We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and kensington is real nice too”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

a very nice, clean hotel, i can really recommend staying in kensington too. been to london a couple of times but always stayed closer to oxford street/covent garden.
hotel had very friendly and helpful staff, they let me use the internet-room for no charge even tho it was supposed to cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank versaliense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,712 - 2,718 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a conference event at the hotel and was delighted with the whole experience. Food was excellent and all staff I dealt with were extremely helpful. The room was a great size with separate seating area. Bathroom with heated flooring and large walk in shower area, great attention to detail all around. Will definitely return to this venue soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am very happy to hear that you were delighted during your recent stay with us and that the conference went well. I am also pleased that our renovated rooms were to your liking and that you plan on coming back to us soon.

Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had our wedding at this excellent hotel. Every member of staff we interacted with, from the initial enquiry to checkout, was extremely courteous and professional. Furthermore, their events team were all extremely pleasant and were sincere in their congratulations and efforts on our behalf.

During all of our various meeting and discussions, we were met with nothing but courtesy, patience and understanding, even when our requirements bordered on the unreasonable! Their flexibility as regards our ever changing requests was extremely appreciated. Their advice regarding the various aspects of the arrangements, whether it was to do with layout or managing costs, was all well received and extremely helpful.

Thanks a bunch Martin!

The food on the night was a hit, and enjoyed by all including my wife and I, with the little we managed to eat in between all the dancing!

The room we stayed in afterwards had was spacious, clean, excellently furnished and with beautiful views of the park.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfa_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and congratulations. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your wedding day at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that the staff made everything run smoothly and that we could meet all your requests. We strive to be a flexible 5-Star hotel so I am proud to hear that this was reflected during your event here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife in the near future.

Best wishes,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just held a 4 day confererence for 240 people at the Royal Garden Hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble, requests were actioned quickly, everyone was super friendly, professional and efficient, food was fantastic, location, meeting rooms and bedrooms were ideal. I would definitely be advising other clients to use this hotel as they strive for top service and excellence all the time and achieve it. Well done everyone that helped us out during the past few days and I look forward to coming back to you again in the near future :)

Room Tip: We did not receive any negative comments about any of the rooms. All very clean and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted to hear that the conference was a great success; I am especially happy to hear that the staff were ‘outstanding’ and that you would be happy to recommend the Royal Garden Hotel to others for future events.

We look forward to welcoming you back whether staying for business or pleasure.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel while travelling alone in London. The hotel is clean and modern, the staff friendly and the location's great. For the price I paid, incredible value. The only odd thing is that there is a lack of electrical outlets where you would expect them (bathroom).

The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the tube's about a 10 minute walk (feels longer with a suitcase!). I treated myself to a cab to airport, and that was about a 55GBP ride.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you for making my stay feel safe and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank ivana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The biggest disappointment was on arrival being told that I had to pay 20 pounds a day for WiFi even though I was positive that it had been included. I was told this is only the case if the booking was done directly through the hotel. However upon my return home I have found a printout I made of the "new fantastic benefits that you can receive by booking online or via a preferred partner" which included "Free internet (WiFi) to all guests". That statement seems pretty clear to me! I was also disappointed to find errors on my account amounting to 98 pounds. The final gripe was returning to my hotel room at 4 pm one day after having left early in the morning to find the room had not been serviced. I was told that I should have put the green light on. Again for a 5 star hotel I would have expected the room to have been serviced regardless. One last point is that the hotel is exceptionally busy so I was unable to stay later than the normal check out time of 12 pm.

Room Tip: If you want a more peaceful stay it might be better to pay more for a room with a garden view as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations, especially in regards to the internet charges. I would really appreciate if you could contact us on feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk so we can fully understand the issue you raised regarding the overcharge and also to learn how your booking was made. I can confirm that we currently have a promotion running that entitles complimentary Wi-Fi to those who book through our website or through selected preferred travel agents, which is why you may not have received the offer and why it would be good to know who you made the booking with. I apologise if this was not clear when you made the booking and will look to review how we promote this to avoid this situation being repeated in the future.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing how 1 thing can move a hotel rating from 5 to 1. In this day and age for a hotel to charge customers for wifi if they have not booked directly with the hotel is an abomination. It is akin to trying to turn on the lights & having reception say "oh sorry we'll charge you £20 for that because you used a travel agent"!!!!! This is an exceptional hotel in a great location - the 4 staff who did not have the "authority" to resolve my issue were professional & empathetic, the breakfast was excellent as were the staff, the concierge great. Wake up management of this hotel - to discriminate against busy professionals who use travel agents is beyond the pale - if 3 star b&b's in the Isles can live in the 21st century so can you. My trip to London was extremely inconvenienced because I chose to stay with you - had to go to the local coffee shop to remain in contact with my work & family for the price of a cup of coffee - not my $300 a night room
- that should tell you something.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lferretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am really happy to hear that the service you received during your stay with us was to your satisfaction. However, I am concerned to learn of your disappointment with our Wi-Fi charge. I would really appreciate if you could email us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk in order for us to contact you personally to learn how your booking was made; we do currently have a promotion running that entitles complimentary Wi-Fi to those who book trough our website or through selected preferred travel agents so it would be good to understand how your booking was made. Please accept my apologies if this was not clear when you booked your stay with us.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kin regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,576 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,114 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#47 of 1,081 in London
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $227 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 394 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing