We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Twenty Nevern Square
Ranked #564 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in a quiet square. Booked a Luxury Double room and was given room 11. It was lovely, sift colours of blue, very clean and a nice marble bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, fresh cheese, fresh fruits and really nice orange juice not that concentrate cheap stuff. Great hotel, friendly staff and I will be back as usual.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt0091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    280
    129
    36
    50
See reviews for
67
382
60
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am a regular guest at the hotel. I love this hotel, the rooms vary and some are small but this is London. They are decorated tastefully, always very clean. The toiletries and linen are excellent quality. Love the continental breakfast and will always say here when I visit London. All round great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickardo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my mum who is visiting from Korea. We were returning from a trip to barcelona late so wanted somewhere nice and comfortable for the night in London. I booked this hotel as the reviews were nice and looked really nice on website. On the day we were supposed to check in I got a phone call in Barcelona saying 'twenty nevern square hotel here, a customer has discovered a leak in a bathroom and we are trying to fix it but the parts haven't arrived yet so we may have to send you to another hotel which is our sister hotel down the road but just come to hotel anyway and we will let you know' When we got there at 11 pm, the receptionist just said yes you are booked to another hotel' No apologies or anything, I said I booked this hotel and is there another room, but he just said the other hotel is just as nice and just sent us there. Really wasn't impressed, no apologies made and the receptionist expected us to make our own way there with our luggage but there happened to be a employee who is going home who walked us to the other hotel. Really not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seung84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwentyNevern, Front Office Manager at Twenty Nevern Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear seung84,

Thank you for your taking the time for this review.

First of all we sincerely apologize for having to send you and your mother to another hotel.
There was an unexpected issue with the bathroom of the room you were suppose to stay in and due to health and safety reasons, we had it closed for the day in order to fix the problem.

We are surprised to hear about the treatment you have received from the receptionist on duty and will investigate further and ensure action will be taken. Kindly note that if it is late at night, we have limited staff and the night receptionist is unable to leave the hotel. However, the management should have informed you beforehand or try to get an arrival time so we may prepare accordingly. Senior Level will be informed about this and all staff including the managers will be briefed about this and retrained. The 20 Nevern Square Hotel staff and the service they provide is what sets us apart from the other hotels. All guest are to be treated with utmost respect and care and we are sorry you felt that you did not experience that.

We have arranged for a suitable accommodation of similar rating and standards (4- Star) which was the Mayflower Hotel located just 5 minutes walk from us and an upgraded category of room (in the case if they are fully booked, at least a room of a similar category).

We appreciate the feedback provided and constantly strive to improve ourselves.

Thank you,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a group staying in two rooms for a long weekend. The rooms were small, cramped, tired and in need of new carpeting and paint. (There were stains everywhere. Yuck!) Our bathroom smelled horrible. It seemed the sewage had backed up and the smell was actually coming from the sink and shower drains. (We had to keep the bedroom windows open -- in December -- in order to survive the stench.)

Breakfast was good.

Location quiet.

Staff helpful.

But not at all worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwentyNevern, Front Office Manager at Twenty Nevern Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear kcbn,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the staff and breakfast.

We apologize in advance for the inconvenience you experienced. The sewage issue rarely happens but the last time it did, which was a few months ago; after the guest reported it to Reception, maintenance was immediately sent there to fix the problem. The local council was made aware of the sewage. Then the room was resprayed and air fresheners were placed inside to clear the air.

About the stains, we are have passed on your concerns with the Head Housekeeper and chambermaids. 20 Nevern Square has constantly be rated at least 80% and above for cleanliness by the reviewers of Laterooms and Booking.com also Tripadvisor. Every room cleaned no matter departure or a stayover guest is double checked by the head housekeeper in accordance with the standards set.

The maintenance checks the daily departure rooms (Telephone, television, shower, lights, etc,) and also does a weekly spot check with the general manager to ensure that the set standards are met and the rooms are kept well maintained. We have recently repainted the public areas and most of the rooms earlier this year as well and done some refurbishment in a few of the rooms with the carpets, etc.

As 20 Nevern is a Townhouse boutique hotel, the management is aware that rooms can be quite small and that is why each room is advertised online have the room sizes information listed so that the guest is informed before they proceed with the reservation.

We constantly strive to improve our services and appreciate the constructive feedback.

Thank you,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room was furnished only with a large comfy chair,so we looked for the bedroom - but this was it. Next room was filled with a double bed crowded out by ornate heavy carved furniture and a picture of Buddha. Stiflingly hot, ditto tiny bathroom. Very good shower. All staff nice, all nationalities (except English , naturally. ) Breakfast ok but staff utterly untrained. Nobody ever asked us what we wanted. Most orders wrong. Never heard of mustard, or honey. Newspapers all Irish for no obvious reason. No one knew why. The whole place seems to be run as if on remote control, in a kind of dream

Room Tip: Avoid the smallest. (Rooms 14 and 15). There are some lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard186288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times because I live in Leicester but work 4 days a week in London and this is my hotel of choice. I have been staying here most weeks since December 2012 and do not see the need to try another hotel. The rooms are all individual and although a couple are small they are comfortable. This is a very boutique type hotel and I like that charm about it. The staff are friendly, especially the lady that is there in the evenings for check in. The breakfast included is standard but is just right for me for a quick bite before work. Free internet is also a benefit.
The only improvement I would like would be to have tea and coffee and ironing facilities in the room.
It is also good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reviewing the hotel on TripAdvisor, we chanced a 2 night layover here, booked through Booking.com, for the Solarium room at a very good price. And you get what you pay for! Other than the actual room & its location, everything was very good.

The hotel is within a few blocks walking distance of Earl Court underground which has an elevator & great access to all parts of the city. We took the Piccadilly Line directly from LHR with a lot of luggage so an elevator was important.

The hotel is located in a lovely, quiet area, across from a private park but a few blocks from shopping, pubs & restaurants. This is a townhouse hotel with small reception & dining room. The continental breakfast included in the low price was excellent with a choice of cold cuts & chesses, pastries, o.j., a couple of cereals, fruit & yogurt. Excellent coffee. The evening staff was helpful, giving us an adaptor to use while there. Reception stored our luggage when we arrived on an early morning flight & extended our check-out an hour & printed our boarding passes when we left. Free Wi-Fi was available in Reception, although frequently dropped, but we could not connect from our room.

As noted in other reviews, it seems the rooms in the main townhouse are quite nice &, of course, more expensive. The cheap rooms are in the annex, next door, separate entrance & up a very steep, long flight of stairs. The porter delivered our luggage there but it is not suitable for someone with mobility issues.

There are 3 rooms in the annex through a small, secured door which include the Solarium, Mezzanine & probably the Ottoman Suite ( we looked in when the door was open & it looks like the review.) The Solarium is down some more steps, abt. 6. A hall divides the bathroom(s) with the private WC on on side & a very nice large shower & smallest sink ever, on the other side with a curtain for privacy. Just enough room to turn around in. Continue into the room with a twin bed on each side of the hall. There is no room for a night stand. There is just enough space at the end of each bed for a suitcase. Continue into the solarium which is a small area of dirty glass that contains a small table, a built-in seat where we put luggage & the smallest armoire ever. There is tea & coffee service. There is a huge shade to block out the solarium light for sleeping.

We did not experience noise in the middle of the night as another reviewer but thought a helicopter was landing on the top of the building about 10 p.m. After 5 or 10 min. of this racket, looking out the window, etc, we determined it was probably a water heater or some such in the room above. We also heard a lot of footsteps above us when the occupants came home & our own floorboards creaked badly. Management needs to look into buying out the above residents to decrease the noise. We didn't complain because we didn't experience noise in the middle of the night & slept soundly.

The beds/pillows were comfortable, linens & towels were good, the room & bath clean. It was sufficiently good for London prices but might not be acceptable for many travelers. We had no real complaints other than size & location of the room & the price was right for us. We would not recommend the annex to any of our friends but the hotel is actually quite nice for someone willing to pay a little more for a good room. Had we chosen a room inside the hotel, my rating would probably have been higher.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#684 of 1,067 in London
951 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#410 of 1,067 in London
162 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#542 of 1,067 in London
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#499 of 1,067 in London
1,003 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#298 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Property: Twenty Nevern Square
Address: 20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#338 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty Nevern Square is the second hotel in the Mayflower Collection, a family-run trio of hotels nestled in some of London's most desirable areas. Each hotel in the Collection has been uniquely designed in an East-meets-West style, complete with sumptuous furnishings, opulent colour schemes, and original carved antique furniture. Twenty Nevern Square overlooks the beautiful Nevern Square Garden and features 20 stunningly individual rooms, each equipped with all the modern essentials. The hotel has a fully-licensed bar and a secluded courtyard garden with tables and chairs. Alongside our gorgeous rooms, we have a number of special suites with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful views, marbled bathrooms, Egyptian cotton sheets, and state-of-the-art technology, including a large flat-screen HD LED TV. The hotel is just 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre, 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court tube station, and a mere 25-minute journey from Heathrow Airport! As we are situated in the fashionable Kensington & Chelsea borough, we are within walking distance of the King's Road in Chelsea, High Street Kensington, and Hyde Park and close to the Science Museum, the Victoria & Albert, and the Natural History Museum. Knightsbridge, with the illustrious Harrods department store, and Harvey Nichols London store, is also only a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing