We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twenty Nevern Square
Ranked #566 of 1,067 Hotels in London
SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reviewing the hotel on TripAdvisor, we chanced a 2 night layover here, booked through Booking.com, for the Solarium room at a very good price. And you get what you pay for! Other than the actual room & its location, everything was very good.

The hotel is within a few blocks walking distance of Earl Court underground which has an elevator & great access to all parts of the city. We took the Piccadilly Line directly from LHR with a lot of luggage so an elevator was important.

The hotel is located in a lovely, quiet area, across from a private park but a few blocks from shopping, pubs & restaurants. This is a townhouse hotel with small reception & dining room. The continental breakfast included in the low price was excellent with a choice of cold cuts & chesses, pastries, o.j., a couple of cereals, fruit & yogurt. Excellent coffee. The evening staff was helpful, giving us an adaptor to use while there. Reception stored our luggage when we arrived on an early morning flight & extended our check-out an hour & printed our boarding passes when we left. Free Wi-Fi was available in Reception, although frequently dropped, but we could not connect from our room.

As noted in other reviews, it seems the rooms in the main townhouse are quite nice &, of course, more expensive. The cheap rooms are in the annex, next door, separate entrance & up a very steep, long flight of stairs. The porter delivered our luggage there but it is not suitable for someone with mobility issues.

There are 3 rooms in the annex through a small, secured door which include the Solarium, Mezzanine & probably the Ottoman Suite ( we looked in when the door was open & it looks like the review.) The Solarium is down some more steps, abt. 6. A hall divides the bathroom(s) with the private WC on on side & a very nice large shower & smallest sink ever, on the other side with a curtain for privacy. Just enough room to turn around in. Continue into the room with a twin bed on each side of the hall. There is no room for a night stand. There is just enough space at the end of each bed for a suitcase. Continue into the solarium which is a small area of dirty glass that contains a small table, a built-in seat where we put luggage & the smallest armoire ever. There is tea & coffee service. There is a huge shade to block out the solarium light for sleeping.

We did not experience noise in the middle of the night as another reviewer but thought a helicopter was landing on the top of the building about 10 p.m. After 5 or 10 min. of this racket, looking out the window, etc, we determined it was probably a water heater or some such in the room above. We also heard a lot of footsteps above us when the occupants came home & our own floorboards creaked badly. Management needs to look into buying out the above residents to decrease the noise. We didn't complain because we didn't experience noise in the middle of the night & slept soundly.

The beds/pillows were comfortable, linens & towels were good, the room & bath clean. It was sufficiently good for London prices but might not be acceptable for many travelers. We had no real complaints other than size & location of the room & the price was right for us. We would not recommend the annex to any of our friends but the hotel is actually quite nice for someone willing to pay a little more for a good room. Had we chosen a room inside the hotel, my rating would probably have been higher.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    280
    129
    36
    50
See reviews for
67
382
60
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've just had a really good stay at this hotel, We stayed in Room 16 which had a terrace with a table and chairs. The room was small but is fine for a couple of days to base yourself for some sightseeing. Everything was spotless and we found the staff all really accommodating and friendly, previous reviews I have read commented on the level of English understood by the staff but everybody that we spoke to could speak English with no problems. I would definitely stay here again, we had no complaints and found it good value for a hotel for under £100 a night in London.

Room Tip: Ask for room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I NEVER post reviews HOWEVER I felt I had to for this cute boutique hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed in the Ottoman Suite which was amazing value considering the absolute luxury of the room!
Cosy huge bed, big freestanding bath in front of the open fire, gorgeous decor and lovely staff.
In a hurry to stay again already! :)

Room Tip: Ottoman Suite hands down!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was staying in this hotel with my girlfriend, who you will see reviewed our trip below. As you can see from her review we were staying in the Mezzanine room and got absolutely no sleep during our first night there due to noise from upstairs. When we finally managed to speak to the manager in the morning we were told that the reason it was so noisy is because it is a residential apartment above the room, not a hotel room. When we asked for a refund for the first night and a move to a less noisy room, the manager explained that she needed to check that we had tried to complain that evening and that we had been telling the truth about having spoken to a member of staff early the next morning. Our word was clearly not good enough. The member of staff manning the reception desk during the night denied they had heard the phone ringing at 2 am when we had called. The manager explained that there had been no call at 2 am (basically calling me a liar) but said she would give us the refund and the room move anyway. In order to prove that we had called, my girlfriend told her to check the Trip Advisor website as she had posted a review at 2 am which backed up our claim. Evidently she did not like this as shortly after putting the phone down we received another call from the manager claiming that they no longer had a room available so we could either stay in the Mezzanine room and get no refund for our sleepless night or leave the hotel straight away. In essence, we were thrown out of the hotel for having the audacity to complain. Despite the fact we were given this ultimatum at around 10.45 am we received another call some time later telling us we needed to hurry up and leave as check out time is 11 am. Absolutely disgusted with the service we received. I have never been treated so badly in all my life. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I are currently staying in the mezzanine room at this hotel. We have been unable to enjoy our evening due to pretty much continuous noise from the rooms above due to no sound insulation. It sounds as though somebody has been pacing around all evening! In addition, there is the intermittent sound of what sounds like a boiler being switched on and off. It is so bad that it has prompted me to write this review at 2 am. I tried to call reception but there has been no answer and as the reception desk is in a separate building it would be too much hassle to get dressed and go outside to complain. It is also unbearably hot in the room - the radiator dials have been removed so you cannot control the heat for yourself. We have had the window open all evening. Thoroughly disappointed and will probably go home in the morning despite having booked for two nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddeek S, Front Office Manager at Twenty Nevern Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Ms Sarah C,

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Kindly note that The Mezzanine room which was advertised as a split level room located next door to the main building of the hotel. It is on the first floor below a private apartment flat which probably is the source of the noises. We have the contact details of the resident (just in case) and will speak to them about this. They are generally quiet, nice neighbors but if we receive any complains about noise from above, the hotel will call them straight away.

Reception is open 24 hours and it is strange that the phone was left unanswered. Rest assured that we will investigate this matter.

In the past, the radiator dials in all rooms always end up missing after a guest departs and we have decided to train our Night team and Porters to assist with adjusting the radiator as soon as the guest requests for it.

However due to the recent issues raised by yourself and a few other guest, maintenance have re-installed a dial in the Mezzanine which is much more difficult to remove so that guest will be now able to adjust the temperature directly.

Once again, we apologize for the issues that you have raised and will pass it on to senior management. Thank you for taking the time to leave a constructive review The 20 Nevern team constantly strive to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Highly recommend this lovely hotel conveniently situated just off Earls Court Road. Beautiful rooms, friendly service and parking! The rooms are a delight and the Pasha Suite particularly recommended with a balcony overlooking peaceful square.

Room Tip: Pasha suite or Otterman
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband booked us thos hotel as a suprise for our honeymoon. He checked out their website along with trip adviser and after reading the reviews rang up and booked us two nights.
He explained on the phone it was our honeymoon and would like a nice room and view.
When we got to our room it was a tiny room with a 4 poster crammed in leaving only a small gap around the bed to walk around. The nice view was a brick wall as we were put in the basement!
I went for a shower but there was no curtain or door so the bathroom got flooded and the towel that i had put down were sodden.
We went out for dinner and asked the lady at reception to send someone to tidy up the bathroom. When we got back the room and corridor outside stunk of raw sewage. We rang up reception to sort it out and their solution was to switch on a dehumidifie. After half an hour the smell was still unbearable so we asked for an alternative room - the only one they could offer was a twin room, not what you want on your honeymoon.
The receptionist couldn't get through to the manager nor have the authority to give us a refund. Nether the less we decided to leave the hotel - something I have never done before.
The next morning my husband rang the hotel for a refund but the receptionist refused and claimed we'd compained about things we hadn't such as the lights and tv not working. After he demanded to speak to the manager she said we could have a refund for that night. He told them that they had ruined our honeymoon and that we weren't coming back and wanted a refund for the following night but they
refused point blank.
Would not recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzy_lou1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#685 of 1,067 in London
951 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#544 of 1,067 in London
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#491 of 1,067 in London
1,004 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#309 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Property: Twenty Nevern Square
Address: 20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#338 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty Nevern Square is the second hotel in the Mayflower Collection, a family-run trio of hotels nestled in some of London's most desirable areas. Each hotel in the Collection has been uniquely designed in an East-meets-West style, complete with sumptuous furnishings, opulent colour schemes, and original carved antique furniture. Twenty Nevern Square overlooks the beautiful Nevern Square Garden and features 20 stunningly individual rooms, each equipped with all the modern essentials. The hotel has a fully-licensed bar and a secluded courtyard garden with tables and chairs. Alongside our gorgeous rooms, we have a number of special suites with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful views, marbled bathrooms, Egyptian cotton sheets, and state-of-the-art technology, including a large flat-screen HD LED TV. The hotel is just 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre, 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court tube station, and a mere 25-minute journey from Heathrow Airport! As we are situated in the fashionable Kensington & Chelsea borough, we are within walking distance of the King's Road in Chelsea, High Street Kensington, and Hyde Park and close to the Science Museum, the Victoria & Albert, and the Natural History Museum. Knightsbridge, with the illustrious Harrods department store, and Harvey Nichols London store, is also only a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing