We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location.”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Check in was quick and the staff are extremely pleasant.
Our room was very nice, it was a bit small, however it had a raised floor section with a small office set up and two armchairs. The bed was on the lower section. It gave the feeling that you had 2 small rooms. Usual things in the room, Flat Screen TV, Wi-Fi, Fridge, Hairdryer, Toilettres, Mini Bar, Snacks(not free), tea & coffee, full length mirror. One thing missing was an ironing board & iron. I've notice that the more we pay for hotel rooms, the less chance of finding one. It would be nice when you unpack all your wrinkled clothes that you can give them a quick iron instead of having to pay someone to do it.
The room came with a view of Kensington High street which was a bit disappointing, I would have prefered looking over the park but I expect that's a lot more expensive. If you have a lower floor at the front of the hotel you will here some street noise, and there is a fire station just around the corner so expect to be disturbed at some point if your staying for a long time.
The hotel does have its own restaurants but we were only staying bed & breakfast so didn't try them. Why in London would you want to eat in a hotel anyway?
Breakfast is buffet style. Continental breakfast was very nice. Good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and meats. Toast and coffee you order from the table. We did have one small problem with it, it didn't seem very well thought out. Two tier round table set in the middle of the dining area. Little children not being able to reach the second tier and making a mess while trying to grab things. Hot breakfast looked nice, usual things, eggs, sausage, bacon, beans and an omelette bar.
Hotel is in a fantastic location for shops and restaurants and has great transportation links close by including buses and tubes. Car park under hotel if needed. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially the convenient location of the hotel, friendly staff and quality of breakfast. I also noted that you made reference to our breakfast being buffet style and I just wanted to highlight, as you may not be aware, that we do offer an a la carte menu during the week and a buffet style only on the weekend.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the street noise you experienced; we are aware that some rooms facing High Street Kensington can be affected by the noise and are looking at ways to rectify this. I do apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

Regarding the ironing board & iron, we do deliver these to rooms upon request so please do not hesitate to contact Housekeeping or Guest Relations for any requests you may have during your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,693 - 2,699 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Best location in London. Just off Kensington gardens, palace and high street. Lovely hotel, very comfortable, food was amazing, service brilliant. What more can you ask for? The parking if you are lucky and there is space you can pay the porter and park outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you HAVE to stay within ten yards of Marble Arch, don't stay here. For any other London stay it is perfect. Great shops very near, tube, park, car park underneath with nice discount for guests, quiet and quality rooms, great beds, shower etc. not big rooms ( at least mine wasn't ) but 2/3 price of the big names and just as good.will come back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay. I am pleased to know that you found the hotel to be well located and you are correct in that we are situated away from Marble Arch; but we believe you get a more authentic London experience with our location in Kensington.

I’m sorry to hear that you felt your room was not very spacious. Just to let you know for future reference, we do offer a variety of room categories for all occasions so when you plan on coming back then please take a look on our website for more information.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

always good, lovely staff & breakfast is the best usually need a lie down afterwards, the upgrade to garden room was v nice.
20 min walk from Olympia or bus stop right outside. We always go for the Christmas horse show.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel is in a very good location. The room is a good size and comfortable. It is disappointing that on top of the room rates( which is not cheap) they want to charge you for WiFi. Stayed in six hotels this trip and none charge you for WiFi access. We were told that since you book through a travel agent you have to pay. This coming from a upmarket hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 585JohnY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for recent comments following your stay; especially that you were happy with our location in Kensington and your spacious room.

However, I was disappointed to know that you felt our Wi-Fi charges were too high. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests who book directly with the hotel (telephone, email and website) and with some preferred agents; but as a general rule it is not included when booking through a travel agent. Apologies for any confusion caused and if this was not clear.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future and please remember to take a look at our offers page.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 4 days here while in London and enjoyed our time there. We had 4 rooms booked and everyone in our party commented on how nice it was and how helpful the staff was. It's a great location and very safe which can be important when you're traveling with family. Close to shopping, 5 minute cab ride to Harrod's and plenty of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, well placed on Kensington High St for shops, buses, the tube etc. Lovely room with a split level sitting room area. Large modern bathroom. Staff on the whole friendly but Youssra Ahmidi was especially good and was very professional and helpful.

One downside, the breakfast area is close to the lifts/reception and the smell of cooking fat is overwhelming, even on the top floors. The area where the eggs are cooked fresh has no ventilation and so the fatty smell permeates throughout - made me feel quite sickly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you felt the hotel has a good location and room facilities. I am also particularly happy to hear that one of our staff members made such a good impression, which I’ll pass onto their Manager.

However I was concerned by your remarks about the smells coming from breakfast. We only serve a buffet style breakfast on the weekend, offering freshly cooked eggs, as we understand that our weekend guests may want a more leisurely morning experience and not feel rushed. Unfortunately this does cause some smells to waft into the lobby area. I have passed your comments onto the food and beverage team who will investigate if any changes can be made.

Thank you again and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#49 of 1,076 in London
854 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,076 in London
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,079 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $213 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 394 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing