We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

On a reunion trip to London commemorating our summer working there many years ago, my friends and I stayed at the Royal Garden, which we picked for it's location. Kensington is a charming area within walking distance of many beautiful and interesting neighborhoods. When we expressed disappointment with the room we were originally assigned, we were given a lovely 4th floor room with a view of Kensington Palace. The staff was always very helpful, especially after we were stranded by the volcano. The Business Centre and concierge staff were helpful, and another less expensive room was located for us since our original room had a booking on it. The hotel is expensive, but they worked with us to enable us to stay for four extra nights. If you stay there please drink a "Bertie's Special" in Bertie's Bar for me! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bklyn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    715
    186
    77
    47
See reviews for
617
987
191
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Booked here with a family member who recalled an era of elegance and violins on the rooftop restaurant (now a first class Chinese restaurant, we were told)...the view was lovely out of large picture windows over Hyde Park, so the location in Kensington was excellent...afternoon tea and all meals were well done but should be at the price...tiny, hard to work tv seemed out of place, 20 pounds per day internet was too much, problems (like not being at the airport to pick us up) were taken care of efficiently...I think the hotel is more geared to business people and I just didn't feel value for money, nothing special...sadly...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Public Relations Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the hotel. We are currently in the process of replacing all our TV's in our bedrooms. We have now completed 5 floors of completely refurbished floors and will be completing the remaining 4 floors from November this year. Our current internet charges are competitively priced with other 5 star hotels. We do look to cater for both the business and leisure guest and also look to be one of the most affordable 5 star hotels in London. We do hope to welcome you back to one of our newly refurbished hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

We chose The Royal Garden Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found we had made an excellent choice. We were shown to a beautiful modern room, complete with bathrobes, overlooking Hyde Park. The aircon was set at a sensible level but we could have adjusted it if needed. The tv was huge and the lounge area luxurious whilst the bed was massive and comfortable. Our guests joined us at Bertie's Bar for Champagne before adjourning to The Park Terrace Restaurant for a delicious meal. All the staff were extremely warm and friendly and couldn't have done more. This is not a cheap place but we felt it still represented excellent value for money. Go on - spoil yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stueyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Royal Garden Hotel is the Disney Vacation Club hotel in London. The hotel might be a decent choice for a hotel if you are familiar with London, don't mind rude staff, are used to limited central air and heat and are comfortable dealing with an odd plumbing configuration (you need to run the water in the sink to mitigate the temperature of the water in the shower--I am serious about this! ). This was my first trip to London and I was so very disappointed in the hotel. Disney Vacation Club affiliate hotels are usually nice, so I was unprepared for the extremely poor level of service from the staff and the plumbing/central cooling-heat issues. In addition, when we checked out there were additional charges to our room for a meal or 2, movies (the in-room movie service was not working the whole week we were at the hotel) etc.

On the positive side though, the hotel room was very clean and it was nice to be able to reserve a car to and from the airport through the hotel.

However, overall I could never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveSuitcaseWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Public Relations Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
I am sorry to hear you had some problems during your stay with us at the hotel and can only apologise for the issues you experienced. We did have a problem with our TV Systems that week which has now been resolved. I have passed your comments regarding our plumbing and air-conditioning which is very unusual as we don't normally have complaints regarding this. I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future and hope we can give you a better experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Excellent hotel in most ways.Genuine and polite doormen.Receptionists who seem genuinely pleased to see you and not just a 'have a nice day' mantra.Even the maids said goodbye and wished us well!Obviously happy staff - well done to the management to.Room was larger than average for London and had a small seating area next to a very large double window that allowed you to watch the world go by below.Despite being next to a busy road the room was very quiet.Bed was big and confortable with nice pillows.Bathroom solid with big towells,robes and nice toiletries.
Didn't eat here as too much choice elsewhere.
A little more expensive than we'd usually choose but probably worth it

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Truly fabulous. I cannot think of a single thing wrong with this hotel. The room (10th floor) was faultless, the restaurant, out of this world and the service, possibly the best I have ever recieved! Thankyou for a really special stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Following advice from another reviewer I booked through moneysupermarket.com and received a significant discount on the room rate. This hotel is expensive as you would expect in Kensington but the service is excellent. We accidently arrived for breakfast just as service was finishing but were still treated wonderfully. The continental breakfast was amazing. We could have upgraded to full english but didn't feel it necessary with all the goodies on offer. I would definitely stay again if I felt like treating myself. Note: this hotel is within the congestion zone and parking for 24hrs was around £30 when we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Picky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#41 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing