We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel.”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“A very good hotel.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We treated ourselves to a two night stay at this hotel whilst visiting London for a Christening. We were not disappointed. The service was for the most part friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable with very good views over the gardens at the back of the hotel and the cocktails were some of the best I have tried anywhere.

Two small moans though nothing really spoilt our stay. I had to ask twice for an iron and ironing board to be sent to our room. Service was slow when we decided to eat in the bar. Having enjoyed our cocktails we decided to have a light supper and were moved to a different table and then neglected. Service was good when we did attract the attention of the waiter however.

I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,033
    761
    202
    81
    49
See reviews for
669
1,055
205
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed with a friend for 5 nights mid March and we had an upgrading, a beautiful room with a view on the park. The room was big, not a tiny box as in other hotels and very quiet. We really uppreciated our stay at the hotel. Nearby you find all types of restaurants and shops. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedesophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the bank holiday, very expensive the rooms were very cold as the heating did not work properly. We had a meal in the Chinese resturant on floor 10, had not seen a menu like that before and could not believe the price it was so expensive and they tried to add on a service charge aswell. The staff in the hotel were friendly enough apart from the resturant staff who tend to look down at you unless you were wearing a Armani suit. We have been to hotel resturants all round Europe and have never been treated like that, service was so slow because they did not like the look of us I think. Would not stay there again untill they trained their staff better in good manners

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel staff friendly.

I am sorry to hear that your experience in Min Jiang was not as expected. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant manager who will discuss the standards of service with the team, to ensure its excellent reputation as London’s leading Chinese restaurant is maintained.

In regards to the heating system, please do not hesitate to contact a member of our staff next time to report any issues. I can assure you that we could have investigated the fault and get it fixed.

Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

I hope that you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In order not to be biased against the hotel, I recently wrote a scathing review about how the hotel handled a late night / early morning Fire Alarm. Well, I went back to the hotel last week for a three night stay with my wife and daughters, and I am happy to say that there was no fire alam, but more importantly, the hotel standards were very high, and what you would expect from a 5* Hotel in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reluctant_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Easter for the third time at this hotel. Reception staff are wonderful, they really couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a Garden room. The room was not huge but very comfortable with everything you could want, including that fabulous view over Kensington Gardens and the Palace.
This hotel is perfect for breakfast in your room, something we don't normally do, but who could miss those views whilst sitting in the raised area eating breakfast ( and an excellent selection to)

We use this hotel to indulge when we visit Royal Albert Hall for a concert. There is nothing better than a stroll back down Kensington after a concert with no time pressure and then into Berties for a refreshing drink and superb club sandwich.
If we had a criticism it was the very slow service for food in the bar but as we were relaxing it didn't really spoil things for us.

Room Tip: The garden rooms give superb views over London and Kensington Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This 5 star hotel on the edge of Kensington gardens can't be faulted. 5 star without being pretentious. Friendly staff and good size rooms. Some overlooking the park. Two good restaurants, one serving Singaporian/Asian on the top floor with views over the park (remember to order the duck in advance of your visit). Breakfast is excellent, served in the ground floor restaurant. Look out for deals on the Internet. Bedrooms now have free wifi.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim11052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights over the Easter weekend. The rooms are comforting and the staff friendly, but the service isn't quite five-star standard.

Twice I had housekeeping wake me up with a phone call asking whether I would like my room cleaned - despite having the 'Do Not Disturb' sign lit outside my room. After the first time I asked them not to call again, but they seemed to forget for the next day. After I requested they clean my room, I was told they would do it 'immediately' - yet two hours later after I returned from lunch the room hadn't been cleaned and I had to call them again.

The room service and restaurant food was very good and the waiters very friendly and charismatic. However, when calling for food the operator sounded dazed and it took a while for him to recompose before he took my order.

All in all, the rooms, location and facilities are great. The service is lacking though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that our rooms are comfortable and our staff are friendly. I very much regret that you were disturbed when Housekeeping called to check if you would like your room cleaned regardless of having the ‘Do Not Disturb’ light on. I have passed on your comments to the Executive Housekeeper who will be reminding the team to physically check before calling a guest room.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#43 of 1,067 in London
768 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#236 of 1,067 in London
1,524 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
3,180 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#86 Luxury Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing