We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goretastic”
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #243 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Goretastic”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Used The Gore for the 2nd time and I still find it a very pleasant venue and leave feeling we have been very well looked after. £17.50 for an English Breakfast is a tad steep but it was very difficult to fault. Two minus but trivial points.....I was not offered any choice of toast (brown/white) and coffee refills are hard to come by. I would still go back tomorrow and feel very spoilt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    505
    158
    71
    27
See reviews for
215
803
84
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Gore Hotel. The stay were extremely friendly and attentive. The room, although small, was beautiful. The bar was inviting and the breakfast lovely. It is an extremely beautiful building and I couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelSDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in the Dame Nellie suite which is still beautiful but could do with a freshen up, it looked a bit tatty.The mirror had a big corner missing, there is no i pod dock or music and no free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was charged a full day of internet when I only used 3 minutes, even though they break it down hourly. It might have been my logout error. Smallish but charming rooms. The bar is cool.
Still, I love this hotel.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here as we were going to see Coldplay at the Royal Albert Hall (terrific concert btw!). It is literally round the corner so perfect situation and opposite Kensington Gardens so great for walking. Rooms small but well furnished, although charge for WiFi which must come free in future please. Bar is really good, with great music and a place to be seen. Breakfast good, though a little slow coming. Would recommend especially if you are visiting the RAH!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as a part of a "rewards and recognition" trip paid for by my company. I'm not sure if it was by pure chance or not, but we were put in room 314, which is a stunning suite named after someone (can't remember who!!). Absolutely lovely attention to detail in the room, and everyone we spoke to was warm, friendly and very helpful. The concierge recommended a fantastic restaurant to us (L'Etranger - separate review) which really made our night very special. Thanks to everyone!!

Room Tip: We've been told that every room is different and special, but I would certainly recommend room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

To start off, the location of the hotel is excellent...close to the tube and within walking distance to many great restaurant, pubs, sites and Imperial College (where I happened to be visiting on business). The hotel is charming, the rooms are very clean and well kept, the reception area and restaurant are nice, and all of the staff was great. Everybody that I had the pleasure of interacting with (with an exception of the restaurant dinner staff) seemed to enjoy their jobs and were genuinely focused on helping to make my stay as pleasant as possible. I took one star off because of the restaurant...it was very pricey, the portions were small and the staff was slow and did not seem to share the same enthusiasm for their jobs as everyone else in the hotel. I will stay again and I would highly recommend The Gore.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#370 of 1,068 in London
975 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#477 of 1,068 in London
632 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#46 of 1,068 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#146 of 1,068 in London
849 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#92 of 1,068 in London
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#182 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous 190 Queen's Gate by Daniel Galmiche and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing