We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay over Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swaffham, Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb stay over Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the festive period and had the most fantastic time. From being recognised by the staff when checking in to the friendly farewells on leaving the whole experience was superb. The location is great, the rooms overlooking Kensington Palace quiet and relaxing, and the food outstanding. We are already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking Kensington Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    715
    186
    77
    47
See reviews for
617
987
191
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May and are finally able to write a review. We stayed for four nights and were not at all impressed...

When we entered the hotel (about 5:00 in the afternoon), not a single clerk could look up and extend a greeting. Finally, we walked up to a women and she asked if she could help us. (We were exchanging Disney points for our stay and this equated to well over $500 per night.) My wife mentioned that she noticed that we would have gotten free internet if we had booked directly for a much cheaper rate. The clerk said, "Unfortunately, we can't do that."

We were sent to our room -- which was extremely small, with no dresser or chest of drawers to unpack our cloths. The view was looking over the busy street -- certainly not the views of the park that is touted in the advertisements. And the icing on the cake was the shower in the room, which had a step up and a rain shower that came from the ceiling. I would have had to have squatted to be able to shower. I called the front desk to ask for a different room. I was told, "Unfortunately, we are filled and don't have another room to offer." I also mentioned that the view wasn't anything to write home about. At this point, the clerk said, "Well, sir, didn't you do any homework to see what you were going to be getting?" I told her that I HAD -- and that ALL the view were of the park!!! Finally after insisting that we weren't going to be staying in this room, she said that she'd have to look through the log to see what she could do. She called back after 45 minutes and had two other rooms to offer. The one was even smaller than the current room and we settled for a room where I could actually stand up to take a shower. This one was still to small to have a dresser or chest of drawers -- we had to leave a lot of our cloths in the suitcases. And the view was even worse than the first room -- this time we got to look directly over a tarred roof! We've stayed at the Four Seasons and the Mandarin Oriental -- and this one didn't even come close to comparing.

For a top class hotel, this one DOESN'T even have a swimming pool... And if you want to go to work out in the exercise room or spa, you literally have to leave the front of the hotel, and go next door and then downstairs. Very weird!

For breakfast the next morning, we asked the server if we would be able to be finished in 45 minutes, as we were meeting a friend. His response was a snotty, "We'll see." My wife ordered two fried eggs, and got ONE that was over easy -- this certainly didn't speed things up! After this experience, I specifically asked that we didn't get this waiter again, and we did have a pleasant breakfast for the other 3 mornings.

Regarding the location, if you enjoy staying in a suburb that is over 10 miles from the real center of the tourist attractions, then that's one thing. This is NOT a great location at all. You have to take a taxi to ANYWHERE you want to go. The subway is over a 5 minute walk and is a big hassle.

This is not a hotel that we enjoyed at all. Having a tiny room (that was overlooking a roof), a small bathroom, a big hassle at check in, snotty front desk clerks and snotty service in the restaurant just doesn't make one very delighted. Next time, we'll CERTAINLY stay at a different hotel!

Let me make this clear.... Odds are that you are not going to get the nice view that they show in the brochure, you're going to live out of the suitcase (because there aren't drawers provided to unpack), you'll waste a lot of time traveling to where you want to go, you'll get a tiny room and tiny bathroom, and you'll get SNOTTY service. Good Luck with that!!!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodworker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your stay in May 2012 did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies if you feel that any member of our staff did not offer the service that you expected. We are proud of the high level of service our team deliver, however your comments have been passed to the relevant managers as we always strive to maintain our 5 star standards of service.

Our rooms have recently been refurbished with improved and modern features. We offer a range of room categories with differing sizes and views all of which are described on our website.
Our location in the exclusive and relaxed Kensington, overlooking the Kensington Palace and Gardens is just 10 minutes away from some of London’s attractions and the shopping districts of Chelsea, Mayfair and Knightsbridge. The closest underground station is less than 5 minutes walking which conveniently also links to all major London airports.

Please let us know the next time that you are visiting London, we will be happy to offer you our best available rate with the benefits of booking directly and we will make sure that we allocate the best view for you and your wife.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice modern 5 stars hotel located minutes walk from Kensington palace and park. It's prime location and excellent clean rooms make this hotel a very good choise. We stayed in the garden view room. Nice view and excellent room, bed, big flat tv and fabulous bathroom. Service is also very good. Breakfast , wi fi were not included in the price and are expensive to my opinion. There is no free wifi even in the lobby which is shameful. Be aware when you use airport transfer if you are two couples for higher fee that is failed to be mentioned on the hotel site. Bottom line is still excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and really like it....seems a bit of a favorite with football teams as well as there has been either a team or some football legend staying there every time we have!.........the reception/door staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean with good amenities, all you would expect from a good London hotel. If you are lucky enough to have a room overlooking the park the view is lovely. They have a nice bar upstairs where the service is good also.
Breakfast can be a little chaotic and busy and if you order from the menu they do charge extra, and I did notice a couple of people to whom this hadn’t been made clear, there is however no real need to order extras unless you particularly fancy something as there is plenty to choose from on the buffet, my husband had a very good full English breakfast from the buffet and I had a good selection of fruit etc. All in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the park if they have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STRINGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel lives up to expectation. Helpful staff and good rooms. I got a road view room but there was zero noise. Breakfast had a good spread. Best thing about the hotel is the excellent location. The tube station is hardly a 5 minute walk and lots of good places to shop over the weekend.

Did not a chance to have dinner at the hotel, but the other couple who were travelling with us, did and they gave very good feedback.

Overall, im coming back next time in in london.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitSarawgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

That is, besides being expensively modernized and in a Prime Location on the edge of Kensington Gardens and neighouring the Palace and the shops of Kensington High Street - our full confidence in knowing: -

We will receive a genuinely warm welcome from everyone, whether it is from the general
manager or the chamber maid.

The ease and comfort of knowing all arrangements will have been made, including every effort
to ensure we have our favourite room.

The hidden secret of the hotel's competitively priced, yet award winning, restaurants

Leisurely afternoon teas (once again, at surprisingly reasonable prices) whilst devouring the
best scones since mother used to make them and listening to the melodic sound of Nina
tinkling the ivories.

Proper coffee prepared by the genial Park Terrace boss, Massimo, who crafted his art in
Florence.

The smiling face of Vilmos, running the bar; which is an appropriate description because he
moves around the tables so quickly he must be on skates!

We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view across the park. Park Terrace lunches and afternoon teas are real quality at surpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeharriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read such lovely comments from a loyal and valuable guest who has been staying consistently for many years.
I’m also glad to know that my colleagues in Park Terrace; Massimo and Vilmos have made your stay extra special. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been passed on to the relevant managers and teams who were very pleased to hear your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Reading the two previous reviews I can wholeheartedly agree, the night in question December 5th (my birthday!) was a very cold night and we were left outside barefooted for two hours...not one single member of staff in sight!! We were never informed about what was going on, you would think a 5* hotel would have some sort of agreement with another local hotel to have a room where their guests could wait in the warm. It completely ruined our trip to London as we were too tired the next day to do anything we had planned to do....unacceptable!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. First of all I wanted to extend our sincere apologies at any inconvenience caused to you and your friend during your stay in regards to the fire evacuation.
Our main concern is the safety of our guests, and it was unfortunate that you had to wait outside, but we are unable to allow guests back in until the Fire Officer was satisfied the building was safe to re-enter. We had a full complement of night staff on duty, most of whom were assisting the fire department, which is why they may not have been prominent.

I did want to confirm that we do have arrangements in place with other organisations and plans were being made to utilize them in case the delay had been further extended. However, we are looking into a more localized option capable of handling the number of guests so that we may shorten the decision time.
Rest assured we will be contacting you directly to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#41 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing