We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming with good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #233 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming with good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed a weekend, 2 nights, in January 2012. When I booked a Deluxe room on the hotels own homepage I requested any of their signature rooms and ended up in the Miss Ada room, (208) my favourite! It's a corner room, with thick curtain that blacked out when we wanted to, a queen four poster bed, a small sofa and a table, a writing table, TV and minibar. The bathroom had a toilet set as a throne, we laughed every time we went!

We absolutely loved the style of this hotel; rustic and warm but still very practical! There are a lot of beautiful details in this hotel, the stairway, the floors, the mirrors. It's not the newest furniture, people who like brand new thing might find the wooden interior in the bathroom akward, but it has such a feeling about it!

The bar area was great with skilled barstaff who served us some excellent drinks and the music was well suited for the guest and for creating good atmosphere. We did'nt eat at the restaurant but we saw it was full both Friday and Saturday night.

Breakfast was included in the offer I booked, and there was a continental breakfast buffet which we liked with yoghurts, fresh (and very tasty) fruits, croissants and toasts. If we missed something it would be some kind of cheese or ham, tomatoes a s o, but one might have gotten it if one would ask, but we didn't.. :S The breakfast staff could have been a little more swift but no big deal.

The hotel helped arranging transport for the airport, other than that we didn't use their consiglieri so we don't know about that.

The only thing we did'nt like is the annoying thing about having to pay for Wi-fi! There is at computer in the mezzanine with we used for printing our flight tickets.

But overall, an excellent hotel in a quiet, yet central, location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaZoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    489
    153
    66
    27
See reviews for
203
775
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester,UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Extremely traditional building, lovely period decoration and friendly staff
Great Green Room lounge - free soft drinks and open fire
Wonderful eclectic bar
Add wifi in every room and you have a strange old + new mix

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

After securing a week's stay, nearly EVERY amenity was stripped from us. They had the only room that one can sit and relax or have tea, closed for parties, weddings, conventions....loud, not restful. On top of that, the place was wet with fresh paint, workers everywhere....the rooms small, service kind of cold as English did not seem A language they had control of, you had to pay for Internet, one small elevator ---slow and jammed with service deliveries of bags. we come to London a lot and stay at many small hotels....this one has LOST HER CHARM!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anenglishmaninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked for one night only to be near The Royal Albert hall for a concert.
Hotel is very charming and pretty, staff are very pleasant and helpful, location is truly superb.
However:
The "queen" rooms (which are their lowest rate "standard" rooms) are small... and i mean very small. you have to squeeze past the bed sideways to get to the window side of it. There are no chest of drawers and only one tiny cupboard. The bathroom is so small you couldnt swing a cat (or a mouse or a flea). I could touch both side walls at the same time easily (and i'm not a tall person with long arms). We were originally in room 110 (where the lock of the bathroom sticks out so you catch your clothes on it coming out which damaged my cardigan and my daughters trousers). When coming back from the concert we ended up changing rooms as room 110 is straight over the bar where there was very loud music. We could have had a disco in our room as the music was so loud (if there had been enough space however). The hotel didnt cause any problems with this (luckily there was a free room left) and that resolved the noise issue. The new room 311 (also a "queen") seemed to be slightly larger (at least we could get past the bed without turning sideways and shuffling) but the bathroom door didnt shut. however: since the bathroom was so small you could sit on the toilet and by straightening your leg you could block the door shut !!
during the room transfer a group of us were stuck in the lift... going from floor to floor without the door managing to open... our fellow travellers in this said they had had the same the previous day as well.... a bit scary as the lift is very small and i'm slightly claustrophobic
We used the bar downstairs which is wonderful and full of character (though they could do with some more decent chairs) and the food we had there was great. After the concert we used the restaurant which was actually a disappointment. Fancy menu which didnt deliver on taste and you had to pay extra for vegetables etc.... portion sizes were small...
All in all? quaint and charming, brilliant location, queen rooms ONLY to be used for short stays!!!

Room Tip: Only take a "queen" room for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritInBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Spain, Italy, France, Germany,Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

WOW! A step back in time. What a beautiful maintained relic to the victriana era a beautiful quirky hotel with all the modern cons of a luxury hideaway
. Tucked in a tree lined avenue this little gem is so regal, I felt like royalty from the moement I walked in to the moment iI left. A great trendy modern bar serving amazing drinks in a relaxed and hip atmosphere. The bedroom had all the grandure of royalty but with all mod, cons, LCD TV -DVD inroom refreshments and a safe. (Amazing showers) Penhalagan products.

This hotel is a discreet well run haven in the hear of London.

Thank you

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUBL0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We chose South Kensington because we were visiting our son who was attending school in the area. Again, this hotel was one of Fodor's choices and we weren't disappointed! The neighborhood is fabulous - sandwiched between Hyde Park and great museums. We walked to Notting Hill and Portobello Road passing hundreds of great shops and windows on a balmy fall Sunday afternoon. Our room was a bit small for the price, but well appointed as was the lobby and the very charming great room. Fabulous coffee or tea any time of day there. The restaurant and bar add great ambiance to the place as well - we didn't dine but had after dinner drinks in the bar and enjoyed the crowd immensely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel was chosen as was perfectly positioned for visiting the V&A and National History Museum. The hotel was very well presented, cosy and tastefully furbished. The twin room (304) was a little on the small side but again, perfectly presented and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with a shower over the bath and benefitted from a window.
The only negative aspect of the stay was the check in. We arrived at 3.45pm and were informed that due to staff shortages the room wasn't ready. There seemed to be no urgency and were casually informed that it would be around a 30 minute wait. As there seemed no urgency to prepare the room and no offer of a coffee whilst it was sorted out, we left our bags and decided to out for some refreshments. The communication between the front desk and house keeping seemed a little problematic and on our return at 6.00pm, we had to wait again whilst another call had to be made to house keeping with regards to the 'status' of the room!
Back to the positive, breakfast was great and we were attended by a friendly waiter who was attentive and very efficient. The food was good and prepared to order.
Overall a great stay and the blip at check in, well I feel we were just a little unlucky on the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salfordsausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#338 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#38 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#438 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#186 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing