We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twenty Nevern Square
Ranked #600 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Arrived to a mix-up of our reservation, however, it was dealt with in a completely good way. So the service is good. One never knows how hotel staff will deal with problems and how they will be fixed... The location is good: Earl's Court tube stop is just 5 min away (including Piccadilly line to Heathrow, District and Circle lines also), nearby Earl's Court road with a lot of places to eat and small shops, also it is around a small square containing a park so it is quiet with respect to road traffic. Given decent weather, Kensington, Hyde Park, the Natural History Musem, etc. are all within walking distance.The breakfast is fine too - I'm always happy when they give you good fresh fruit.

Room Tip: If you choose a suite, the Pasha was in fact better than the Ottoman in my opinion. The Ottoman is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 752 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed one might to attend a reunion dinner in Central London.
The hotel is in a great location, half way along the south side of Nevern Square and about 5 mins walk from Earls Court tube station. The entrance, reception and the lounge behind are nicely decorated, well lit and welcoming.
I had Room 22 which, although probably in the adjacent building, was a very decent size with a desk and chair, another chair and a wardrobe with bags of hangers. There was at least 3-4 ft around the bed on all sides - plenty space. It was spotlessly clean.
The bed itself was very comfortable with decent bed-linen. The bathroom looked like it had been fairly recently refurbished and was excellent. It was quite large, fully marble-tiled, with decent toiletries, and a bathrobe provided. It had a deep bath with a separate (hot and powerful) shower over the bath. If I was being picky, a larger towel would be better - or room-service had forgotten the bathtowel....
Continental breakfast is included in the price (£108 for a double room B&B) and is served in a small conservatory style dining room behind reception. Considering it is included, I thought the selection was more than acceptable, with fruit, good croissants, pastries, breads, cheeses, and cold meats.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is free - more expensive places please take note!!
All-in-all, this is one of the best-value hotels that I have used in London. I doubt you could do better for this price. And, although obviously a little way out of Central London, it is only about 15 mins by tube on the Piccadilly Line with trains every 5 mins at least.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Some may say it is quaint, but for our company this is just an excuse for not offering the rooms and service expected of a hotel with this star rating. The Room size experienced by some of our team they should be ashamed of allowing perhaps 2 foot around your bed. No tea or coffee making facilities (they bring to your room if you call) and apparently the welcoming plate with a serviette and a red apple on it is akin to the days when having a fresh orange juice as a starter was such a treat. Their continental breakfast and staff service again was not anywhere near the standard expected. The only thing missing with this hotel is Basil Fawlty but frankly we think he could do a better job!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

For those of you who remember the old Fry and Laurie adverts, the tag line doesn't reflect the tiny flat Stephen Fry had in the Alliance and Leicester adverts, but it is an accurate reflection of this friendly and slightly quirky hotel in Earls Court.

Given some of the reviews I expected a shoe box (stayed in one of those in Hong Kong I think), but we stayed in a standard room and although it wasn't massive it was more than comfortable. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room the compact rooms aren't going to be for you, (I think they do have suites here) but if you plan on resting your weary feet after a day pounding London pavements this is as good as anything you will find in this expensive little city.
First impressions, and all the way through the stay were of the very friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble and from the reception to the cleaners everything was done with a smile and willingness to please - very un-London like!

The room too was mightily impressive, maybe not the size but I tell you, someone has spent an absolute FORTUNE on the room fabrics. There wasn't one item from the gloriously heavy brocade bed spread to the towels that didn't spell top quality. The room smelled gloriously too of a sandalwood from a big lattice behind the bed head which gave the room a distinct feel of real quality. Red apples on the coverlets spoke of a good attention to detail. We paid £101 on a deal, and for London, in August, that is about as good as it gets. If the room felt compact, the bathroom by contrast was huge, and spotlessly tiled in beige. The only problem with this luxury was that we were staying in August and we felt a bit guilty in peeling off the heavy bedding so we could sleep without losing our own body weight in sweat. If you're English you won't be too bothered that there is no air con, but for visitors in summer we do occasionally have hot days when it might be an advantage. Honestly! August despite being warm and wet was one of those times.

Breakfast is a continental affair, but none the worse for that with good quality meats and cheese to supplement pastries and various other delicacies. Very good value I thought!
Location was one of the main reasons I choose this hotel, and for easy access to the tube it's hard to beat. The British Museum and Natural History museum are both within 1-2 tube stops, and not that far to walk, and you are right on the District and Circle Line for Kew Gardens and Covent Garden market which makes travel easy.

Earls Court itself is a nice safe little area with a splendid gastro pub "The Kings Head" nearby, well worth a visit. No longer does it appear to be "The Valley of the Kangaroos", more like the "The Valley of the French", and I was astonished to see how the area has changed in 20 years. As ever it remains lively.

Finally after visiting London last year during the Olympics and finding it to be quiet and the people to be friendly and helpful, I can report that it's as choked with tourists, and people who are rude and miserable, as I recall from the past! However it's always worth a visit and if they don't raise the prices too much, this place is well worth a visit. The lovely staff here provide a welcome antidote.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilHayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is in a strategic position, not far from Victoria stations. Rooms are very clean and quite small, with very good furniture (nice to have an apple at the arrival, after a long trip is a very good food!). The breakfast is continental, but you can choose to have also traditional English breakfast. The lady at the reception is very kind and helped us a lot during our stay. Hope to go there again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank ViaggiAdEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here at the end of October as a couple. We had the four poster room and it wasn't worth the extra. Bit surprised to see cleaners sitting near guest lift on the way to breakfast. The room was cold despite extra heaters that didn't work. Decor and ambience of the hotel is good and in a great location. For London it's good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and on checking in we discovered that the full payment had been taken off our credit card prior to our stay. I spoke to the receptionist and advised her that the credit card was used to secure booking but she informed us that due to the booking site full payment had been taken off card. We booked a small double room and it was exactly that. The room was clean and tidy but due to small size unable to even walk around the bed. The bathroom was warm and cosy. The hotel is based in a good location close to the underground. Breakfast was included but we discovered that if you wanted a fry for breakfast an extra 11 pounds was required. There is complimentary tea and coffee available throughout the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#377 of 1,078 in London
188 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#520 of 1,078 in London
1,071 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#447 of 1,078 in London
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#699 of 1,078 in London
1,000 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,868 reviews
Hotel 55
#431 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Address: 20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $96 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty Nevern Square is the second hotel in the Mayflower Collection, a family-run trio of hotels nestled in some of London's most desirable areas. Each hotel in the Collection has been uniquely designed in an East-meets-West style, complete with sumptuous furnishings, opulent colour schemes, and original carved antique furniture. Twenty Nevern Square overlooks the beautiful Nevern Square Garden and features 20 stunningly individual rooms, each equipped with all the modern essentials. The hotel has a fully-licensed bar and a secluded courtyard garden with tables and chairs. Alongside our gorgeous rooms, we have a number of special suites with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful views, marbled bathrooms, Egyptian cotton sheets, and state-of-the-art technology, including a large flat-screen HD LED TV. The hotel is just 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre, 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court tube station, and a mere 25-minute journey from Heathrow Airport! As we are situated in the fashionable Kensington & Chelsea borough, we are within walking distance of the King's Road in Chelsea, High Street Kensington, and Hyde Park and close to the Science Museum, the Victoria & Albert, and the Natural History Museum. Knightsbridge, with the illustrious Harrods department store, and Harvey Nichols London store, is also only a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing