We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
east Cowes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Special visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

An excellent hotel. Service was superb.
Arrived early but the room was not ready, told would contact on the mobile when ready as a priority.
Advised it would ready at 1400 as thsi was the check in time. Returned just before 12 but still not ready, without question offered a tea and coffee and came and found us twenty minutes later when the room was ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vectisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    715
    186
    77
    47
See reviews for
617
987
191
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

One night trip to London and normally stay at the connaught, however after my stay here I will certainly be back.

All the staff are very well trained and are polite and helpful, the make eye contact which is important.

Great breakfast and again could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanafin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I normally spend about £120 a night on a hotel in London, but am generally a little disappointed. This time, I spent £20 extra (via booking.com) and got something that really felt special.

The room I had was a 'Queen' which is the entry level for this hotel. That said, it was still spacious, was spotless and very well fitted out, especially in the bathroom with Villeroy & Boch fittings. Towels, sheets and bathrobes were whiter than white and there were a couple of nice touches with some complimentary chocolates and newspaper.

What I really liked was the way I was treated by everyone in the hotel from the reception staff to the doormen and cleaners. As probably one of the smaller spenders at the hotel during my stay, I certainly wasn't made to feel that way and I will definitely be looking to re-book this hotel for future visits.

On a practical note, the hotel sits at the end of Kensington High St, 5 minutes walk from a number of great shops and eating/drinking options. The Royal Albert Hall is 10 mins walk away and a gateway to Kensington Gardens is just to the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Has become my London home is recent years. Always greeted and staff seem to remember you. Always friendly. Probably the best room service breakfasts going too. Would recommend Park Terrace restaurant too. A cut above your average hotel restaurant

Room Tip: The more you pay the better you get. What a surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannonc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We always stay within 10 minutes of Kinsington Palace, usually in an apartment. For our 15th visit to London we decided to pull out all the stops and stay at this hotel which we had been looking at for years. We were very pleased with every aspect of this property from the room, the staff, and the food service. Kinsington Garden being adjacent to the hotel was an obvious plus. Underground stations for 3 different lines are within a 10 min. walk. We look forward to returning to this property.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

A few days business trip, free upgrade, great service, splendid room, Beautiful view to the park. First time in London to have the room ready to be occupied before the official check in time. Tube is right at the corner connecting to everywhere in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel, in total, is very nice. I can't give it 5 stars because a couple of things were missing for me. First, it is in a very nice neighborhood. The bus stops right outside of the hotel. The tube is two blocks away. You will probably have to change lines once if you want to get to the most common tourist areas. However, this is not a big deal. It is right next to a park, there is plenty of shopping, a couple of pubs, two clubs, restaurants, and a Whole Foods. It seemed very safe. As a side note, if you want to go out at night to the tourist areas, you will need to take a night bus if you stay out late or be ready to pay for a taxi. The taxis are very expensive. The hotel itself is very nice. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was great with nice linen. The bathroom was beautiful with a large shower and plenty of lighting. However, there is no free Wi-Fi anywhere in the hotel. It costs 20 GBP per night! Ridiculous!!!! In this day and age, I don’t care if you are a 5 star hotel, that's just poor business. There was also no iron/ironing board in the room. We did find one in the hallway, but it was inconvenient. The concierge was very helpful and gave us tips only a local would know. I would not recommend the Asian restaurant. WAY WAY overpriced for the food. It was nothing special. In fact, I found it to be rather boring food. And, the drinks are very expensive. All in all, I would stay here again. But, I may look for a place with free Wi-Fi on a better tube line.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTINTC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay at the Royal Garden Hotel.

I am very pleased to know that you had a nice stay overall and thought our location was very convenient. However, I am disappointed to hear that our award-winning Min Jiang Restaurant did not meet your expectations, especially as it is renowned for its Sichuan, legendary wood-fired duck and Dim Sum.
We appreciate your comment in regards Internet and please note that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi and other benefits when reservations are booked directly through the hotel.
We do also have iron and iron boards upon request through Housekeeping, please do not hesitate to contact Housekeeping or any member of our staff during your next visit.

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#41 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing