We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived back from London today after a visit for business and leisure and feel we must share the experience of our excellent stay at this hotel. Our park suite was faultless for cleanliness, room service, housekeeping and comfort. The High street shops are endless with a very convenient supermarket for extras you may need. The bus stops are right outside the front exit for travel all over London and the tube a five minute walk. We found the staff were very quick to acknowledge you wherever you happened to be in the hotel. It is extremely quiet in the upstairs accommodation and heavy drapes keep out the sun in the mornings. (Yes, we did get a couple of sunny days). Our view over Kensington gardens was beautiful.
Finally our big thanks to Gregg at concierge for all his fantastic guidance,enthusiasm and professionalism to us. Thanks Gregg. A wonderful few days in London and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafeLandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    772
    204
    85
    49
See reviews for
689
1,070
209
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a king room with our 18 month old son. Obviously we were nervous regarding what exactly the hotel would be like, but I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

1. Location. Easy access to exhibition road, and obviously Hyde park! Especially with kids, you will have no epic walks to get to interesting places.
Also there is parking under the hotel, so just pull up and hand over your keys.

2. Staff. From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Staff were friendly, welcoming, not a touch of arrogance, and service in the restaurants was again complete quality

3. Food. We ate at both restaurants and had room service. I simply cannot fault it. Perfectly cooked food. The park terrace was especially good with kids. A good child menu, high chairs and attentive staff.

4. Room. We had a king room with a mews aspect on a high floor. It was clean, spacious and quiet. A travel cot was provided which was in great condition.

5. Value. It's a 5* hotel so you pay for that, but the quality is also 5*, so personally I had no issue with value. I don't think you will find a much cheaper 5* hotel in the same vicinity and the food is actually perfectly reasonable for the quality you get.

I could go on, but you probably get it! We only wish we could have stayed longer, and intend to return later this year if possible. I probably wouldn't even look at another hotel in this area. When googling 'best hotels in London with kids' this one didn't come up - it should!!!!

As if it needed any more, on our last night Jimmy Page, was outside chatting with someone (apparently its used by music execs a lot).

From us it was 100%

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel for business and found this property perfectly located on Kensington high street. You will find many shopping options around and very good restaurants nearby. The room I had was very well maintained, facing the street, with a small living room area. Breakfast service is good, with nice offer of fresh fruits. Kensington park is just in the corner which is a plus if you love to go jogging like I do before or after a long working day. Maybe the reception can be a little more client oriented by paying more attention to the clients while in the lobby, especially during the afternoon and night shift, but the all staff in general was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice hotel right next to Kensington Palace with views of the Park from the excellent Chinese restaurant on the 10th Floor
A Singaporean Hotel so has many guests from Asia and Arabia
Rooms, as you would expect are comfortable and the location is ideal for Ken High St or Harrods a bus ride away. The Park is lovely to walk in and a visit to Kensington Palace and the Albert Hall and memorial is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in a lovely suite overlooking Kensington Gardens and the skyline of London. Excellent room with every convenience. Decor minimalist but high quality. Service exemplary.

One flaw though...the mattress in our room was awful. I was told the hotel had been totally refurbished very recently so why our mattress was dipping and provided no support was a mystery. So I looked at the label on the mattress and found it advertised on the internet - it costs £300 for a super-king size. Why a hotel would put a cheap and nasty mattress into a room costing £500 a night is disturbing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1sog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear that you were happy with your room and with our standards of service.

With regard to the mattress, I was disappointed to read your comments. We receive many positive remarks about the comfort of our beds. All of our mattresses are made to hotel contract specification and we selected a superior specification. Could you kindly email me details of your stay so that we can investigate further? Please email feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Garden Hotel on a future occasion.

Warm Regards,
Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate a pre theatre meal before going to the Royal Albert Hall for a show.The staff were very friendly and attentive and the 2 course dinner was excellent.
We would certainly return next time we are going to a show.
The food was excellent and the breads were lovely and a nice glass of wine was included in the price,we felt the meal was good value for money,and had some lovely handmade cookies with our coffees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to London for a quick three day stop. The hotel is in a fantastic location with buses and subway very close. Take the number 10 bus to and from Regent and Oxford Street for great shopping. Easy to find hotel from subway as well. Our double room was quite small but comfortable. The only negative aspect of our stay was the price of internet .... 20£ per day ... what's up with that? There is a Starbucks located across the street where wifi is no charge. Great restaurants not far from hotel as well. Overall good stay because of location! Enjoy!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nursingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and utilised the great transport links to most major London attractions. However I understand that you were not happy with the internet charge and I just wanted to make you aware that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests that book direct with us, or via a preferred partner. More information on this and other benefits are available via our website.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Garden Hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#47 of 1,069 in London
792 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,932 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#246 of 1,069 in London
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,236 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#31 Spa Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing