We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$249
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$347
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$185
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
$252
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$208
$195
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$294
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$1,067
$946
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$343
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$242
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,666)
Filter reviews
3,666 results
Traveler rating
2,431
850
233
94
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,431
850
233
94
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskensington palacepark terracekensington high streetmin jiangbertie's bargarden roomoverlooking kensington gardenshyde parkgreat hotelqueen roomalbert hallroom servicestar hotelexcellent locationafternoon teatop floortube station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,698 - 2,703 of 3,666 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First of all...ignore anything less than a 4star review on this hotel.

Had a one night stay on Sunday 5th Jan 2014.

Location - excellent, barely a few minutes walk from the tube station and easily accessible by road

Staff - More often than not, 5star staff have zero personality. Not here! A warm and charming welcome, smiles all round, offered assistance without being "in your face"

Room - Executive double on the 7th floor...amazing! Yes, a little small by typical 5star standards, but considerably cheaper than a typical 5star hotel! Heated bathroom floor, sound system throughout, comfortable work station and lounge area...plus a bed 3 pillows wide!

Drinks - expensive compared to Wetherspoons, cheap compared to The Ritz!

Food (room service) - I had to leave early but my lady said one of the best breakfasts she's had. Not huge, but very clean and piping hot.

In short, this is a fantastic hotel and is worthy of a 5star rating.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade just by asking nicely if it was possible!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRizlatattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel in itself is lovely, and we were upgraded to a nice, clean room with gorgeous views of the park.
When we got in the room, we had a look in the mini bar and noticed a few items were missing. Not wanting to be charged for them, we let reception know on our way out for dinner. Problem solved - or so we thought.
Upon returning, all items had been replenished bar a bottle of aftershave. Yet again, this was reported to reception and we thought no more of it.
The next morning at check out, we settled our bill and paid for the room service we had utlised and the various items from the mini bar. We again mentioned the lack of aftershave and the fact it hadn't been replaced.
It wasn't until my partner received his bank statement that we noticed the hotel had taken a further £44 from his account completely unauthorised, and without any attempt to contact us to alert us about this charge. Unsurprisingly they have charged us for the aftershave. On phoning the hotel, the lady who spoke to my boyfriend was less than helpful and tried to imply that the extra money deducted without permission was for the room service - which we had paid and have a receipt for!
We are awaiting a call back. Absolutely disgusted with the poor customer service. We have received better at budget hotel chains - never would I have expected unauthorised use of my boyfriend's debit card (nor the implied accusation that we had stolen an item from the mini bar - despite having paid for the items we had actually used) from a hotel of its standing.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel breakfasts maketh ye hotel. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE FULL ENGLISH AT £25. Just spent one night with my wife at the Royal Garden via a special offer including a full English breakfast. Hotel location, the bedroom and staff were beyond reproach but the breakfast ?? Have never used Tripadvisor before but just had to comment. The breakfast coffee was tepid so we asked for a hot coffee. The second coffee was just as cold. Finally, the third coffee was hot. Then we realised that the full English was a buffet style and therefore others who had paid for the cheaper continental could help themselves to it also. We had to order the eggs quite separately so they arrived later. Every item on the full English was stone cold. Ordered brown toast and got white. Complained and got apologies that the burners had all extinguished but no explanation for the multiple coffee failures. The buffet continental looked unappetising so avoided that. Overheard others complaining too. Wrote to the hotel and got quick reply from Tim Fryer their Food Director with profuse apologies and offering a derisory free champagne next time we stay. He seems not to know that some people do not drink alcohol. The breakfast ruined it for us so that hotel is definitely one to avoid if you like your breakfast hot and by the look of the continental breakfast, avoid that too. Have asked that the Food Director informs the General Manager about his failings. But I doubt somehow that will happen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moicomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We treat all constructive feedback as a gift to help us improve and so I am happy to confirm that all reports are shared with every member of our Executive team. We are very sorry that we let ourselves down with the breakfast on your stay. It was the first weekend where we relocated the breakfast service during the main kitchen renovations as I am sure you might appreciate - this presented us initially with some service challenges. These have now been addressed. Our Continental Breakfast consists of a choice from over 50 cold breakfast items where full English breakfast has the addition of up to 20 additional cooked items. Guests are free to take hot items from the buffet and are charged according to their selection.

Kind Regards,
Graham Bamford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked two rooms a King and a Queen for my wife and I and a teenage son in December for 3 nights.

Found the place to be great, to be honest not excellent but very good, it "could" be excellent with a little bit of work.

The King Room and Queen room both were very clean really well appointed and both had great views over the park. Really the rooms were very good. I did hear some noise as my room was near the lift.

The location is fantastic - restaurants transport and of course the parks all close by. Runners take note the park is close and other runs esp on a Saturday or sunday morning include Buckingham palace, big ben and the river.

The reception staff were excellent and check in very smooth. Only real issue with the staff was perhaps a slight lack of a little bit of polish or finesse from the concierge- ie you could hear them grumbling from time to time, on one occasion in the lift a member of staff talking about it being "chaos"...It didn't seem that way to me nor the other guests in the lift. This really is a small issue - anything you asked for you would receive quickly

We passed on breakfast at the hotel - appeared very expensive and there are great breakfast places a short walk away.

We secured a very good price via the companies affiliated with trip advisor, the value was excellent.

I would definitely recommend the hotel

Room Tip: get a park view on a higher floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially that you found your room to be well appointed and clean, that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and the customer service provided by our Front Office team. Thank you for your comments regarding our team lacking finesse - I will be sure to follow up with the Concierge regarding this.

I am also glad to hear that you would recommend the Royal Garden Hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is average by most standards. I must say it is the first 5 Star hotel that charges for Wi-Fi; and at 20 Pounds ($33 US) per day for internet it isn't cheap. I am told we have to pay since the trip was booked through American Airlines...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews