We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

one night stay, for the purpose of celebrating by partners 50th birthday. we had tickets for the Royal Albert Hall to see Paul Weller and were delighted that we were only a 10 minute walk. The hotel was lovely, we had a glorious view of Hyde Park and were thoroughly looked after. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and well presented. The staff were very attentive and friendly. All in all a top time.

Room Tip: a view of Hyde Park from the room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    783
    207
    86
    49
See reviews for
697
1,091
212
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was certainly 5 star, rooms were spacious clean and well equipped. Free wifi. Breakfast was fabulous Great location in the centre of London, surrounded by great shoppng, cafes and restaurants. Will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canbcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I treated my Mum to an overnight stay and dinner at The Royal Garden Hotel, London for Mother's Day. It was a girls day/night out!! Once we had checked in, we retired to The Park Terrace for some yummy afternoon cocktails - and to watch the world go by. That evening, we had dinner in Min Jiang - fantastic Chinese Restaurant. Overall, lovely hotel, great staff and great location

Room Tip: Request rooms overlooking Kensington Park - view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Staying here for one night. Have found the service to be excellent and the staff all friendly and very helpful. Will return and stay here again.
Tea and coffee available in the rooms and immediately adjacent to high st Kensington shops.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Travelled to the hotel with my wife for a shopping break and a bit of sight-seeing. We drove to London as I couldn't arrange the flights at a suitable price for the dates.

We found the hotel no problem at all thanks to my trusty Sat-Nav although I must admit, it was really easy to find.

There is car parking at the hotel which actually was the reason I booked the hotel. The one problem was the car park is under the hotel. I drove down from Scotland in the better halves Monster Mercedes Jeep and I "just" managed to scrape under the roof barriers in the car park. To be honest it was quite an unnerving drive into the bowels of the earth heading down into the car-park. Once we there and reached our level, everything was fine and dandy.

I however will not tell you the cost to park my car as absolutely nobody believes me, until, I show them the ticket. It is funny now, but at the time, I thought, " what the **** "

Entering the hotel was a great experience, and, fantastic feeling of calm and relaxation. There is that perfect balance between making you feel welcome and being a truly up-market establishment and the reception staff have totally mastered it. They were so welcoming but just gave you that feeling that they knew exactly what they were doing, who they were, but treated you as if you had stayed at the hotel every other week. Excellent service. Very friendly without over stepping the mark. An absolutely beautiful upmarket and modern hotel experience.

The room was absolutely fantastic. That simple.
The room viewed the street but was very quiet considering it was in the middle of Kensington.
A simply great room with a very comfortable bed and simply outstanding bathroom. It is simply a perfect hotel in the centre of London. Also, a huge HD television in the room with perfect picture and sound. No Hotel-Mode television settings with volume levels so low you cannot hear.
The room was simply perfect. Very big and very modern and very very clean.

The bar in the hotel was great. Really good cocktails and very knowledgeable staff who just liked to spend time getting to know you. Honestly, just really nice people in the hotel who enjoyed there jobs in a big flash cocktail bar in a five star hotel. They were just really nice.
There is also a very swish gymnasium at the hotel with lots of beautiful people and also the not so beautiful people trying to lose a few pounds. A good mix actually.

The food in the hotel was excellent. I really enjoyed the Malaysian food prepared in the hotel.
I was very very surprised at the prices. It was much cheaper eating in the hotel than in restaurants outside. Honestly, for a five star hotel it was very very good. Very good food.
I ate at a Sicilian restaurant opposite the hotel, spent almost £200, then returned to the hotel for some nice food as I was still hungry. I cannot remember the name of the place.

The hotel is in the middle of Kensington with the Tube just minutes away. You can however walk everywhere and anywhere from your hotel location. The hotel staff are always willing to advise you where to go and what to see. I don't know where they were when I ate at that Sicilian restaurant. The hotel bar staff will tell you the hot spots. Lots of bars and restaurant nearby.

A perfect hotel in the middle of London which caters for absolutely every need and is spotlessly clean. It has excellent food and drink with staff that like to spoil you.
If you like people watching and spotting some stars, then this hotel will not let you down.
A fantastic hotel that I will definitely return to on my wife's next shopping visit to London.

However, as I book all the holidays, It is with absolute certainty, that I state, that I will once again visit the beautiful hot hot hot beaches in Tenerife before I once again visit the cold cold cold banks of the River Thames.

Enjoy Your Holidays

K & J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatchFromTheShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delightful to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. I am very proud of our staff’s effort and it is really rewarding to know that we are doing a great job by making our guests’ stay a memorable one.

The NCP car park does have quite a tight corkscrew entrance; please do not hesitate to ask our doorman to valet parking for you if you require assistance in the future.

We hope to see you very soon, hopefully the weather would have improved by then!

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Interesting hotel. Check in was quick. Room service was delicious. The room was clean and functional (loved the ipod docking station) but it lacked personality. I was just a number (room 214, for your information). And the air conditioning was really loud and ineffective. And the meal I had at the function I went to (at the hotel) was AWFUL. The bed was quite comfy but nothing special. I looked out over Kensington High Street... All in all, was it worth the £260 I paid for one night? I'm going to say no. Not special. Just OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room service meal, the Reception efficiency and the cleanliness and functionality of your room. I am sorry that you felt your room lacked personality and that the air conditioning did not work as efficiently as it should. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff next time to report any issues, I can assure you that we could have investigated the fault and get it fixed. In regards to the function you attended, please email us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk with more details in order to investigate this further.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent a Saturday night here with my sister. From the moment we approached the entrance, to when we left everything was just perfect.The staff cannot do enough for you.The room we had overlooked Kensington gardens & palace which was wonderfull.The breakfast was amazing, beautiful ingredients & all hot & fresh, in a room overlooking Kensington Gardens.We had the added bonus of seeing Prince William & Kate leave the palace & be driven away accompanied by police outriders!
The hotel is perfectly situated & only a few minutes walk from Kensington High St tube station in one direction, & The Royal Albert Hall in the other direction.
Cannot fault it, thanks for an amazing stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Kensington Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamahenis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#43 of 1,069 in London
804 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,956 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#245 of 1,069 in London
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#49 of 1,069 in London
3,289 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,069 in London
802 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing