We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovated hotel”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Garden hotel as part of the Worldhotels Conference and enjoyed the hotel very much. Renovated rooms, good service and and staff attention.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the World Hotels Conference was a success and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased you appreciated the renovations the hotel underwent and that you found the staff and service were good.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,830 - 2,836 of 3,406 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked a king room but only had smoking rooms on check in NOT GOOD so gave us a queen room NOT GOOD ! Also only one cup in room to make tea so had to share , and they call this a five star hotel I don't think so !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear guest,

I do apologise for the issues you encountered with your room reservation. We have only a small number of smoking rooms in our hotel to be able to accommodate all of our guest’s requirements. I regret that only one of these roomswas available in your selected room type. When booking directly with the hotel we will always ask a guest’s preference for a smoking or non-smoking room, unfortunately rooms booked through other means often do not provide this preference to us in advance.

The hotel was fully booked at the time of your stay and unfortunately we were unable to upgrade you, which is what we would normally try to do in this situation. Queen rooms are usually for single occupancy which explains why there was only one cup in the room. We should have asked our housekeeping department to add extra amenities to your room before you entered it. I sincerely apologise for our failing on this occasion.

I would be very grateful if you could contact our guest relations at guestrelations@royalgardenhotel.co.uk for us to further discuss your experience.

I hope to hear from you soon,
Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

How to train staff to enter the hotel rooms without knocking? How to keep bread at least a day past it's sell date before serving? Our room developed a leak around midnight which we were told is very common with such an old air conditioning system. Who do you talk to when you ask a cheese plate without goats cheese and the first bite of something that looks like Brie turns out to be goat? Of course the manager is never actually on site at this hotel, or his staff are carefully hiding his prescence, so discussing the shortcomings of this barely 2 star parading as a 5 star with someone of influence consequently highly unlikely. I thoroughly urge anyone contemplating staying here, to think again. I am traveling the world over, and have never in my life had such an awful hotel experience as the one I am living now. Hoping to check out early and never to return. We are a party of ten rooms, and everyone had to complain. No one apologized, nothing will change here...

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
6  Thank Bumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear guest,

I was very surprised and disappointed to read your review. I would greatly appreciate if you could address an email to me on guestrelations@royalgardenhotel.co.uk. I hope we will be able to further discuss your experience as your stay with us does not reflect our usual standards at all.

I do hope to hear from you as soon as possible,
Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed six nights in a Garden Room in late May 2012.We are in our early seventies so the location is superb. The room was quiet, spacious and the bed and pillows very comfortable. Free internet usage in the room was fantastic as it allowed us to stay in touch with home on a regular basis (no high mobile phone bills) and to better plan our tourist activities.

We stayed in a Garden Room on Level 9 on our last trip in 2009 and were extremely impressed by the panoramic view over Kensington Gardens. However, to our disappointment, this time we were allocated a room on Level 1. Level 1 is below the tree line and therefore, the view was mainly restricted to the trees on the boundary of the adjacent Kensington Gardens.

Having booked nine months prior, we did have an expectation of being allocated a room on a higher Level. Our thanks to the Trainee Receptionist, Natalie, who did make her best efforts to secure a room on a higher Level for us, but to no avail.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel - it was conveniently located in Hyde Park - right next to Kensington Palace and near a tube station, restaurants and shopping. The room was very modern with an excellent king size bed. The breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was convenient for your needs.

I was very happy to read that you particularly appreciated our newly renovated rooms and the breakfast at Park Terrace restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in April. Did my booking through Expedia.com.au and got a reasonable deal for a top hotel in London. Deal came with no extras so breakfast and wifi not included. When you add over 20 pounds for fairly average buffet breakfast and 20 pounds per day wifi charge and it doesnt seem so reasonable. You can solve the breakfast issue by walking across the road to Giraffe which is a great little cafe with friendly service and good food or even cheaper is down at Whole Foods market for coffee, juice, bacon and eggs, etc. for under 10 pounds. Wifi charge is outrageous these days and that really has to move with the times and be offered for free.

The room was quite small but functional. Beds, cleaning and amenities as you would expect. The gym is separate from the hotel, down in the basement and accessed by a lift from outside the hotel. Its VERY average unless you go into the personal training room which i think requires membership or a charge - it wasnt offered. The gym equipment is very limited and steam and dry sauna was small - showers, changerooms need a makeover. The concierge were great and gave great advice on transport options, restaurants, laundry and held/delivered parcels. Well done boys!

I love the location on High St. Kensington. Bus stops outside in both directions and tube is a short walk. You are at the end of the shopping strip so away from the crowds. If you are lucky to enjoy the views over Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park back to the city you will agree they are spectacular. I had a function in the Chinese restaurant on top floor which i imagine is expensive but WOW the views! Food was pretty good too.

i travelled on business so price less of an issue but if it was coming out of my own pocket i would say it was on the expensive side for what you got when you include breakfast and wifi. But hey, thats London! where do you find decent quality close to the city all inclusive for 200-250 pounds. Maybe time to adjust the price expectations.

Room Tip: if you can get a view over Kensington Gardens, its pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location suited your needs. I was also delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed your experience at Min Jiang restaurant and will share this with the restaurant manager.

Thank you also for your views on the gym. We have just finished extensive renovations throughout the hotel and the gym is next on our list; so hopefully we will carry out works shortly for our guests to enjoy.

I was disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast and Wi-Fi. Our breakfast is quite competitive with other London 5-star hotels and we always strive to review our offering and make sure we offer value for money and so will continue to review this. In regards to the Wi-Fi, we actually have an incentive to booking directly with the hotel via the phone or hotel website, including free Wi-Fi, Air Miles and a restaurant voucher. So please make sure to take a look at our website.


We hope to see you again in the near future,

Warm regards,
Graham Bamford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is pure calmness destination in London. Within a walking distance from almost everything...High Street Kensington station, Albert Hall, National Museum and of course the beautiful Hyde Park. The room that facing the Hyde park are second to none.
The hotel has a Spa. Make sure you try the 10th floor authentic Chinese Restaurant called Min Jiang.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabahDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly liked your room and found our location ideal for your needs.

I am also very happy to see you enjoyed your meal at Min Jiang which is famous for its authentic Chinese cuisine.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,006 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,458 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#54 of 1,077 in London
828 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $216 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing