We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and a little under hand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #234 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hurst Green, Lancashire
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Over priced and a little under hand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night at Gore. Nice hotel and nice room BUT.

1. Price on net was shown ex VAT whereas others inclusive
2. An outrageous £20 for 24 hours wifi
3. Breakfast nice but an additional cost to an overpriced room
4. Gratuities added to the bill but only told so when asked what they were. One was for breakfast when all I received was my Bacon and Eggs
5. A tired old small TV and no tea making facilities in the room.

All in all the cost was no cheaper than the Kensington Hotel down the same street and that was very very much better for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    488
    153
    66
    27
See reviews for
202
774
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and located about 10-15 minutes from the train station. For 200 pounds a night, I was surprised that the room came with nothing extra. Internet is 20 pounds a night. Breakfast is another 14-17 pounds. I thought the hotel was beautiful and the rooms were nice but I was disappointed overall. There are plenty of very nice hotels in London that include internet and breakfast. I'd stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was received as warmly as possible! Paulo showed me the room and was restless to attend my needs, including making sure I knew all my steps back to the airport. The rooms are a special treat in experiencing the English way. A great choice for a traditional central stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana_b_pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My reason for staying at the Gore this time around was because I was participating in the London-Surrey 100 bike ride. The reason I chose the Gore was because of its location, close to the event finish, the fact that I had enjoyed my stay there before and because I knew that the hotel's service was excellent which, given that my bicycle also had to stay with me, was an important factor.

In the event, the staff surpassed my expectations of helpfulness and friendliness. They were both interested in what I was doing and extremely helpful. Particular praise should go to the concierge staff who decided that the best place to store my bike was in the concierge cupboard. They also arranged for my bike to be brought out for me for 5am on the Sunday morning so that I was ready to go first thing. Your early morning staff were also very helpful in finding me some hot water so that I could eat my pre-event meal of porridge. All of this was massively helpful in calming my pre-event nerves ensuring that I had a calm start to my long day in the saddle. After I returned from my ride, the staff were again extremely helpful and very interested in my progress which was really lovely.

Beyond that, the room was immaculate, really comfortable and luxurious and the food in your hotel restaurant was lovely. I do have a slight complaint about the cost of the lunch myself and my wife had in the bar which was expensive even by London standards but, other than that, I loved my stay and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were told prior to visit that the lift wasnt working. Room very comfortable and a lovely bed. staff were very helpfull and attentive. It is so nerar to the Albert Hall only a 4 minute slow walk.Lovely Hotel will use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungleboy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, very pleasant staff. Lift was out of order so had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. It would have been good to know this prior to arriving but i was upgraded and not charged for Wifi due to this inconvenice. Breakfast was nice and good value. Only thing i'd say paying for hotel room wouldn't have been expected to pay £20 for WIFI connection very steep and unnessary.

Room Tip: make sure the lift is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmastavrinides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The overnight stay was part of a proms gift to my parents. Their room was immaculate,spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and attentive, really welcoming and their room was made available to them upon arrival even though they were 3 hours early. All beverages and food were first class and thoroughly enjoyed. It is the perfect place to stay if you are planning a trip to the Albert hall. My parents could not have enjoyed their stay at this lovely hotel any more and i know that they will be booking it up again in the very near future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#335 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#38 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#430 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#91 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing