We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Excellent Location & Views”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here before. When we returned in Feb 2014, we were pleased to see the improvements after the renovation. Service as before was excellent; check in was quick; room service very prompt. The hotel's restaurants are among our favorites when we visit London. The Park Terrace off the lobby and overlooking Hyde Park has one of the best English afternoon tea in London. To cater to the cosmopolitan and international clientele, it also offers among the best Asian (Singapore/Malaysian) dishes in London. Our top floor room with its very large full-width windows overlooked the Park and we could see the London skyline -- what a sight to behold on a beautiful morning --- nothing like it in London. On the same floor is what we consider to be the best Chinese restaurant in London, with a spectacular park & skyline view to wow your dining experience--- its Peking Duck is divine, carved at your table! We have tried most of the dishes and I can attest to their authenticity and fine preparation. The wait staff has always accommodated our dietary preferences. We have entertained many friends here (even the Londoners were not aware of the excellent food here and its views). Great for Sunday brunch as well. The neighborhood is terrific for strolls in the huge Hyde Park or the residential areas across the street. Whole Foods and Marks & Spencers are just a few minutes walk away. Terrific location. Very good value.

Room Tip: Get the park view rooms -- wake up to a rare sight in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

No great complaints for what is a standard 5-star hotel in a major European metropolis.
One gripe, though.
We ordered some takeaway food from a sushi restaurant that has a delivery service. We've eaten in that sushi restaurant previously. I'd arranged to pay cash. Tipping is a weird American custom, but I like it.
Yes, I know ordering food from outside may be seen as slightly naughty, as the hotel restaurants are good.
The food arrived promptly. So promptly that I'd just gotten out of the shower when the front desk called to say it had arrived.
Could the food be brought up to our 6th floor room?
No.
The delivery guy wasn't allowed up.
I can sort of understand this in a city where there are subway announcements every few minutes warning of unattended baggage and advising people to report anything suspicious to a police officer. London does seem a mite edgy when it comes to security.
However, the notion that no member of staff was available to deliver the food to our room was hard to get my head around. The hotel doesn't employ bell hops as such. I suppose you only notice the likes of bell hops and bus boys when they're needed.
Bell hops would presumably work minimum wage. In London, that would be around $300 per week. That the $400 per night the Royal Garden charges doesn't stretch to employing bell hops is somewhat staggering.
Pressing the matter, I was told the delivery guy could be allowed access through the kitchens. What difference it makes to security whether he enters via the kitchens or the foyer is difficult to see.
Ten minutes later I got a call from the delivery guy. He was back at the front door. He said he'd driven round to the back entrance & tried getting in via the kitchens. He'd received puzzled looks and been denied access. That's scarcely surprising.
By this time I was dressed, so I went down to collect the food.
I gave the delivery guy a £10 tip. Some of that would have gone to a bell hop, had there been one.
It's always seemed to me that bell hops are standard in London, as they are elsewhere.
Earlier in the week, I'd met a business colleague at The Wellesley, at the other end of the park. He ordered takeaway food & paid cash. A bell hop brought it up from the front desk.
Nice enough stay at the hotel, but the lack of a service allowing things brought up to your room is not good enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay overall.

I am however sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with the delivery of your food to your room. Our policy like most London hotels is that we don’t allow food deliveries through the front of the hotel. This is due to health and safety issues as well as food hygiene issues. We ask all deliveries to be taken to the security door, whereby a member of security will escort the delivery person to your room. From what we understand, on this occasion the delivery person couldn't identity back door security – we are therefore looking at procedures to improve this process. With regards to our porters, we do hire porters who will of course deliver to rooms. However, again because of h&s procedures they are unable to accept food items, to deliver to the rooms. This is pretty common practice throughout London hotels.

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We have been able to identify a process that could be improved thanks to your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best wishes,
Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My key tip for this hotel: the finicky little shampoo bottle is impossible to open if your fingers are wet so make sure you open them before you get in.

My only complaint: why do they use such cheap, thing, tracing-paper-ish toilet paper? And what is the weird talcum powder stuff doing on it?

This is a nice hotel, a popular business stop and a great location with everything you might possibly need just outside your door from Ken High Street itself, to the Tube, to Hyde Park. Before OneFineStay launched in London this was where I always stayed and I had another very pleasant stay this time.

I can also strongly recommend the physio's downstairs, in case you're in need.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhlashPhlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the toilet paper and shampoo bottle, I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for her to look into and review accordingly. I also appreciate your positive comments in regards to our masseuse; I have forwarded her your comments and she was very happy and satisfied to hear that you would recommend her to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

That's it, you pay mostly for the location, which is Superb!!!
You are not paying for the hotel, which I expected more for the price I payed -King room facing Hyde Park. A little disappointing that on the second floor the view is not that nice; so you ask for an upper floor.
The room is really fancy and nice, good space, tub, bed and great pillows etc... but then the shampoo and little perks are below 5 star hotel...
So kind of contrasting, which I didn't expect for the price. But once you get out and start walking by Kensington Road and Hyde Park, you will forget how much you paid =))))

Room Tip: If you pay for a room facing Hyde Park ask for 3rd floor or above, or you will not have the full vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, here in leafy Kensington.

I am however sorry you didn’t findd your room amenities to be up to a 5-star standard. I apologise for any disappointment caused; I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for her to look into and include in her investigations.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Booked this hotel for a belated wedding anniversary celebration. We were upgraded from a King room to a King room with garden view room for free. Great location, great service. Absolutely nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's a huge hotel, always very crowed, but with excellent service, a wonderful cost/benefit relationship and a very friendly staff, that is constantly at your service. One additional thing, however: THE ACCOMMODATIONS ARE SENSATIONAL in what concerts comfort, space, room amenities and VIEWS if you are turned to the Royal Garden.

Room Tip: Royal Garen view, floor from 4th to above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSARJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I find myself having to head up to London every 4 to 6 weeks. I used to stay at the Mandarin Oriental or Intercontinental, but after a while you realize that the 200 pounds plus you often save per night staying at the Royal Garden can be quite useful in London.

The Royal Garden is clean and comfortable, the staff are excellent as is the location. The Chinese restaurant is first class. Breakfast is similar to the Intercontinental - not even close to the Mandarin but at less than half the price you can't complain.

There is a Starbucks directly opposite if you don't want Breakfast.

I haven't used the Gym in a while, but I seem to remember it wasn't impressive, but I am not working out in London I am eating and drinking.

Overall I would say the Royal Garden is a bargain in London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,577 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,118 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#47 of 1,081 in London
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $227 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 394 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing