We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Outstanding"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #233 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
West Ireland
1 review
“"Outstanding"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Lived in london for years, returned for a short break and found this beauty on the internet. From the moment we arrived we knew we were somewhere special. From friendly check-in to our really quirky room to the great cocktail bar we had a phenomenal experience. Will use the Gore again, reminded me of everything good about London.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    491
    156
    66
    27
See reviews for
205
784
84
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We booked the Gore Hotel through Expedia. We had heard good things about the place: spacious rooms, historic location, etc. When we arrived jet-lagged, we were shown a twin-bedded room that was hardly larger than a closet, with a view of an air shaft. We were told all the twin-bedded rooms were like that. We were exhausted, but determined not to stay in that room. We were told that the larger rooms would cost more (first 50 pounds, then cut to 25 pounds more a night).

We saw three more rooms until we took room 203. It had a queen bed. The room was clean, but had no chest of drawers and housekeeping was stingy with toiletries. Not until the fourth day of our four-day stay did we get shampoo. There were double spigots in the bathroom sink, so we had cold water or scalding hot water. The mirrors were dark, set high and inconvenient for makeup.

The bar was dark, shabby and amateurish. They didn't know cachaca from tequila.The breakfast was excellent. The sheets, robes and pillows were fine.With such a geat location, they should fix the problems and not insult new guests with the worst room.
We would not return because the management was more interested in an extra 100 pounds than in gaining devoted return clients.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Incredibly romantic, rich textures and four poster, could not have been more perfect

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

As a long time visitor to this hotel, its great to see improvements especially in tough financial times. The location in Kensington is really convenient but still quiet and peaceful. The rooms have always been charming but the recent changes in the bistro has brought a breath of fresh air. The staff are excellent - professional but personable without being intrusive. A real home from home, more relaxed than the usual business hotels and a place that is great to come back to in the evenings. Its a model case in providing that bit extra to set yourself apart fromthe crowd.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaninDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at The Gore last weekend for my boyfriend's birthday. Although I cannot fault the hotel itself, there was a private party that went on until 4am with extrmely loud music during our stay. The bar shuts at 1am, but there is another room that can be hired out for private parties and that does not close until 2:30am. You don't expect to be woken up by a disco going on downstairs when you are paying these prices!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Firstly the ONLY negative about this hotel, on returning home we found that the hotel had not only taken the £180 room fee from my partners card but an additional £230 for security. We were not warned about this and it could of been quite embarrassing in Tesco if we did not have sufficient funds in the account, upon phoning the hotel we discovered that this is standard practice and will be returned back to the account in 10days should they not find any fault with your room. They were very helpful and sent a fax to the bank to advise that they had no intention of keeping this additional payment...but it was inconvenient and rather annoying.

On to the many goods bits....I stayed here for 1 night in early february as a belated birthday gift from my partner, we had booked to see Cirque du Soleil at the Royal Albert Hall, as this was my first visit to London a particular concern was getting around and about therefore I wanted a hotel close to the theatre. After searching dozens of hotels we decided on the Gore as it looked a little different.

Upon arriving in London via train the tube/walking journey to the Gore seemed to take a lifetime, however after doing the journey a few times, the nearest tube is approx 10mins walk. As Im sure many of you are, I am an avid shopper and after hitting Oxford Street we were running very late for the show, a quick freshen up & change of clothes left us with 15-minutes to get seated....needless to say I was a little panicked! The stress was over when I was told to simply turn left out of the main door and follow the road for a couple of steps. As we turned the corner the Royal Albert Hall rose infront of us, a very impressie sight!! After the show was over it was a great relief to only have a few paces back to the hotel as it was freezing! All in all we had a wonderful stay the staff were extremely polite, I was really pleased with the room - however my partner thought a tad small for the price (but as I said to him you are paying for the postcode!) I would return to the Gore in a heartbeat if I was visiting the Royal Albert Hall again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Gore is a very charming hotel with really friendly staff. I'm docking it a couple of stars because:

1. The restaurant was poor
2. The Wifi didn't work
3. I wasn't happy with the location

With respect to the last point, it's in a nice neighborhood but it's a hike to the nearest subway. a 12-15 minute walk may not sound like much, but it can be rough in winter, especially when you're doing it 4 times a day. And there's not much in the way of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Randolph314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#40 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#159 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#425 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#93 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#176 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing