We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top choice in London”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent location, easy access to many restaurants and tube station. Extremely comfortable bed, great shower, helpful staff, quiet rooms. Even the elevators are quick and efficient. You can be in your room within a minute of entering the hotel. I've stayed twice and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, including the comfort and quietness of your room, the ‘great shower’ and our customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,528 - 2,534 of 3,327 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions because of the great location next to Hyde Park and the ambience of the rooms and general level of service. The Concierge desk is excellent for advice.
I have however been annoyed at being asked to pay GBP20 per day for wifi. I believe that wifi in a Hotel of this standard should be free. I booked through booking.com and was informed at registration that if I had booked through their own website the wifi would have been free. I checked the fine print and it was there so mea culpa but really shouldn't wifi be free under all circumstances in a hotel of this calibre?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbpc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you always enjoy staying with us, especially for ‘the great location, ambience of the rooms and general level of service’.

I also appreciate your comments in regards to providing complimentary Wi-fi and have shared your remarks with the relevant managers for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Considering the cost of the hotel and the fact that it has a five star rating, we were expecting a bit more in the customer service department. Wireless was not included (twenty pounds a day) which was a deal breaker for us - We probably wouldn't return to this hotel for this sole reason. We stayed 6 nights and ended up using the free wifi at the Starbucks across the street or at the Whole Foods a block away. Besides this inconvenience and the fact that the hotel staff wouldn't budge at all, the hotel was clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Hubertk,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to know that you had a nice stay overall. However, I am disappointed to hear that our customer service did not meet your expectations. We are often praised for our service, so I am disappointed that this was not the case during your stay.
I appreciate your comment regarding our internet pricing. Please note that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi and other benefits when reservations are booked directly through the hotel or via a preferred partner. Please visit our website to discover more or please contact us if you wish to get these benefits on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Location, service, facilities, restaurant, cleanliness - no matter which angle you choose to look at this hotel, it earns top marks. Yes, it is expensive. And yes, the driveway is a bit cramped. But then again, given that a square inch of London real estate in this neighborhood costs a fortune, this hotel choose the right priorities.
Stayed there for three nights during a recent business trip to The City, and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Service is very attentive and proactive. To an American, the personnel may not always appear the most friendly; but there is European reservedness at play here: they are extremely polite, do everything they can to help you, and stay out of your way otherwise. this is the way it's supposed to be.

Rooms were modern and hyper-clean. And for a city-center hotel even relatively spacious.

The only two small gripes I ever encountered: the wireless internet service was inconsistent (signal strength too weak at some times of the day, public Internet bandwidth insufficient at others); and the amenity material in the bathrooms (shower gel) were really hard to open with wet hands. Other than that, this place is perfect!

I also checked out the top-floor restaurant (top notch!), but will cover that in a separate review.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hubertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Jen L,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear your lovely comments and to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially our attentive and proactive service, the cleanliness and the Min Jiang dining experience.

I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with the Internet. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff next time to report any issues. We always strive to maintain our 5-star standards of service and no issue is too small to investigate.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 7 nights in May at the Royal Garden Hotel. It was a return visit based on a great experience during our first visit. The location, as others have noted, is great with proximity to many attractions. The distinguishing trait of this hotel is the staff. Everyone with whom we interacted was friendly and helpful. In particular, Alex, Luton and Gabor set the bar very high for customer service. Do enjoy dim sum on a sunday afternoon overlooking Hyde Park from their 10th floor restaurant, Min Jiang The Royal Garden Hotel has been our best hotel experience in quite some time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 83Vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I always try and stay at the Royal Garden Hotel when visiting the amazing Min Jiang Restaurant on the 10 floor of he hotel.( See my separate review on this amazing traditional Chinese reasturant where the views of London and Kensington gardens are a perfect setting for the without a doubt the best Chinese food in London & the world!)
Nothing is better than dining on the 10th floor of this hotel after a day out in the city and then slip back to the fabulous rooms in the Royal garden hotel.
Everything here is perfect from the moment one arrives to check out faultless in everyway.
The room service garden terrace reasturant for lunch accompanied by a pianist.
Cocktails in the bar.
If your in town make sure you check in.
See you at the bar or in the Hotel's 10th-floor dining room for Beijing duck Yummy!

Room Tip: They are all good but treat yourself to a garden luxury room as we did during our wedding stopover s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delighted to hear that “everything here is perfect” and that Min Jiang Restaurant is “without a doubt the best Chinese food in London & the world!”

We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Christmas and New Year in London! What a fantastic place to celebrate the Festive Season - and where better to stay than at the Royal Garden Hotel on Kensington High Street. We recently spent three weeks (2012 / 2013) at the Royal Garden Hotel thoroughly enjoying all the "Buzz and Excitement" of the activities that London has to offer at this time of the year. This was our third time at the Royal Garden Hotel having previously spent a week here in 2011and 2010 at the conclusion of our vacation from Australia cruising the Mediterranean with Silverseas Cruise Line.

The warm welcome we received on arrival was just a taste of wonderful times to come. Throughout our stay all the staff were most helpful, very polite and could not do enough to ensure that we had a most enjoyable time at their hotel :-special mentions to Business Centre Staff who assisted my wife in keeping in contact (via Email) with family back home over Christmas / New Year - House Keeping Staff who kept our room in immaculate condition during our stay - Marketing Staff who kept surprising us with delightful Christmas / New Year treats - Food and Beverage Staff for providing such excellent service and tasty food in the superb dining facilities - Concierge Team (Luton, Gregg & John) who always went the extra mile in organising tours, theatre tickets, transportation and information on "what to do" and "how to do it" (a special vote o fthanks). The "Human Factor" plays a critical role in providing outstanding service to hotel guests and in our opinion Royal Gartden's staff truly exceeds customer expectations ( which is why we keep coming back to stay at the Royal Garden Hotel).

Our Garden View Room was comfortable with modern facilities - both warm, welcoming and relaxing to return to after busy sightseeing activities. Comfortable beds and a quiet room made for restful nights. Hotel public areas are all first rate- dining facilities are excellent - we thoroughly enjoyed our English Christmas Dinner and the New Year's celebrations in fine dining (Asian style) Min Jiang restaurant + a great view of London's New Year fireworks. We also enjoyed their High Tea on a number of accasions - in addition Berties Bar is a great drinking venue.

Location of the Hotel is so convenient - numerous Buses stop right outside the Hotel and take you to all key London locations. A short walk from the Hotel has you at Kensington High Street Tube Station and this excellent rail service transports you speedily anywhere you mey wish to go in London. Central Kensington with its shops,department srores, Palace,restaurants,and pubs surround the Hotel and not far away is Harrods - no doubt about it Royal Garden Hotel has it all as far as Position, Position, Position!

So after our third stay, Royal Garden Hotel and Staff continue to not only exceed our expectations but truly delights us as customers.
.

Room Tip: Suggest Garden view room - quiet & great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rncfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Fox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay here at the Royal Garden Hotel. I know that our Director of Sales & Marketing has been in touch regarding your kind words, but I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you myself.
To hear that we exceeded customer expectations is fantastic, and what we as a hotel aspire to achieve on a regular basis. The individuals & departments you have mentioned have been congratulated and all were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth time.

Warm Regards,

Graham Bamford
Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#45 of 1,075 in London
817 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,075 in London
1,986 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#140 of 1,075 in London
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,075 in London
3,391 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,075 in London
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $216 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing