We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the Best Service in a London Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Service in a London Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Due to the closure of Heathrow over the holiday period we found ourselves with a couple of extra days in London. We booked The Milestone not really having any expectations really. After several days in the Arctic temperatures of my Mother's house all I knew is that I wanted somewhere warm! Well, even before we arrived the service was amazing. The concierge went out of his way to help my husband to return our rental car and answer all of his questions. From the minute we arrived we were treated with courtesy and respect by all members of staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a studio room as our original room was not ready. In response to the people who say that the rooms at this hotel are small - well, this is a very old building, in a country not known for it's size, full of character, enjoy that aspect or check into an anonymous hotel with large rooms. To be honest the room was not that small - it was plenty big enough for two adults and one (small) teenager. There was an enormous walk-in closet where we stored our luggage so it actually felt fairly spacious. I wish we had had more time to spend enjoying the hotel and I really hope to return soon. Definitely the most professional staff we have encountered. Oh yes, one last thing - this hotel has to have the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovelinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    135
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
478
861
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for three nights, including Chritmas Eve, with my extended family, including three teenagers. The hotel itself is lovely - an old mansion with lots of British atmosphere. The lobby, tea room (with roaring fire) and bar are quintessentially British. The rooms and baths are adequate in size and furnished beautifully. But, the service was the real standout. The staff pays attention to every detail and no request seems to be too much for them to accommodate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

A beautiful hotel in a lovely situation with very helpful staff. However the standard of food has deteriorated. The menu is a bizarre combination of dishes. I have eaten there regularly for the last ten years but as it is the nearest to us, keep returning in the hope that things have changed. Sadly this is not happening and this has now been abandoned. Please complain when your food is of poor quality, cold or not what you expected.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent visit to the Milestone. I am highly concerned to read of your disappointments with your dining experience.
As a regular past user of our Hotel and restaurant I am very keen to learn how you feel we might improve our menu offering as we endeavour to offer a good choice of modern British cuisine as well as some simpler comfort food items. All our food is prepared from scratch using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. I am also very keen to learn a little more about your specific disappointments with the quality of food you received during your last visit to us (in July I understand). We are genuinely committed to providing the very highest standard of cuisine and would very much value your comments or suggestions. Kind regards Andrew Pike, General Manager, Milestone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

I have never posted on a travel website before but feel compelled to compliment The Milestone Hotel in London. We have traveled extensively and typically stay in upscale hotels including our last trips to the Mandarin Oriental in Vegas, Atlantis in the Bahamas and Ritz Carltons all over the world. I have to say we have received the best service during our stay at The Milestone of any hotel we have ever been to. From the moment we walked in, every single person at the hotel knew the name of our family and greeted us as if we were their family. We were checked into one of the apartments by the general manager himself. I of course did not realize this until later after I had tipped him 5 pounds for showing us our rooms.

The apartment is a two story delight with a sitting room on the first level and two bedrooms, two and half baths and a kitchen on the second level. For a week in London with a family of five, it is perfect. Everyday we have been surprised by something new. On Christmas Eve there was a manager's reception with caroling followed up by a night at the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. A night to be remembered. This morning we awoke to the Christmas tree in our room to open packages. When we opened our door to receive the complimentary breakfast, we discovered that the hotel had left presents for our family. There were two for each member of our family and each one addressed to each family member, Talk about feeling special!

We have several more days left on our stay and we will be sorry when they are over. While this is our first stay at a Red Carnation Hotel, it will not be our last.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracymIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed here for my birthday treat and felt special as soon as stepped through the door. The staff are amazingly attentive and will do anything to make sure you have a pleasant stay. Fiona in the spa gave my friends and i some wonderful treatments. If you think the rooms look beautiful i the pictures wait until you get inside. I cant wait to stay here again. I had a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Very little to complain about! Apart from the rare disappearance of a doorman on our arrival everything was exactly as expected and as hoped for. Being an Leaders' Club member an upgrade was offered and we were given a wonderful deluxe studio. We were initially shown around the hotel before being shown our room and the whole experience was a worthwhile luxury. Of course staying there means spending a few £££s but for that quality I don't resent it! WIll happily return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danliszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

The older staff at The Milestone are awesome, and know how to provide incredible service. A few of the "interns" can look a bit lost, but there always seems to be a nice, regular staff person to step in if needed. They found us same day tickets to The War Horse. The meals were wonderful. Breakfast service was great and our dinner was excellent and the sommelier (Lia) brought us a lovely red she had just selected for the list.
I am ready to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celinecombatalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#3 Business Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#16 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing