( great to unwind in a city ). The room was nice and spacious and was nicely laid out. The beds were comfy, in the room, the room had plenty of lighting and a dimmer for adjusting. Nice toiletries from the White Company, a bath, rainwater shower and when we requested more toiletries ( never seems to be enough for two usually in hotels ), they sent some straight up no problems. All the staff were so welcoming and accommodating , the concierge looked after us well too. The only negative I can say would be that the food and drink in the hotel are crazy prices, the internet too. But, when in London, why sit in and eat when you can get out and explore?

Overall, loved the hotel, got a great service and have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoneill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The concierge staff of this hotel are phenomenal!! We had an medical emergency during our very short stay here and they couldn't have been more helpful! (Our 12 day trip to England, Wales and Scotland was cut to 36 hours in London!! For all that, the Royal Garden helped us to have pleasant memories of that time)

The room was clean and pleasant although the view out our window was disgusting. We expected that as the price we paid for our nights there were below normal due to our booking at a discount site. Luckily, we hadn't come to London to look out our hotel room, we came to see the city and the address of this hotel couldn't be better for that activity. It's at the center of everything we needed. Expensive but worth the effort if you want a classy place!!

We ate in the restaurant and unfortunately, were not impressed by it but you can't have everything!! The class of the hotel made up for alot!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#43 of 1,069 in London
804 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,956 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#245 of 1,069 in London
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#49 of 1,069 in London
3,289 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,069 in London
802 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing